We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rate 4.5 if I Could!”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This residential style lodge is - wait for it - in a residential suburb- abour 10 minutes drive from central Cusco.

They offer stress free transfers to and from the airport and at any time you want to visit the city. Accommodation is in small / ensuite style bedrooms - not too much room except for your bags and the bed. (which is firm but comfortable). Breakfast is continental style with choice of eggs / omelette.  

Whilst the basic accomodation suited our needs - It is the personalised service which sets this place apart. Nothing is too much trouble and all staff are pleasant and attentive.  

We arranged a full day "Boleto Turistico Del Cusco Parcial" tour at the reception - with 1 day notice - which included the 4 major archaeological sites
§ Ollantaytambo § Pisac § Moray § Chinchero These were all amazing - made all the more special by having a Titicaca Peruvian - (Huerberto who also worked on site at MP for 15 years) Tour guide who shared many historical and MP practical tips.  

I'm a tough marker so 5 for service and 3 for accomodation. Very good overall.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Bflow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Dorada on the first and last nights of our Peruvian vacation, and I was very pleased. The service is personal and is better than I have experienced at five star resorts. The rooms--especially the beds--were extremely comfortable. They are not on the main square, but they have a free shuttle service that will drop you off, and pick you up, anywhere in Cuzco. On our last day, we had an afternoon flight. We were able to check out, leave or bags in the hotel, and then have the hotel pick us up at a prearranged location and time to take us straight to the airport--all for free. That is great service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichOrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at Torre Dorada for a total of 3 nights in February 2013 -- 1 night on my way to Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu and 2 nights on my way back to Lima. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The service provided exceeded my expectations - from purchasing my tickets to Machu Picchu a month in advance, to pick-up and drop-off at the airport, and shuttle service into town and back to the hotel. A very big thank you to Peggy (the owner); Henry, Saul, Marco (at the front desk) and indeed, to all the staff at Torre Dorada; and to Mario, who will drive you anywhere and anytime! The hotel, itself, is very charming and is 10 minutes away from the city center, which was nice because it was quiet. Felt very safe, particularly for a woman traveling alone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garnetbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

In writing this review after a 4.1/2 month trip and 31 hotels, it takes exceptional service for us to remember all the staff at this hotel - many thanks to Peggy, the owner, and Henry, Saul and Marco (and, indeed, the breakfast staff). As others have said, they really are the most helpful people we came across, booking trains and buses for us and, in the process, providing us with a memorably relaxing stay.
Despite the location being some way from the action in the centre of Cusco, the arrangements to ferry us into town and back worked wonderfully well and meant that the lack of a restaurant for evening meals was really no problem. The fact that the hotel is so far from the centre meant that, for once in Peru, the traffic noise was not an issue at night.
The breakfast buffet was of a very high standard for a relatively small hotel, and I'd have to mention the wonderful coffee as a particular highlight!
The fact that we stayed here for over a week in 2 separate visits is testimony to our high regard for these guys. Should we ever return to Cusco, we could stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

By far the best hotel we could have chosen. The staff and owner are the kindest people ever! Very clean rooms and service is excellent!!! Having the hotel drive you to town and always there to pick you up was a blessing, made us feel very safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. We stayed in February 2013 before and after our trekking and Macchu Picchu visit. The service was impeccable and more. The hotel is not right in the middle of town, which was one of the best aspects - it was quiet, in a safe residential neighbourhood and with a personalised transport service that was available extremely quickly - we never had a problem with it. The staff are incredibly helpful and professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean, comfortable and cosy. This was amazing value for money. Would definitely stay here again. Could not recommend more highly.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is one of the best h otels we have ever stayed at. Not because of the decor or the amenities, but entirely because of the staff and owner. Outstanding.

My wife and I spent a couple of days in Cusco this January, and booked the first night at Torre Dorada. We were met at the airport and brought to the hotel, and greeted warmly. One's first moments at the hotel are an orientation, unusual for us, but Cusco is unusual. The staff helped us book our Machu Picchu entrance ticket, and even went to pick it up for us.

Shortly after our arrival, we met the owner, a lovely person, who recommended a wonderful little place (Heidi's) at which to enjoy a bit of soup and crepes.

The welcome orienation was actually very important, as we both encountered the "altitude sickness" in our first evening there.

The staff was extremely efficient, and a little oxygen brought us right back to normal. My thanks to the overnight staff.

Breakfast the next morning was perfect: light, fresh and with personal service.

As you will read in the description, this hotel is in a residential area, about 3km from the city center. But the staff is always happy to drive you into town, which gives you the best of both worlds: access to the bustle of the city center, and a quiet place to sleep.

Upon our return from the Sacred Valley, our second night in Cuzco was originally booked in another hotel. Since we had had to reduce our luggage for Machu Picchu, one bag stayed at this hotel and the owner offered to meet us with the bag upon our return and deliver us to the other hotel! We were so impressed that we stayed a second night and even gave up our deposit at the other hotel. And were equally pleased the second night.

Thank you to all at Torre Dorada

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the ground floor, and the staff seems happy to accomodate us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatBeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#26 of 171 in Cusco
1,117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $57 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing