We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location crappy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Ranked #47 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“good location crappy room”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is only 3 stars but I have stayed in much better 3 stars.

Perhaps we were unlucky to have received one of the worst rooms in the hotel, but my husband would not let me complain and seek a better one. We stayed in two other Casa Andina chain hotels in Lima and Sacred Valley and they were wonderful.

big gripe- our room had a window that opened onto the corridor. That was the only window. So we could not open the curtains because people were constantly walking past or open a window because all conversations could be heard.

Claustrophobic and mean spirited room. It was a basic kind of room like in a backpackers hostel. No storage space, too small to walk around with our cases on the floor. Yuck.

The breakfasts were probably OK for one morning, but after 3 mornings it was boring. EAting outside on a nice morning much better than inside in the dinky little dining room.

On complaint we got a bottle of water in the room each day, otherwise it was pay for water.

The bathroom was fine, if dimly lit, and the bed was also OK quality. I did not sleep well as I was constantly awakened by people entering their rooms in our corridor and getting up at 5 am for early flights.

The best aspect is the location, walkable to most places. I suspect that for the money you could do better in Cusco.

I also think Casa Andina needs to reconsider if they keep such a low standard hotel as part of the chain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your last stay at our Classic Koricancha, Cusco.

We are deeply sorry for not meeting your expectations. As you know, Casa Andina Classic is one of the three brands of the chain; Classic hotels offer the travelers the basics to have a comfortable stay without neglecting service kindness.

In reference to the infrastructure of the hotel, this used to be a colonial house in its time. This is the reason why not too many changes can be made. We are sorry for the discomfort this may have caused you.

Once again, we really appreciate sharing your impressions with us and other travelers. Be sure we will take them into account for future improvements.

We hope we have another opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    272
    125
    32
    20
See reviews for
115
271
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel and was greeted by friendly staffs. The location is quite near to the main plaza. The hotel provide free coca tea at the reception area, which helps to relieve high altitude sickness. They also provide oxygen in case you feel giddy or headache. Free wifi is a bonus to me. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hui18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located within short walking distance to the main plaza. But the street is busy and the building shakes when cars drive by. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean and good size. I had no hot water to shower despite asking the staff to fix it and they could only say they may have a problem. Breakfast is very basic but they have fresh fruit at least.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccontact88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights.

The hotel is more like a bed and breakfast as it does not have any evening meal facilities. This is not really a problem because it is central and there are lots of good restaurants close by. The breakfast was OK and the lady that served it was really helpful and sweet. The people on reception were also very helpful although sometimes there was a difficulty with language.

The internet was good but in a courtyard area which was very cold at night.

The main negative was that our room was very small and had no window with day light as it looked out on to an enclosed courtyard. I found this very difficult to start with and on talking with other guests we realised that many of the rooms on the ground floor were the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if you want natural daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This October we used the hotel as a base for exploring Cusco and hold our main luggage whilst we did our Machu Picchu/Sacred valley excursion. The hotel was suggested by our trip organiser (Imagine Latin America) as conveniently located in the old part of Cusco and we certainly felt that it was a good choice. As other reviewers have indicated, it is easy walking to the old centre of town (if anything is easy walikng at this altitude!).

The hotel has character, with inner courtyards and corridors and our room layout decoration gave us the feeling that we had finally arrived in South America! We were well looked after by all the staff, including Wilfredo at reception, who introduced us to the delights of the complementary Coca Tea as we adjusted to the altitude.

Weather-wise during our stay, we were a bit concerned by the brief hail-shower that greeted us upon arrival, but for the majority of our stay the weather was warm and sunny....our packed thermals and multi-layers proved not to be necessary.

In the hotel, all amenities were fine, but as others have suggested, on the plain and simple side rather than higher end.

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the main street is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMoochers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were tied and hot and the staff were lovely. They had assigned us rooms at the front of the hotel and I knew from opening the door that I woudl never be able to sleep here (the road was noisy) - being middle aged and restless at night - and asked the receptist to change just our room (our kids were fine, they'll sleep anywhere) and she gave us a room overlooking the cnetral courtyard, looking in. I htought it was wonderful, so Peruvian, views over the old tile roof of the hills, and then down at cacti and seating in the courtyard. The rooms themselves finem, not luxurious but beds comfortable, and clean. The (the best bit) when we returned a week later the lovely receptionist had remebered, and gave us the 2 best rooms in that courtyard, with huge bathrooms and real baths. We had just walked the Inca Trail and were so happy to soak in a bath. Breakfast ok - a bit bored of the offer after a few nights. But overall, so happy to be there. And a great location too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Triple share - was large room compared to previous hotels. Small bathroom, lack of hot water, pressure and fan but clean. TV with cable and english channels. Breakfast was sufficient but very basic and average. Good location. Noisy hallways and courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJperth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time dedicated to write and share your insights regarding your experience at our hotel in Cusco.

We would like to mention that our Classic hotels are comparable to 3 star hotels. You will find the basic services that every guest seeks, without forgetting the quality of service our customers expect and for which we are always striving to provide.

We are sorry if we could not meet your expectations at that occasion, however, we sincerely hope to have a second chance to offer you the real Casa Andina experience at any of our properties.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.0 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.1 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#48 of 169 in Cusco
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha

Property: Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Address: Calle San Augustin 371, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is removed from the traffic, hustle and bustle of the center but still just 3 blocks from Cusco Plaza de Armas. An atmosphere of spaciousness and serenity, spread across 2 sprawling, connected 18th-century manor houses and 2 peaceful interior colonial patios. Just steps from Koricancha (the Inca Temple of the Sun) and Santo Domingo church. Among our services we offer: Internet Center, Wireless internet service is available, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Koricancha Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing