We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally located in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Ranked #49 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ideally located in Cusco”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Casa Andina had everything we wanted right on the spot, yet it was ideally located for visiting many highlights of Cusco.

The glassed-over courtyard was a beautiful place to sit and relax or wait for the rest of the party to arrive.

From the Casa Andina, it was an easy walk to Qoricancha, Plaze de Armas, the cathedral and many other sites of Cusco.

While there, but sure to check the history of the home and look at the relics they found during construction of the hotel.

Room Tip: The room service is amazingly cheap. Try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifTravelerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    258
    121
    31
    20
See reviews for
113
255
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although my daughter and I requested a twin room not on the first floor, we were given a room on the first floor with one bed that opened to the court yard and our window opened to a hallway leading to the front desk reception area.
1. My room request was treated as a mere suggestion
2. The door in our room didn't fit the frame; therefore, the door didn't lock securely; the force of a 5 year old could have opened it
3. Due to our location, we got to hear the front desk phone every time it rang and believe me it rang frequently during the night
4. Again due to our location, we got to listen to each and every guest (or hotel staff member) as they passed from the reception area to a room
5. I made the mistake of walking on the carpet in what used to be white socks; they were deposited in the waste basket of the hotel as no laundry product could have successfully whitened and brightened them
6. Taking a shower with an immobile shower head was a challenge and an unpleasant surprise. When I turned the water on I literally took a shower (with my still clothes on) because it was impossible to position oneself and turn the shower on at the same time without getting soaked, which I didn't realize until after I got soaked. It was also impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom floor.
7. It's located close to the plaza, but it's a creepy walk back to the hotel for 2 women at night.
Why 2 stars instead of 1?
1. The non-twin bed had a comfortable mattress
2. The breakfast was slightly better than average

Room Tip: Doesn't matter; they treat requests as mere suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMaggie50266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your valuable comments and the time you took to share them with us and many other travelers.

We very much regret we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay at our hotel.
We have reviewed our hotel’s report and we can confirm that the door of the room presented a problem and did not fit on the frame. Please, accept our apologies if this caused you a sense of insecurity and rest assured that we have already taken action to repair this defect.

On the other hand, we have checked the showers and verified that there was not any inconvenience with it.

Be sure we are taking your comments into consideration and sincerely hope to have a second chance to offer you the real Casa Andina experience.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here either side of a trip to machu pichu. The staff were great, good recommendations, lots of coca tea and a decent location. We didn't think it would be safe enough to walk to the town centre, but actually we had no problems and felt safer in Peru than in any of the other countries we visited in south America. The breakfast was poor, not much choice and they don't have a restaurant on site for dinner, you can ask for a voucher for 25 percent off the food at their sister restaurant. Rooms are fairly basic but clean. Ask for a room away from the main footfall as it can be quite noisy. All in all good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Like another reviewer, I too had money stolen from my safe. I didn't realize it until after we left the hotel, so I reported it a few days later and was told that there was nothing they could do; they wouldn't even investigate it. This happened to two other friends who were staying there too. The thief didn't take all of the money (which is why I didn't realize it until later), but instead took about $200 from each of us.

Other than that MAJOR issue, the breakfast was good, the rooms nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you set aside to share your insights about your stay at our hotel. and we are very sorry to have to write under these circumstances.

After receiving your comments, a full investigation took place at our hotel, to determine as accurately as possible what could have happened and the actions to be followed. We should mention that every claim that we receive from missing objects is taken seriously and a complete investigation is made before giving any answer.

Unfortunately, since we did not received any comment at our hotel we lost the opportunity to start an investigation immediately and offer the possibility to go to the police station. Although, we did have our own investigation, made by our Security Department, and we could not find substantial evidence to ensure a theft took place at our hotel.

Please be sure that we have taken great importance on this investigation and that we are sorry for not being able to close this incident as you expected.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 5 other people in early July 2012 and out of the 4 rooms that our group stayed in, 3 of the rooms EACH had $200 US dollars stolen out of the room safe. When we approached the hotel administration to inquire as to how 3 different rooms each had about the same amount of money removed from their "room safes" all around the same time frame, we were essentially told that it was our loss because they don't issue more than one security key to each room/lock, so it couldn't possibly be their staff. Yeah, right. Just our luck - i don't think so. Thus, EACH of us was out of $200 (minimum!) because we falsely believed that the lock in our room was safe. Although the hotel was nice and clean and they provided us with coca tea ad nasueam, they didn't care that $600 was stolen from our group and didn't make any effort to refunding our lost money. So, my recommendation is that this place is great to stay at as long as you don't mind getting money stolen from you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us and other travelers the information about your stay at our Casa Andina Classic San Blas Hotel.

We would like to mention that being a well-known hotel chain in Peru our reputation could not have been built if we did not deliver a safe environment to our guests. Every claim that we receive from missing objects at our hotels is taken seriously and a complete investigation is made prior any response is given.

Also, it is part of our procedures not to keep the safe key under our custody and we do not keep duplicates, reason why a form is signed with a penalty for any key loss. And, having checked all the information available, we have not found any indication that may lead us to believe that our security policies have been violated.

We can assure you that the information you gave us is extremely important since we need to have an environment that ensures safety to our guests. However, our final actions are determined by the results of the investigation taken by our Security Department.

We are very sorry for not being able to solve this matter different and please accept our sincere apologies if you perceived you did not receive the proper assistance for this situation.

Cordially yours

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our money was stolen in this hotel from reception lock box. Only access there was for hotel personal, as nothing was broken. Hotel manager explained that they dont have security cameras and its not possible to trace who was the thief, so they dont compensate anything.

I dont recommend this hotel as its not safe.

P.Silvennoinen

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvennoinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your insights about your recent stay in our hotel. We understand your concern and are very sorry to have to write you under these circumstances.

We run a well-known hotel chain in Peru and our reputation could not have been built if we did not deliver a safe environment to our guests. Every claim that we receive from missing objects at our hotels is taken seriously and a complete investigation is made before giving any answer.

It is part of our procedures not to keep the safe key under our custody like we do with the room keys. Also, we should mention that we did not receive any comments about this inconvenience when it was supposedly detected nor while you were checking out. Your claim was received days after your departure and through your agency, which made our investigation more difficult.

We very much regret this very bad experience and please, accept our apologies if you perceived you did not receive the proper assistance for this situation.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we had a medium sized room with a window looking out onto the patio area. the hotel is close to the main plaza with all restaurants and attractions (5 min walk) slighlty up hill. breakfast is good with selection of cold meats cereals cake etc and free coca tea 24/7. no elevator but excellent & free wifi. had to let the water run in the shower until it was warm though

** this is the highest altitude point ** machu picchu is actually at a lower altitude which surpised me. we faced hardly any signs of altitude sickness. just slight tiredness the first day or so.
we took no medication and only a few cups of coca tea. i would suggest you do rest and drink plenty of fluids for the first day. there is lovely pizza shop a couple of hundred metres up the road.

theres an irish bar which is pretty cool, its called paddys bar. its the highest irish bar in the world.
serves good food and has great decor

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompkinscop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#54 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha

Property: Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Address: Calle San Augustin 371, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is removed from the traffic, hustle and bustle of the center but still just 3 blocks from Cusco Plaza de Armas. An atmosphere of spaciousness and serenity, spread across 2 sprawling, connected 18th-century manor houses and 2 peaceful interior colonial patios. Just steps from Koricancha (the Inca Temple of the Sun) and Santo Domingo church. Among our services we offer: Internet Center, Wireless internet service is available, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Koricancha Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing