We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming staff and perfect location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal El Triunfo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Triunfo
Ranked #9 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming staff and perfect location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was the perfect Hostel for exploring Cuzco, located right near the Cathedral. The staff couldn't be more helpful and were very happy to look after luggage when on the Inca Trek and Jungle for 8 days for free! Also if suffering from altitude sickness, there was Coca tea on hand at any time. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hostel to any travellers, all rooms were very clean and a perfect place to relax after roughing it on the Inca Trek/Jungle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemiss30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    158
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
123
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

As a couple wanting reasonably priced accommodation, this hostel was everything we wanted. It is perfectly located to Plaza de Armas and walkable distance to all other locations in the historic district. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby, peruvian and westernised. The rooms were a good size and our room had a great view over the cathedral and city. The only issue we had was that we needed to run the hot water for 10-15min before it got hot.

The staff were very helpful and kind. Anything we wanted to know they helped us.Norma in particular made us feel very welcome and always had a smile on her face.

Breakfast is minimal, but good. Fresh bread rolls with jam, coffee, coca leaf tea, freshly squeezed juice and fruit.

The hostel can also arrange washing which is pretty cheap and can be done in 1 day. They also offer storage for luggage, which was great when we went on the Inca Trail and to Lake Titicaca.

I would recommend this hostel to all travellers needing a clean, nice place to stay, with a great location travelling on budget.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the cathedral, or towards the back of the hostel, It will be quieter th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyeLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I am more than pleased to give an excellent review to this Hostel.
I initially booked it using Trip advisor it is situated very close to the main square the Plaza des Armas o
The main purpose of visiting Cusco was initially to visit Machu Pichu and I booked for three consecutive nights.
The confirmation e-mail provided very helpful information of various excursions and I therefore sought their advice upon our trip to Machu Pichu and they gave me excellent advice that on the second day we should take an excursion along the Sacred Valley and take the train from Olantaytambo to be nearer to Machu Pichu this was excellent advice because the tour was extremely interesting it cost less than the train from Cusco to Olantaytambo and we maximised the time available in MachuPichu.
They even credited the booking for the unused second night.
The hostel was amazing value it was clean had en suite rooms included breakfast and as I said was situated n an excellent location.
They even arranged for collection to and from the airport by taxi at excellent value

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff-Fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Perfect location for seeing Cuzco and arranging tours to Macchu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. Everthing you need within walking distance. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were basic and clean. Breakfast very simple. I would recommend for any traveler not needing 5 star accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmtmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Good hostal. Great location next to the Plaza de Armas. The rooms are clean and confortable, with cable TV and hot water. The staff is very kind and helpfull. Good value. My room was in the back, so it was quiet and it had a beautifull view of the city. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
266 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to doing the inca trail and one night after. We were met as arranged from our 7am flight at the airport and given our room by 8.30am which is pretty good. Rooms are basic but clean and have ensuite bathrooms and a small TV with some American channels. The hot water only seems to last about 2mins at a time but this is no big deal. Breakfast is pretty poor by European standards - bread, jam, butter, cake and coffee but no worse than most places in Peru.
The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk to the main square and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were able to safely leave our main bags when doing the Inca Trail. We paid $41 a night for a double room through Hostelworld.com.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

The hotel is very well located, there's no doubt about that. However we were disappointed for various reasons.

Firstly we had to wait at the airport for the promised pick-up, despite informing the hotel of our flight arrival time.

Secondly the dining room is cramped, the breakfasts poor and the seats the hardest you'll ever sit on.

But our bigggest objection is that when you book, you have to book through a Cusco Agency (not directly with the hotel) and are charged a credit/debit card fee. So you may think you've paid 50%, but the fee is then added to your bill, so you end up paying more than you think. You are informed of this in tiny writing as a post script to your booking form, and it can be easily missed. The hotel get the convenience of this system of booking, you the customer have to pay them for the privilege.

This took the edge off our stay, and with so many other options in Cusco, we'd suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samuk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Triunfo

Property: Hostal El Triunfo
Address: Triunfo 379, Cusco 001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Triunfo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the magical city of Cusco only half block from the Main Square is Hostal El Triunfo , behind the Cathedral, where you will find a warm welcome and will feel at home. We are near everything: restaurants, museums, art galleries, churches, discos, pubs, etc. We have large, light and comfortable bedrooms with private bathroom, with hot and cold water all day long. TV cable and telephone, some of they have balconies to Triunfo Street; and all of them have beautiful views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal El Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing