We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value, but not quiet”
Review of LOKI Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Ranked #2 of 554 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Loki has great matrimonial and twin rooms that are clean, have warm water and you get clean towels everyday. The breakfast and coffee and tea are free and they have good and cheap meals. The atmosphere is good, but if you´re looking for some rest this is not the place to go. Our room was near the bar and there was a lot of loud music, people partying and screeming people. It didn´t bother us because we had earplugs. The booking-system they used was a littlebit strange and it was difficult to book a matrimonial. We asked a few times if we could extend our stay in the matrimonial, but they kept saying it wasn´t possible, but on the day we wanted to extend there was one available.
The location is near the centre, but you have to climb a very steep hill with stairs. Especially hard when you are not used to the height of Cuscu.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runderkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

OK, so anyone under 25 reading this is probably going to think that I am sounding like a complete bore - by the way I am 29 and am not boring at all but there are just a few reasons why I was not so keen on the Loki;
- its not very central and you have to walk up a big hill to get there - i prefer to be near to where the action is actually happening and not feel like its a bit of a pain to nip back
- the Loki offers great food all day and night, plus it has a great bar - but this at times (complete with location issue) can become a vacuous backpacker hole and frequently you see the same faces just sat in there drinking and being hungover
- We did the 4 day Inka Jungle Trail which is fairly tough physically. Trying to get some sleep beforehand at the Loki is really difficult as doors are slamming all night, people snogging in the courtyard and general shouting all night long.
- our room was really dark, yes it was clean and you get lovely Loki towels but I find darkness depressing. The building itself is awesome but they really could do with bringing some light into the rooms.

I did however appreciate the WiFi and endless Coco tea.

So back to my original point, I reckon if I were under 25 again I might appreciate the fact that its really easy to meet people at the Loki and get drunk every night but I guess I am a bit passed that.

Sorry if I have offended anyone! But the hostel is probably not targeted to the likes of me anyway!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank whisper26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

The Loki definitely has a great party scene, with a fun bar and a packed house. Unfortunately, the staff is unable to competently book a reservation. One person in particular who worked at the reception desk was especially incompetent. Our reservation was messed up twice. When we first arrived, they lost our reservation (then the copies of our passports he made). We sat down with the same guy for about an hour as he tried to figure out how to book a reservation for us after we returned from Machu Picchu. A few days later when we came back, the same guy was at the reception desk. Our reservation was again lost and he had no recollection of ever even talking to us. I thought it might just be our bad luck, until he told us to take a seat and wait, where the next 2 groups of people were also asked to take a seat because their reservations were lost as well. The manager was very nice and recommended another place for us, but for such a reputable, large hostel, they shouldn't be having issues like this. Worst service we have had. If you get the reservation, you'll have a great time! One positive note: for the one night we were able to stay there, the beds are roomy and really comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkuNKik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The Loki hostel in Cuzco may not be the cheapest but the facilities are tremendous. The washrooms are cleaned at least twice a day. Theres hot water, a bar, food, free internet and lots of friendly people. You can chose to stay in a dorm or pay extra for a room ensuite. The food is excellent. Entertainment most nights and theme parties, live music, speed dating etc. the common room has a view of the whole city, which does mean its on a hill but still onlt 10 min walk from the centre. It is the place to stay in cuzco.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
Thank Ianbailey171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Loki was opened fairly recently and it shows. The facilities are really nice and new, the staff and service are also great. There's a 24 hr armed guard in front, full bar, restaurant, lots of showers and bathrooms, a computer room, and free wifi. The bar has a great atmosphere and is def a great place to start your night off.

The walk up to the hostel can be daunting, it's near the top of a very steep hill. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Cusco.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Well, This hostel starts off seeming like a party place. It pretty much is. But there are definately days of downtime where you can explore the city (everyday). The awesome thing about this hostel is the THEMED parties! the first was a colorful themed party for a birthday party. nothing extraordinary. The second was a superhero party and the third that i was there for was the Pirate party. The Pirate party actually included a live glam rock band. They were excellent!. The staff is friendly and always let you stay longer without reservations. The food there at the hostel is comparably the same as going out. I´ve enjoyed the breakfast: pancakes, french toast, hashbrown, veggie omelet. Lunch: Veggie sanwhich with french fries (called chips here) the ham and cheese toasted sanwhich that looks like a pocket of yum. The chicekn Caesar salad was the best. I tasted a friends curried fries which were yum. For dinner they have cafeteria style service. You put your name on a list and arrive PROMPTLY atr 8pm to be served vegetarian shephard´s pie (YUM) Vegetarian Irish stew with mashed potatoes (YUM) ...Of course you dont have to go vegetarian. most of their dinners are meaty.

The bathrooms and showers are very close to the dorm rooms. which is excellent. The private 2 person rooms are great with your own water boiler for tea or coffee. private bath and shower of course and much more!

It has a great view of the city from the community room and they are expanding!

You get to explore by day and hang out with new people every night!

The only downfall was this hostel was located on the top of a hill with many steps to climb up!!
But great exercise!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachumjenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

If you want a quiet place to relax at the end of a busy day...Loki is not for you. But if you're on a tour of South America, looking for other people under 30 doing the same, can party all night and don't mind sleeping most of the day, you'll love it.

Amenities were excellent for the cost, breakfast was super cheap and yummy, free coffee & tea, rolls & jam. In June/July 2009, running water was no problem, I never had a shower that was anything less than excellent--except once, and when I told the front desk that the water had stopped running, someone was there fixing it within 10 minutes. You could only get a GOOD wireless signal in the bar--sketchy elsewhere--but the wait for the computer lab was never really long.

The front desk staff was very good. The "hosts" were very outgoing and extremely helpful, two of them were phenomenal and bent over backwards trying to help us get what we needed and things figured out. The gal who runs tours was also very helpful and gave us lots of great info, even though we didn't end up booking anything through her (in the end, we probably should have!)

We did have some problems with our reservation, although I think they could have been solved with a lot less hassle. Keep in mind that this is a backpackers hostel, they are used to people staying less than a week and having schedules change at the last minute. If you're on the "waiting list", I'd make plans elsewhere. The girls' dorm is definitely the best room in the house!

The downsides: Parties in the bar until 1 am, which could be heard all over the front courtyard--when we stayed in the back, it was quieter. The pretty courtyard with the hammocks was all under construction. The rooms felt a bit crowded but there was enough storage for a backpack plus. Also the hostel is up an ENORMOUS hill, due to the altitude adjustment issues it took a week for me to be able to do it without stopping to rest!

The community whiteboard was fun, we were never at a loss for new friends and company in the bar in the evenings, the doormen were friendly and the housekeeping prompt. The charging lockers in reception are bloody brilliant. There are an international calling location, good laundry facilities and a teeny market where we bought snacks just a few doors away. Taxis were easy to come by on the corner, and the plaza was only a few blocks down. We did have a great time in Loki, although I think next time I'll request a room in the back of the house :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGetOutGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 554 in Cusco
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#3 of 554 in Cusco
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 554 in Cusco
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel Cusco
Kokopelli Hostel Cusco
#7 of 554 in Cusco
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 554 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $10 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best base to explore Machu Picchu and the city of Cusco, loki is here to make every part of your stay remarkable with crazy parties, great facilities and amazing views. Our in-house tour agency will provide you with excellent travel advice on the best ways to see this amazing region. Take advantage of our free luggage storage while on your trek and when you return a hot shower, comfortable bed and the best parties in town will welcome you back. But be careful, you’ll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing