We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like to party all the time .....party all the time”
Review of LOKI Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Ranked #5 of 430 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I like to party all the time .....party all the time”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Well, This hostel starts off seeming like a party place. It pretty much is. But there are definately days of downtime where you can explore the city (everyday). The awesome thing about this hostel is the THEMED parties! the first was a colorful themed party for a birthday party. nothing extraordinary. The second was a superhero party and the third that i was there for was the Pirate party. The Pirate party actually included a live glam rock band. They were excellent!. The staff is friendly and always let you stay longer without reservations. The food there at the hostel is comparably the same as going out. I´ve enjoyed the breakfast: pancakes, french toast, hashbrown, veggie omelet. Lunch: Veggie sanwhich with french fries (called chips here) the ham and cheese toasted sanwhich that looks like a pocket of yum. The chicekn Caesar salad was the best. I tasted a friends curried fries which were yum. For dinner they have cafeteria style service. You put your name on a list and arrive PROMPTLY atr 8pm to be served vegetarian shephard´s pie (YUM) Vegetarian Irish stew with mashed potatoes (YUM) ...Of course you dont have to go vegetarian. most of their dinners are meaty.

The bathrooms and showers are very close to the dorm rooms. which is excellent. The private 2 person rooms are great with your own water boiler for tea or coffee. private bath and shower of course and much more!

It has a great view of the city from the community room and they are expanding!

You get to explore by day and hang out with new people every night!

The only downfall was this hostel was located on the top of a hill with many steps to climb up!!
But great exercise!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachumjenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    380
    129
    52
    31
See reviews for
11
135
228
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

If you want a quiet place to relax at the end of a busy day...Loki is not for you. But if you're on a tour of South America, looking for other people under 30 doing the same, can party all night and don't mind sleeping most of the day, you'll love it.

Amenities were excellent for the cost, breakfast was super cheap and yummy, free coffee & tea, rolls & jam. In June/July 2009, running water was no problem, I never had a shower that was anything less than excellent--except once, and when I told the front desk that the water had stopped running, someone was there fixing it within 10 minutes. You could only get a GOOD wireless signal in the bar--sketchy elsewhere--but the wait for the computer lab was never really long.

The front desk staff was very good. The "hosts" were very outgoing and extremely helpful, two of them were phenomenal and bent over backwards trying to help us get what we needed and things figured out. The gal who runs tours was also very helpful and gave us lots of great info, even though we didn't end up booking anything through her (in the end, we probably should have!)

We did have some problems with our reservation, although I think they could have been solved with a lot less hassle. Keep in mind that this is a backpackers hostel, they are used to people staying less than a week and having schedules change at the last minute. If you're on the "waiting list", I'd make plans elsewhere. The girls' dorm is definitely the best room in the house!

The downsides: Parties in the bar until 1 am, which could be heard all over the front courtyard--when we stayed in the back, it was quieter. The pretty courtyard with the hammocks was all under construction. The rooms felt a bit crowded but there was enough storage for a backpack plus. Also the hostel is up an ENORMOUS hill, due to the altitude adjustment issues it took a week for me to be able to do it without stopping to rest!

The community whiteboard was fun, we were never at a loss for new friends and company in the bar in the evenings, the doormen were friendly and the housekeeping prompt. The charging lockers in reception are bloody brilliant. There are an international calling location, good laundry facilities and a teeny market where we bought snacks just a few doors away. Taxis were easy to come by on the corner, and the plaza was only a few blocks down. We did have a great time in Loki, although I think next time I'll request a room in the back of the house :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGetOutGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

After making a reservation enquiry three days in advance, I had no reply from the hostel. I phoned them the day before we arrived to be told we were on a 'waiting list'. We were to remain on this waiting list for a while, even when we had a room! The first night we stayed in a double room, which was nice, clean and had a good shower and bathroom. However, when we enquired about extending our stay and the 'waiting list', the staff treated us as if we were a massive inconvenience, and told us to come back in an hour, when we would come back, we'd be told the same thing again. Very rude and unhelpful.
When we arrived back from Machu Picchu, after being told we'd "probably" have a private room, we were put in a 12 bed dorm. This normally wouldn't be a problem, but the dorm we were in was filthy. It stank, and there was rubbish and dirty clothes and underwear all over the floor. The next day we checked out and moved to Intiq Samana, just down the road, which was much nicer and far more welcoming, and it meant we didn't have to climb the horrible steps up the road to Loki!
Loki has a nice bar which does good food, and this seems to attract a lot of 19-21 year old backpackers who want to party, but there's plenty of bars and nightlife in the town, so no need to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

staff is very helpfull and parties at the bar are the best in Cusco!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

2 friends and I spent 4 nights at the Loki in Cusco in June 2009. This was our first experience in a hostel and it has totally changed our views on traveling! All three of us are 30 yrs old, and this hostel seemed to fit our age group perfectly, mid 20's to 30.

The good:
The people you meet will make your vacation special! Great food. Nightly dinners cheap (10 soles) and delicious. Nightly happy hour. Fun fun fun! Tourist information desk open daily to help plan your day trips. Laundry across the street. Security for your belongings. Hot showers!!! Internet (4 computers, usually a short line to use them)

The bad (for some):
Loudness, drunk roommates, untrained bar staff. (These are things I noted which did not bother me, but I saw others who were....its a backpacker hostel!! no big surprises there.)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed here for one night after the Inca Trail and really enjoyed it. There is a great atmosphere, a nice & reasonably priced bar with fun staff, free internet and an amazing view over the city.
Our matrimonial room with private bathroom was clean and comfy (with duvets - more hostels need duvets!!). Staff were all friendly and had no issues with security of bags in the luggage room - we were given tags which were checked on retrieval later.
Only two negatives:
There is (currently) a problem with water supply in this area of Cusco so there was only water for 6 (specified) hours each day while we were there. They had done all they could to make this bearable though, with huge water vats outside the bathrooms to use for flushing and washing. I don´t suppose this is their fault but it was a pain. We knew this before we checked in because someone told us but went there anyway because they recommended the place so much.
Secondly, the location is at the top of a steep hill so you will get some exercise getting there! If you´re reasonably fit it´s no problem though, only 10 mins from the main square - if you are not fit then cabs are cheap anyway!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Good hostel, clean, nice common areas, free internet, great views over cusco, very comfy beds with duvets. Great place to meet other peopel if travelling alone.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LRO08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#112 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 430 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 430 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 430 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 430 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 430 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Property: LOKI Cusco
Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 430 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best base to explore Machu Picchu and the city of Cusco, loki is here to make every part of your stay remarkable with crazy parties, great facilities and amazing views. Our in-house tour agency will provide you with excellent travel advice on the best ways to see this amazing region. Take advantage of our free luggage storage while on your trek and when you return a hot shower, comfortable bed and the best parties in town will welcome you back. But be careful, you’ll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing