We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Central - Unhelpful staff & filthy dorms though.”
Review of LOKI Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Ranked #3 of 517 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed July 14, 2009

After making a reservation enquiry three days in advance, I had no reply from the hostel. I phoned them the day before we arrived to be told we were on a 'waiting list'. We were to remain on this waiting list for a while, even when we had a room! The first night we stayed in a double room, which was nice, clean and had a good shower and bathroom. However, when we enquired about extending our stay and the 'waiting list', the staff treated us as if we were a massive inconvenience, and told us to come back in an hour, when we would come back, we'd be told the same thing again. Very rude and unhelpful.
When we arrived back from Machu Picchu, after being told we'd "probably" have a private room, we were put in a 12 bed dorm. This normally wouldn't be a problem, but the dorm we were in was filthy. It stank, and there was rubbish and dirty clothes and underwear all over the floor. The next day we checked out and moved to Intiq Samana, just down the road, which was much nicer and far more welcoming, and it meant we didn't have to climb the horrible steps up the road to Loki!
Loki has a nice bar which does good food, and this seems to attract a lot of 19-21 year old backpackers who want to party, but there's plenty of bars and nightlife in the town, so no need to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2009

staff is very helpfull and parties at the bar are the best in Cusco!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

2 friends and I spent 4 nights at the Loki in Cusco in June 2009. This was our first experience in a hostel and it has totally changed our views on traveling! All three of us are 30 yrs old, and this hostel seemed to fit our age group perfectly, mid 20's to 30.

The good:
The people you meet will make your vacation special! Great food. Nightly dinners cheap (10 soles) and delicious. Nightly happy hour. Fun fun fun! Tourist information desk open daily to help plan your day trips. Laundry across the street. Security for your belongings. Hot showers!!! Internet (4 computers, usually a short line to use them)

The bad (for some):
Loudness, drunk roommates, untrained bar staff. (These are things I noted which did not bother me, but I saw others who were....its a backpacker hostel!! no big surprises there.)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed here for one night after the Inca Trail and really enjoyed it. There is a great atmosphere, a nice & reasonably priced bar with fun staff, free internet and an amazing view over the city.
Our matrimonial room with private bathroom was clean and comfy (with duvets - more hostels need duvets!!). Staff were all friendly and had no issues with security of bags in the luggage room - we were given tags which were checked on retrieval later.
Only two negatives:
There is (currently) a problem with water supply in this area of Cusco so there was only water for 6 (specified) hours each day while we were there. They had done all they could to make this bearable though, with huge water vats outside the bathrooms to use for flushing and washing. I don´t suppose this is their fault but it was a pain. We knew this before we checked in because someone told us but went there anyway because they recommended the place so much.
Secondly, the location is at the top of a steep hill so you will get some exercise getting there! If you´re reasonably fit it´s no problem though, only 10 mins from the main square - if you are not fit then cabs are cheap anyway!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Good hostel, clean, nice common areas, free internet, great views over cusco, very comfy beds with duvets. Great place to meet other peopel if travelling alone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LRO08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights whilst we went on the Inca Trail

+ Good rooms and nice linen
+ Good views of cuzco and the surrounding area
+ Good for meeting other backpackers

- Noisy
- Very big so not very personal

3.5/5

Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tf_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

So bad service they lost the Dufflebag of my travel agency and I pay for thys I leave this in the front desk and they sais that not!. I was very furious.

The locatios it`s just of the view it``s nice but it`s not near to the center, I guess better locatios has The Point Hostals.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sace45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 171 in Cusco
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 517 in Cusco
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 517 in Cusco
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 517 in Cusco
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 517 in Cusco
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 517 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $11 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best base to explore Machu Picchu and the city of Cusco, loki is here to make every part of your stay remarkable with crazy parties, great facilities and amazing views. Our in-house tour agency will provide you with excellent travel advice on the best ways to see this amazing region. Take advantage of our free luggage storage while on your trek and when you return a hot shower, comfortable bed and the best parties in town will welcome you back. But be careful, you’ll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing