We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find -- Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I spent nights at Casa San Blas before and after going to Machu Picchu. My luggage had not made it on my flight from the US to Lima, and the staff could not have been more helpful in calling the airline to try to find it for me. Lita and Rosa were terrific! I was picked up at the airport in Cusco, free of charge, although there was a charge for the return trip...my mistake was that I didn't confirm the rate with the driver (the front desk told me it would be 8 soles; driver charged 15 soles)

Rooms were nice and comfortable, not overly large but certainly adequate. My only complaint was that a disinfectant is used to clean the bathroom (not a bad thing!) that was really potent and I had to keep the window open to get rid of the smell. I thought it was one of the disks in the back of the toilet, but the maid claimed that it was simply the cleaner she uses. For me, it was headache material.

The last night, my room opened on the lobby and I thought it would be noisy before my early morning flight, but it was very quiet after about 10 pm.

I didn't have dinner at the restaurant but was interested in the glowing review that someone else wrote. Breakfast was included and fine with eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit. There are lots of good restaurants like PachaPapa nearby, and the location (even up the steep hill) is excellent. Free internet in the lobby. Great staff, terrific location, and I would definitely stay there again...good value. Safe location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSBAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 886 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

Great place to stay in Cusco--just up the hill from Plaza de las Armas. Also, great restaurants and bars near by like the Fallen Angel (A MUST SEE!) and reasonable artisan shopping. The restaurant in the hotel is to die for---some of the best food we had over our 12 days in Peru!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aligato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This hotel was great. From the welcoming airport pick-up, the coca tea upon arrival, great check-in at reception, beautiful common grounds, spotless, spacious rooms, free internet access (computers in lobby), decent breakfast, great location. We will return there again without even shopping around. Oh, and our views from the rooms on the top floor were awesome during the fireworks the weekend before Into Raymi. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeinmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband, son and I stayed at the Casa San Blas recently. There are no words to say how much we enjoyed it. The location of the hotel was perfect - in the artsy neighborhood of San Blas. The rooms were nice, comfortable and roomy. The staff was fantastic- whenever we needed something, they had already attended to it. I can absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyHuntingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Our group rented three rooms from the Casa San Blas for two nights. My husband and I stayed in room 318, a suite with a kitchen. The room was clean, well-equipped, had a large bathroom. We were right over the kitchen and front desk, and also on the street. And, still it was very quiet - those thick walls in that old house are thick!

The staff is very friendly and for what you get... the price is right!

I recommend this hotel to people that want a mix of an authentic, old-time, charming hotel, yet like certain amenities, too.

GREAT location - short downhill walk to the square. I felt very safe in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed here two nights with a friend before and after traveling to MP and the Sacred Valley. As a result, we had two different rooms. Both were standard, nothing fancy, but comfortable and clean. The lobby has free coffee and tea (regular tea and coca tea) available at all times. There is also free internet in the lobby. The staff was great - they arranged a taxi to take us to Ollantaytambo via Pisac and we ended up using that same driver several other times that week. The hotel is a short walk down the hill to the Plaza de Armas and other attractions. The staff also spoke excellent English which was a pleasant change from other cities in the Sacred Valley. Breakfast buffet was also good and included both hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I stayed in the Casa San Blas for one night May 09. It was about 10 minutes from airport by cab. The hotel is tucked back in an alley off a side street, so it was very quiet and private. Check-in was pain-free and easy. My room was great- a twin bed with a couch also, TV, closet, nice bathroom. The hotel in general is done in a pleasing mission style. I found it to be very low-stress and peaceful. They have a restaurant with free breakfast, which I did not get to experience as we left at the crack of dawn the next day. I will definitely return on my next trip to Cusco.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#16 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing