We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa San Blas review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at Casa San Blas for a total of 8 nights (because it was so amazing!). Our airport pick-up was prompt and very friendly. Jimmy discussed some highlights of Cuzco and made restaurant recommendations that was greatly appreciated and described details for our tour the following day. We found the accommodations excellent, complete with friendly and courteous staff. Even better was the view of the mountains from our suite, made complete by hot water bottles and chocolates delivered each evening. 2 thumbs up to Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel and their staff.

Room Tip: If you are not an early riser, it's best to select a standard room as the suites (very beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubameg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent comment. We are very happy that you liked the accommodations and that you found the staff friendly and courteous. It is also great that you enjoyed the views from your suite room and our turn down service.
Really hope you can come back someday!
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 891 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Casa San Blas is a great little hotel in the San Blas area of Cusco. It is in a great location as it is fairly close to the main square but not so close that there is a lot of traffic. The road in front of the hotel is a very narrow cobbled road with narrow sidewalks on each side for walking. There are lots of shops and restaurants along the road and we found a food store where we could buy water and snacks. I had a really bad headache when we arrived so I wanted to go to bed early and there was a lot of noise from a school event in back of the hotel. We asked to be moved to a different room and they moved us right away. We found the staff and reception person to be very helpful and eager to please us. There was tea (including coca tea) in the lobby available at all times. The breakfast, while not extensive, was perfectly adequate and my husband loved the way they prepared his fried eggs. There was fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread, juice and cold cuts. Each night they put a hot water bottle in our beds which was a nice touch as it got chilly in the evenings. We ate at Jack's Place a few times which is only a few blocks from the hotel....really good food, huge portions and cheap prices...highly recommend it. In addition to the regular tour we did in Cusco, we went to the Inca Museum hear the Cathedral. It was really interesting and it really helped us to understand the history of the Incas as the toured the various ruins. I highly recommend Casa San Blas for a stay in Cusco!!

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room in the front of the hotel. The back downstairs rooms can be a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent and very detailed comment; we are sure it will help to other guests. You described very well the location of Casa San Blas; it is actually located in San Blas neighbouhood which is the oldest one in Cusco; as you mentioned, the streets are narrow but very charmnig and it is full of shops and good places to eat or drink something. We are also very happy that you found the staff helpful and the breakfast perfectly adequate.
Hope you have the opportunity to come back.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is very good in every aspects. We booked this hotel through PFL and we had the very best service in Cusco.
The hotel is close to everything and service is excellent. One thing were impressive me is they put a warm water bottle in our bed to warm the bed before we arrived from Machu Picchu after a long train ride. Cusco can be cold at night in the month of May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunCruise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the excellent comment you wrote on our TripAdvisor profile. It is great that you had a good experience in Casa San Blas. We are also very happy because you wrote you had the very best service in Cusco. We work hard to provide our guests with a good and personalized service and it is really amazing when our guests find this in our hotel and let us know!
Hope you can come back someday.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed 4 nights before hiking the Inca Trail and 1 night after. We definitely chose the perfect place to stay in Cusco. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was amazing, accommodating our every request. The hotel is in a excellent location, few minute walk to Plaza de Armas, along small cobblestone streets filled with shops and excellent sights. The small cafe attached to the hotel serves complimentary breakfast that was delicious and had something a little different each day. The tables out front make for a great place to sit and relax while enjoying some Pisco Sours. We could not have asked for anything better and will not look anywhere else when returning to Cusco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent comment. We are very happy that you liked and enjoyed the hotel, its location, breakfast and staff. It is really amazing when you say that you could not have asked for anything better!
Hope you can come back someday. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again!
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We loved this charming hotel! The staff was friendly and very helpful, the rooms charming. As soon as you arrive and see the charming cortyard, with the tables, chair and umbrellas set out you feel welcomed. Checkin was easy and what a surprise, the hotel actually uses old fashioned Keys! You are offered Coca tea when you arrive and it is always available. Breakfast is served in their restaurant and you can have eggs any style,pancakes, and wonderful fruits, breads and cereal. Throught the hotel, rooms and restaurants, they have local handicrafts hangin and each piece is beautiful. Walking distance to the square and great restaurants, including the Irish Pub (which was deliciious). Overall if we were returning to Cusco, this would be a hotel we definately return to.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the school...there is no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonisnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very for your excellent comment. It is great to know that you liked the hotel, the atmosphere and the breakfast. The best of your comment is when you say that you would definitely return to our hotel if returning to Cusco someday.
Hope you can come back.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here two nights post-Macchu Picchu, and it was very nice! The decor is cute, the beds super plush, and the room offered a small kitchen. It was very close (3 long blocks) to the main square, so we could easily wander around.

Amenities really enhanced our stay. Staff brought us hot water bottles for aching muscles each night, and we took advantage of their laundry service. They also sell cute souvenirs and these wonderful Andes knit/weaving inspired meditation cards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. It is great that you liked the hotel decoration and the unique souvenirs we develop and sell. We are also happy that you enjoyed the location and the rooms of the hotel.
Hope you have the opportunity to come back.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

One of the previous reviewers mentioned the evening receptionist, and our experience was exactly the same. We arrived to this hotel after a long 10hour journey from Puno, and were begrudgingly booked in and shown our room. After the excellent service we had experienced throughout our whole stay in Peru, this felt very unwelcoming, and on the eve of my birthday and far from home, I felt quite upset!

However, we soon realised that the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay here. Our room (junior suite) was spacious, and had the most amazing view over Cusco. It was also a pleasant change to have a kettle, and various T-bags and coffee to make drinks. Breakfast was fairly basic but quite adequate.

All in all, this was quite a unique little hotel, in a marvellous location, which meant that the Cathedral, shops, restaurants and Chocomuseo all very close. We celebrated my birthday at Ciocolinos where we had a fantastic meal - great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueCHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for the comment you wrote on our TripAdvisor profile. I am so sad that the man on evening reception duty made you feel unwelcomed; this is exactly the opposit to our main goal which is to make each guest's stay a cozy and wonderful one. We all are very sorry for this and as he was not the appropriate person for that job position he is not working at the hotel anymore.
On the other hand, we are happy that you find the rest of the staff friendly and that you enjoyed the room and the location of the hotel.
Really hope you can come back someday.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#16 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $68 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing