We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A simple luxury”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

It's the small things that count and at Casa San Blas, it is truly the staff's thoughtfulness that make a difference. From preparing coca tea as a welcome drink to help visitors acclimatize to the altitude to placing chocolates on the beds for an additional touch of warmth, Casa San Blas gives a wonderful start to lodging in Cusco City. In addition, the staff's willingness to go the extra mile - from preparing extra coca tea if needed to dropping their task at hand when they see visitors attempting to carry their own luggage down to the reception - all make the experience a lovely one.For those already booked in, look forward to reading the hotel introduction book in every room - it has a much more personal touch than the average "factbook" one gets in most hotels!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comment. It is fantastic to know that you could appreciate all our efforts to make your stay a wonderful one. Your comment reminds us of why our job is worth it; to make our guests happy is priceless.
Hope to see you again someday.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    213
    54
    11
    8
See reviews for
169
350
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I loved my one night stay at Casa San Blas. After a rain-soaked and glorious climb up Wayna Picchu overlooking the Inca ruins of Machu Picchu and a long, multi-step journey from Aguas Calientes to Cusco, Casa San Blas was just what the doctor ordered. The staff were extremely warm and friendly and even brought up a hot water bottle after I had been complaining about a back ache. The room was simple, clean and rustic with an artistic feel of the Peru. The bathroom was well appointed with the basic amenities such a blow dryer and bathrobe. When I checked in, the was given a list of a number of good restaurants to have dinner on or close to Cusco's gorgeous Plaza d'Armas which is only 3 blocks from the hotel. Breakfast was basic and satisfying and I got to try saucha jam (delicious) and the waitress even showed me a shop very close by where I could stock up on some before rushing to the airport. I wish I could have stayed more than one night in beautiful San Blas and at Casa San Blas. If you are going to be in Cusco and want a place to stay that is charmant, warm, tucked away but not far away, this is your best bet. I hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Apparently the suite with the terrace and view is the one to go for. I did not stay in this room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theecstaticflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are so happy that you loved your stay in Casa San Blas. We also wish you could have stayed more than one night with us; surely, next time!
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Well worth going a few extra feet! Get a room with a view from the top of Casa san Blas in Cusco. Delightful small hotel with friendly staff that manage to get hot water bottles in the bed without you realising! Loved it. Wished we had stayed an extra day or two.

Room Tip: Book high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieDevon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent comment. We are very happy that you had a great time in Casa San Blas. Hope you can come back soon!
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a small room with a view of an air shaft, but it was not uncomfortable. The staff was very friendly, and you could make tea any time you wanted. The breakfast area was small, but it was not crowded while we were there. Although the music school could make the room a little noisy during the day, we were seldom in the room then. The hotel is within a short walk of all the major tourist venues, but it is on a very very steep hill. The street is exceedingly narrow and the sidewalk at times was only 18 inches wide!. If a truck came down the street his wheels went from curb to curb. You had to watch and make sure the truck mirrors did not hit you while you were on the sidewalk. If you walked to the main square, the walk back was the equivalent of climbing the stairs to the top of a five story building. Since Cusco is at 11,200 ft. this can be a challenge. We would stay there again because we found it a friendly cozy place to to get away from the frenzy of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnheiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing a comment on our profile. It is true that the streets around the hotel are narrow and steep; Casa San Blas is actually located in the oldest neighborhood of Cusco so it cannot be any other way. We are very happy that you want to stay in he hotel next time you visit Cusco!
Hope to see you again someday.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas BOutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

As others have said, this is close to the main town square, a steep walk,but enjoyable exercise. We were on the ground floor not far from reception, which was fine but none of the terrace views or luxuries of suites, which again suited us.
Staff were friendly and helpful, made us feel like we were part of the extended family. Coca tea was always available in the common sitting area, and this was a delightful spot to relax and catch up with family emails. Breakfast was simple fare, fresh fruit , cheese,toast and other varying goodies. The wonderful waiters made sure your cup was kept full too. While we had a room on the ground floor that was in the main passageway it was seldom too noisy, fellow guests were respectful of others I think. Congratulations and thanks to the staff for making our stay memorable. As for the whole District and Cusco, we could have stayed months!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are so happy that you found yourself part of Casa San Blas family, this is one of our majors.
Hope to welcome you again someday.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Casa San Blas is wonderfully located, a short but steep walk a couple of blocks from Plaza de las Armas. Restaurants and shops are all at hand for anything you might want. One night we had a suite on the upper level, with a view of the city lights and mountains behind them. It had an interior stairway and the feel of a loft or attic room, but in a good way; charming. On our return we had a standard room with no view. Both were comfortable and pleasant. We enjoyed the breakfast room in the morning with its artful display of Peruvian knitted caps and other woven collections. Staff are very knowledgeable -- we got great advice for our day trip transportation, for example. After a day of walking around taking in the sights, it was so pleasant to return to the charm and comfort at Casa San Blas.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta f, Duty Manager at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing a comment on our profile. It is fantastic to hear that you had a great stay in Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel. We hope to welcome you again someday.

Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel was one of several booked for us by an excellent travel company as part of a private tour. We stayed here for four nights, two each before and after a trip to fairly nearby Machu Picchu. Our Junior Suite/Apartment room was fairly pleasant – plenty of space but only because it was split on two levels, the sleeping area being on a mezzanine. This meant trailing downstairs for night time loo visits – very inconvenient in a strange and dark location. It did have tea-making facilities though. One further drawback with these rooms is that their french door entry opens directly onto the hotel's rooftop terrace area, introducing daytime noise from the adjacent music school and other noise and privacy intrusion from groups of other guests – a weird policy for these more expensive rooms. Indeed, all the surfaces were hard, preventing any sound absorption at all. I understand that the standard rooms are dark as they may only have windows onto the hotel courtyard area. We only took breakfast here and, although good, it was chaotic at times due to the very cramped space available. The hotel is in an attractive part of town, quite close to the better sights of city centre Cuzco and its eateries, but the steep and narrow streets can make walking breathless at this altitude. They willingly stored our main suitcases to enable us to use overnight bags while we were at Machu Picchu and held over the bill until our combined stay was complete.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite/Apartment can be prone to noise; standard rooms are reportedly dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsi C, Director Comercial at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
First of all, thank you for writing a comment on our profile on the Trip Advisor. Thank you also for the observations you pointed out; they help us to improve. Regarding the room, we are sorry that you found the two levels a little uncomfortable; the truth is that we think it is the best way to have great views of the city of Cusco even from your bed. According to the noise, you mentioned the music school next to the hotel; this is something we have to live together with but instead of considering it a problem we find it interesting as the atmosphere created is unique, warm and friendly. You also mentioned the breakfast place is small; it is a shame that you did not order the breakfast in your suite room or in the terrace. Finally, regarding the location of the hotel; we are in the traditional neighborhood of San Blas; the streets here are steep and narrow but full of history and charming at the same time.
Again, thank you for your comment.

Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 165 in Cusco
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Property: Casa San Blas Boutique
Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing