We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather a Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Rather a Disappointment”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel was one of several booked for us by an excellent travel company as part of a private tour. We stayed here for four nights, two each before and after a trip to fairly nearby Machu Picchu. Our Junior Suite/Apartment room was fairly pleasant – plenty of space but only because it was split on two levels, the sleeping area being on a mezzanine. This meant trailing downstairs for night time loo visits – very inconvenient in a strange and dark location. It did have tea-making facilities though. One further drawback with these rooms is that their french door entry opens directly onto the hotel's rooftop terrace area, introducing daytime noise from the adjacent music school and other noise and privacy intrusion from groups of other guests – a weird policy for these more expensive rooms. Indeed, all the surfaces were hard, preventing any sound absorption at all. I understand that the standard rooms are dark as they may only have windows onto the hotel courtyard area. We only took breakfast here and, although good, it was chaotic at times due to the very cramped space available. The hotel is in an attractive part of town, quite close to the better sights of city centre Cuzco and its eateries, but the steep and narrow streets can make walking breathless at this altitude. They willingly stored our main suitcases to enable us to use overnight bags while we were at Machu Picchu and held over the bill until our combined stay was complete.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite/Apartment can be prone to noise; standard rooms are reportedly dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsi C, Director Comercial at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
First of all, thank you for writing a comment on our profile on the Trip Advisor. Thank you also for the observations you pointed out; they help us to improve. Regarding the room, we are sorry that you found the two levels a little uncomfortable; the truth is that we think it is the best way to have great views of the city of Cusco even from your bed. According to the noise, you mentioned the music school next to the hotel; this is something we have to live together with but instead of considering it a problem we find it interesting as the atmosphere created is unique, warm and friendly. You also mentioned the breakfast place is small; it is a shame that you did not order the breakfast in your suite room or in the terrace. Finally, regarding the location of the hotel; we are in the traditional neighborhood of San Blas; the streets here are steep and narrow but full of history and charming at the same time.
Again, thank you for your comment.

Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    212
    54
    11
    8
See reviews for
169
349
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
245 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location tucked away in the middle of San Blas area and close to the main square.

The staff is very helpful and attentive- warm water bottles every night, chocolates on the pillows and friendly smiles every day. They are sometimes too eager to replace all of the towels or change the bedding even though we left the towels hanging or the card on the bed not to change the sheets.

The staff at the reception arranged a taxi for us for a day trip in the Sacred Valley (250 soles including Moray and Salinas). Our taxi was a very professional, safe and friendly driver and had a good car. If you give the hotel a few days notice, they will arrange a free transfer from the airport to the hotel (on their website). For the way back, you can arrange it at the hotel for quite cheap (I believe approx 9 soles).

They offer quite a good variety for breakfast (which is included in the price)- eggs, breads, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee and tea. The staff there is sometimes slow on refilling the buffet or taking drink/egg orders, but reasonably friendly.

We stayed before and after doing the Inca trail and had two different rooms. We were able to store our luggage for free and they put our tablet in their safe- all were returned in the same condition. In our experience, we found the hotel trustworthy.

Room 101 is right beside the piano, common lounge and the reception, so there can be a lot of noise, especially when people noisily clang there bags and poles around at 5am (please don't do this). Room 102, where we stayed can also be noisy at times, but slightly less so that 101. The room itself is lovely. It doesn't have a window to the outside, but to a small glassed-in courtyard. Very comfortable beds, nice facilities and modern shower. Although the morning before doing the trail the shower was freezing cold, so sometimes even in 24hr hot water hotels you might be left with a cold shower.They have good quality shampoo and conditioner.

On the way back, we stayed in one of their extension suites. The room was enormous, very quiet, but needed a fresh coat of paint.

The hotel is a great, cozy option during a stay in Cusco.

Room Tip: Room 101 is right beside the piano, common lounge and the reception, so there can be a lot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. Staff, service,food and rooms were all excellent. Location was perfect. We were able to store luggage and return in 2 days without any problems. Staff didn't even make us check in and out with the transaction. The cocoa tea in the lobby was greatly needed and appreciated. Breakfast was excellent each morning and was included in room cost. The hot water bottles and chocolate each might was a pleasant surprise each night

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanthepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
314 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was hard for our driver to find but the location is great for toursits walking through the older/historic section of Cusco.
Checking in I was feeling a bit 'under the weather'...they had available coca tea in the lobby (also coca leaves to chew & hold in the side of your mouth). They promptly sent up two hot water bottles to the room for my comfort--very nice touch! We also ordered room service for dinner that night and they 'rustled up some chicken soup' for me that was good and hardy fare.
There was a bit of a problem with hot water in the shower...my husband seemed to choose the wrong times (most popular time?) and the last morning only got a luke warm shower. I waited about an hour (we didn't have anything scheduled that morning) and only used the hot water tap and had a nice temperatured shower.
This was one of the FEW hotels in Peru that included a hairdryer as 'standard equipment'.
The normal checkout is 10 AM but on the day we left we were being picked up at 4, so they did allow us a bit later check out time, which was nice. They also allowed us secured storage of our luggage until pickup time.
The breakfast buffet had a variety of fruits and bread with cheese and 'ham' slices. The juices were particularly good and varied. (It would have been nice to have a label to know what kind they were.) The waitress also came by to ask if you wanted an omelet or scrabled or fried eggs.
Everyone was welcoming and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbleskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My stay on the ground floor was overshadowed by noise reverberating within the hotel and from the front desk. This prevented us resting with altitude sickness and we were awoken in the night as other guests returned. Beyond this, the room and cleanliness were excellent - they even added a hot water bottle to the bed in the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsi C, Director Comercial at Casa San Blas Boutique, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for writing a comment on our Trip Advisor profile and for giving us your impression of the hotel. We are really sorry for the inconvenience you experienced when staying at Casa San Blas and we would like to apologize for it. We are already working on it and that is why it is planned to change the windows; we will have noise-reduction glass very soon in order to avoid situations like the one you experienced.
Again, thank you for your comment and sorry for the inconvenience.
Best regards,
Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff was awesome...professional, helpful, full of suggestions and just plain nice. The lobby had coca tea available 24/7 and I encourage all who stay to drink plenty of this beverage...it really helped with breathing. Rooms were comfortable, clean and welcoming. The hotel is located up a walkway which taxed breathing but I just stopped at the gift shops to look and catch my breath.
There is a restaurant available. A lovely place in the middle of town. Safe to walk after dark...lots of police to insure security.

Room Tip: Don't forget your electrical converter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5150Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the semi-apartment rooms with terrace locations that faced across the rooftops. The room had a living/kitchen area cum table, desk and sofa doiwnstairs and an open loft sleeping area upstairs. The bath was well appointed, but only a stand-up shower, no bath. Cusco is pretty hilly so the idea of a hot bath might be appealing. Nice locally produced textiles for sale adorn each room and are "themed". Interesting history to the hotel as well. The brakfast was nice, not outstanding, but good. There's coffee and tea available in the lobby, as well as tea bags, sugar etc. in your roomw with a kettle. And the WiFi is fast. The location is very nice, and close to everything, although it is situated on the hill, so it's a walk up from most of the plazas and touristy restaurants to get home. We noticed, but didn't mind. The staff was accomodating and helpful. Overall this was a good value.

Room Tip: The Terrace Duplexes are nice, but they do adjoin a music institute. A lot of practicing and playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRooster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 165 in Cusco
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Property: Casa San Blas Boutique
Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing