We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #11 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel is an 18th century colonial home purchased and restored. It is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru. The boutique concept is one of comfort, warmth and relaxation personified by the décor, earthy tones and colonial furniture found throughout the intimate and charming hotel. Within the boutique hotel’s own design, are integrated elements of the Peruvian culture, such as traditionally hand-labored weavings, which are displayed throughout the rooms and hotel suites. There is a terrace balcony with umbrella tables and chairs on the hotel´s third floor with magnificent views of the city of Cusco both day and night. Our daughter and son-in-law had a suite on the third floor with the loft bedroom area overlooking Cusco... the view was spectacular. We had planned to share the suite, but decided on another room as the small bathroom was on the entry level and we felt we needed more space. Nightly, the beds were turned down with hot water bottles left on the mattress... a wonderful touch! The staff was very accommodating and the breakfast buffet was delicious... fresh fruit, meat and cheese, variety of breads, bacon or sausage and eggs. We loved looking at the beautiful Peruvian weavings hanging throughout the hotel (and the hats in the breakfast area).

Room Tip: The suites were nice, with the beautiful view to wake up to (also heard the students practicing at t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynnprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for Casa San Blas Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 857 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

This charming boutique hotel is near the Cathedral and most of the other sites in the historical part of the city. Taxis or tour vehicles cannot navigate into the hotel which is set back from the street, so they stop in the street where you load and unload your luggage. There is an incline from the Cathedral to the hotel and in a city that is more than 11,000 feet above sea level, you can feel it. We were on the third floor of this hotel where there is a junior suite and a full suite. The full suite had a refrigerator and stove while the junior suite had a refrigerator. Outside of the rooms is a patio with tables that give you a view of the city. When we were there, they had fireworks. At night, the city is lit up in the hills surrounding the city which is shaped like a saucer. The rooms were clean with the usual amenities in the bathroom. It did take up to 5 minutes for the hot water to reach the shower head, but then there was sufficient hot water. The staff were very helpful and there were 2 computers in the small lobby for use by the guests. Breakfast was included and quite good including scrambled eggs, fruit, hot chocholate, toast, etc. We enjoyed this hotel for its location and friendliness and would consider staying there again. The price is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We thought the hotel would be quiet tucked down a side street, but it wasn't. We could hear our neighbors taking showers, packing suitcases, people walking above our room - acoustically very noisy in the early morning hours. Our room was spacious enough to have a larger bed, but it was slightly more than a large twin or full - not comfortable for two. Great location off Cuesta San Blas - Cuesta means "grade" so it was a real "puffer" in the altitude going up from the Plaza. Friendly and helpful staff and a strong wi-fi signal even at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was good and located in a small dining room off the hotel entrance. Our room should have cost about $60-75 USD per night instead of $100.00. There are better hotel values in Cuzco for less.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank On-A-Caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa San Blas for a couple of nights. It's in an excellent location near the main square. The rooms were beautiful and had a great view from the terrace. The staff was exceptionally helpful. We forgot to buy our Machu Picchu passes for the next day and the consierge contacted a travel agent who came and set us up with our passes, bus tickets and everything. The hotel's help truly saved our trip from disaster. Beside all of that, the hotel was clean, and the room had a coffee maker, and kitchenette. They put a heater on the edge of the bed to warm your feet at night. The breakfast was excellent also. Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classylush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very helpful staff, especially behind the reception desk. But also out suitcases were brought up to our rooms as soon as we checked in, and we were even met at the taxi by the manager who carried our suitcases inside. Our room was not large but adequate. We did hear the musicschool next door, but it added to the charm. When we closed the windows we could not hear anything. The hotel is located only a few blocks from the center of town, but it is uphill, and I was huffing and puffing , getting used to the altitude. One block uphill is another little plaza where we had a good dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a nice value hotel with a reasonable sized clean rooms, an excellent location, and a very helpful staff. The night lobby person, Carmen, was exceptionally helpful and gave me great travel tips. So, why am I only giving this hotel 3 Stars? It has a big drawback of being next to a school, think its a music school. School starts at 7:30am and the noise in my room made sleeping very difficult. It was not just a little noise, it was a lot of noise, and it did not let up till school was over.

So, if you are travel itinerary requires you to leave before, 7:30am, this is a great hotel for you. If you are thinking of sleeping late on a school day, this hotel is not for you. By the way, breakfast was included but is pretty basic.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the school.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Middle_Aged_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This treasure is very conveniently located close to the centre of Cusco but sufficiently away from the bustle of city centre. It is an easy walk to the main plaza, lots of great restaurants and cafe, yet it is peaceful and relaxing. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent, particularly the jams and coffee (to die for). Our room was warm and comfortable and we really loved the extra touches like the hot water bottles delivered to our room each evening. It was very convenient to be able to leave some of our luggage there whilst we did a trip to Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchtoowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $68 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing