We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Moray Adventure

Moray Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
ATV Tour to Moray, Maras and Salt Flat in the Sacred Valley from Cusco
Ranked #20 of 840 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A trip to Moray is normally combined with a trip to the salt mines too. The ste is worth exploring and if you have the energy climbing right down to the centre of Moray. Beware the alttude though, it is a hard climb up. This is yet another amazing Inca site where theories abound as to what the site was used for. A good guide is essential in explaining the nuances of the site. We saw this after seeing Machu Picchu and although not as spectacular is a must if you are nearby. Moray is about 90 mins from Cusco.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thegees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    403
    58
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“interesting - worth a stop”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Moray is only slightly off the path toward wherever you are headed - Sacred Valley destinations or Cusco. Make the stop - it is interesting to see. Photos do not do it justice (like with every other site in the Sacred Valley). The concentric circles get lower and lower in elevation - and it is thought that the Qechuan people during the time of the Inca used these as agricultural labs to test various crops.
You need the Boleto Turistico here, and can buy it here and use it elsewhere also. Just decide whether you want the whole ticket (good for 10 days or so) or just the partial ticket for just the day. We bought the whole thing so that we wouldn't have to deal with it again, figuring that we would use it in Cusco also, as well as Ollantaytambo and maybe Pisac.
At most of these sites, in order to use the bathroom you will need a Nuevo Sole.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank upandaway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Interesting to see the formation of moray. We took lots of pictures as our guide brought us around the entire area. I know some tours only drive to the viewing plateau so we were lucky.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great evidence of an advanced culture but without writing!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Shows that the Incas had advanced understanding of micro climates and agronomy, despite apparently not having a written language. The scale is also impressive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun day tour along with Maras, Chinchero”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Toured Moray, Maras and Chinchero as part of a group day tour. Your experience will depend upon how good your Guide is and our guide was knowledgeable and passionate about Inca history. The bus driver was too aggressive and overconfident but that seems to be a common element of the affordable day tours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wpr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moray Adventure also viewed

 
Pisac, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Moray Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing