We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Salinas de Maras

Salinas de Maras
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Private Maras Moray and Chinchero Tour from Cusco
Ranked #6 of 169 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well-worth a visit to the pre-inca salt mines. The site is beautiful and the work to harvest the salt is amazing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,662
    1,848
    390
    41
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
335 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Really neat - get some habas saladas”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This salt mine is huge and really neat to see. Entry fee is low. I recommend buying some "habas saladas" (salted beans) from one of the many handicraft vendors. We were reluctant to try the samples at first, but now we are hooked.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Salinas de Maras....very intriguing!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had hired a driver for the day and he took us the back way from Ollantaytambo to Moray and then on to Salinas. It was a beautiful drive!
Salinas is definitely worth checking out! It is very interesting and beautiful. We had binoculars and were able to watch various families working their area from construction and digging of a new site to tending to the various stages of the salt collection.
It was part of the Boleta de Cusco (ticket that covers various sites in and around Cusco)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jalovelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Was Fascinating...........”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am so glad that we did this site. Was so interesting to learn the history behind the pre incas and the Maras salt flats. Reminded me so much of Pammukale in Turkey. Would definitely advise you to see this place if you had the extra day in Cusco. Amazing to learn how the different families cultivate their salt fields.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sumukund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice but fast”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not so close to Cusco, you have first to go by car (or bus) on various trails before to arrive. Then an interesting visit in a short time, I would expect a bit more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CedricG_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salinas de Maras also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Salinas de Maras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing