We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salinas de Maras

Salinas de Maras
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Private Maras Moray and Chinchero Tour from Cusco
Ranked #6 of 167 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Different and really cool, worth the trip and close to Moray which I'd say is even better. Nothing about it to dislike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,579
    1,815
    384
    41
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kings Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy horseback ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

45 minutes up the hill. Easy even for inexperienced riders. Very interesting. Our guide and horsewoman (I'm sorry, I've forgotten her name) was professional and well informed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice side trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very interesting salt mines, can walk from one end to the other. We had our taxi drop us off on one end and pick us up on the other.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roamans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice stop on a tour of the Sacred Valley”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Interesting to see how they harvest salt from the mineral springs and some cool photos. Does not take long, but worth a stop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This was a great day trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had read about the salt pans but once there I was awe struck. I am so happy I made this trip as when you come around the mountain, it gives a spectacular view. They still harvest the salt from these pans and I found the whole experience interesting and definitely worthwhile. Fantastic!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salinas de Maras also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Salinas de Maras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing