We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paccha fountain”
Review of Avenida El Sol

Avenida El Sol
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Half-Day City Tour of Cusco Including Tambomachay
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“Paccha fountain”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

One of the main roads which leads into the city from the airport. There is not much to see apart from the Paccha de Pumaqchupan fountain and park at the junction with Avenida Tullumayo. You can walk under the water and there is a mosaic on the other side. It is associated with a legend of a Puma supplying the town with water from its tail.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    257
    150
    18
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wear your walking shoes”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lots of shopping, crowds, and up hills. We found a fun indoor market with all the shopping one could possible do in a few hours. Fun day overall, but lots of walking..wear comfortable shoes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gingilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Take a Walk”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

According to several people I talked with, the Avenida el Sol used to be a river running through the city several decades ago before it was turned into a walkway. There are a lot of things one encounters here that could be anywhere else, e.g. snack vendors, crafts, restaurants, etc. However, for tourists and others wanting to travel, there are a lot of travel agencies and at least one airline company's office on this street. For history buffs, this was part of the rich history of the Inca empire as this street, beginning from the plaza which held the palace of the emperor, goes by the Korikancha Sun Temple, one of the holiest if not the holiest site at the time of the Spanish arrivals. The farther down you go you will notice more and more how the mountains rise in front of you as if the city were sort of spread before you. It is a nice walk, and it is free so not a bad deal. Also, be sure to check out the awesome full color mural and the sun fountain which you will eventually hit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Muckwa_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another Street”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I would say not worth seeing as there is nothing out of the ordinary, aside from the sights along it. wether you take a walk, tour, or cab, odds are good you will see this street.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GringoWasi_BnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A major artery in this lovely little city.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I walked along El Sol several times in the few days I was there. One Sunday morning, for example, I watched the parades and gatherings in the Plaza de Armas, then strolled down El Sol, dropping into the little shops and markets to buy gifts and recuerdos, and chatted with a cheeky little girl who was weaving wristbands using her toes as a loom. I bought a couple, after which she seemed happy to sit and chat. She clearly knew very little about the outside world, despite being in a major international tourist destination, then her father came along and persuaded me to have a shoeshine I neither wanted or needed, but since nothing here is at all expensive, I let him get on with it. I pressed on down to the bottom of the Avenida, past the water feature, towards the railway station, and discovered an amazing indoor market, to which I later brought some of my travelling companions.

Helpful?
Thank EdwardLakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenida El Sol also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Avenida El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing