We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be warned ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Cusi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Ranked #30 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be warned ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Please be warned that the hotel is not where it is marked on the trip advisor map. It is 15 blocks away. Very very very inconvenient. Didn't end up staying here as we wanted to stay around plaza de armas. Especially difficult when lugging around your stuff

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
True: we were wrongly located on the map. I don't know who put us there; it wasn't any of us. I have immediately informed TripAdvisor of our correct location in Santa Ana, the upper part of town.

Not true: we are 15 blocks away. That is a huge exageration. We are 4 blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, a walking distance of 10 minutes. Please read our reviews and see that this is true.

Curious: the wrong location on the map is about the same distance to the Plaza de Armas as our correct location. So if you want to stay on the Plaza de Armas, like these guests say they wanted, why not choose a hotel right nearby the Plaza de Armas?

Unfortunate: this review has only one star. Yet these guests left our hostel very happy, content with our service and ambiance. I find it unfortunate and wrong that they only gave us one star. This is not a review of our hostel but an angry reaction to an erroneous geo-location of which we're very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    86
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
73
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at Cusi Wasi Hostal was one of the best experiences we've had in our travels in staying at a hostal by far. The ambiance was ever so peaceful and refreshing. The room was very comfortable and gave you the satisfaction of feeling at home.
The staff there were very professional, friendly & helpful in assisting you on a daily basis. Melina is exceptional in customer service when it comes to having an enjoyable stay here. Always had a welcoming good day & good evening from her and each of the staff. They were always tentative to any requests we may have had, especially breakfast! TRY THE COCOA LEAVES TEA!
Each day after our outings in Cusco, we always looked forward in returning to our room at Cusi Wasi, that we would call our temporary home at times.
I would definitely recommend this hostal to anyone who is looking for a place to stay within their budget and not far from the main plaza square in Cusco. You'll definitely get your money's worth.
We look forward to our return again and will without a doubt be staying at Cusi Wasi! Thank you all for an unforgettable and enjoyable stay. Please keep the Botanical Gardens going green!!! Very harmonious!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor here seem much quieter. You do not here too much of an echo from people ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cieneguilla, Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in Cusi Wasi for one week in October 2013. The room was small but adequate and clean, the beds were very comfortable. We asked about the hot water, and were informed that it must be opened for a couple minutes before it warms up. There was always plenty ot water for taking a shower. It is not the place to chose if you want to sleep late in the morning, because many people are up early to leave for tours. The hotel has a very cozy, home-like feel to it, and from the first moment we felt very welcome and safe there, and the staff is definitely a big part of it.

The airport pick-up, the friendly, smiling staff and the home-cooked breakfast in the morning all made for a wonderful experience that helped make our visit in Cusco memorable. Our tour to Machu Pichu and to the sacred valley were wonderful and very well planned by Cusi Wasi.

We were very satisfied by our stay in this hostal, which is a short walk down to the main plaza. At night we chose to take a taxi back up (4 soles) because we were not accustomed to the altitude. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Cusco. Hopefully the construction on the street (Arcopata) will be finished soon, as this creates a bit of a problem for vehicles to reach the hostal, because the side street Fiero is a one-way and therefore the taxi must back down all the way after dropping people off.
Lucie and Stephanie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The good: The staff was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was typical for the hostel type places in Peru. The lobby area was very comfortable and a nice place to relax between outings. Our shower was good with plenty of hot water, but others in our group had problems with the showers and TVs. Wifi was good most of the time, but did go down and have to be reset frequently. Hot tea was available all the time; if it wasn't made, they would make it on request.
The bad: On a map this looked very close to the center of town. While it is only 3-5 blocks, it is at the top of a hill, so be prepared to climb a rather steep hill on your return. The rooms tended to be cold. We were given space heaters and that helped some.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there in December 2012. The staff was very helpful, very nice people all of them. The hotel can also arrange tours to Machu Pichu and other places in Cusco. I am satisfied with the service provided in the tours. Actually, my mother traveled to Cusco a few months after I did, and I recommended her to take the tours with them, as she did. The location of the hotel is about 15 minutes walking to the central plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaje1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very happy with our stay in Cusi Wasi last month. It is a great location to stay if you want to be a bit away from the center of town. The rooms were comfortable and most had hot water. The space was conducive to a larger group with multiple triples & cuadruple rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again, but am very hopeful that the Avenida Arcopata construction ends soon as getting close to the hostal with a bus was challenging!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice review. We are indeed a perfect place to base your activities in Cusco if you're a (student) group; we're happy to have you.

It is true that our street is currently being renovated so it’s closed for traffic. This is a nuisance, although it's possible to reach us at a side-door by taxi via another street. Hopefully we’ll have a wonderfully renovated street in a month time with spacious sidewalks and elegant streetlights. The new Avenida Arcopata will be a great improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Cusi wasi: don’t stay here, last resource if you are desperate. We were fouled by the pictures of the nice common area but the rooms are so bad...
Room: 3 - the smallest room I’ve ever seen (and we saw 2 on in first floor the other 2nd ) no ventilation, washroom was so small
Cleanliness: 2 – the worst thing: the bed sheets were so dirty, in the first room we got, the duvet had white spots all over it and looked so dirty overall I wanted to puke, then the sheets were dirty with hair and other spots.. no nice at all… we complaint and they told us to get another one because it was too late to change the bed clothes.. ok we got another one… it was worst, with a bed all the way to the wall and tiny space between the bed and the tiny washroom.. we inspected the bed, the duvet looked clean but the linens were so dirty, brown, yellow and other spots all over.. we wanted to leave but it was 11pm and this place is in the middle of nowhere with a road that is not very safe… so of course we complaint again and the guy in the from that I don’t remember his name but not polite at all gave us a clean linen, it seems it was new lol.. because it was very clean. We used it in half one for the bottom and one of the top and we used an extra layer of our clothes to not use their bed clothes.. disgusting…
Service: 4 everyone from the desk to the lady doing breakfast are no polite at all..
Location: 3 its 12-14 minutes walking from plaza de armas.. but you may be running so let say 8 minutes, because yoi have to walk in very dark streets with a lot of dark houses and locals .. no, no..
Breakfast: 5 was good, except from the lady that was serving it, that seems she was angry..
Noise: 3 – you can hear the train up to 2am!! Its crazy, it seems its so close.. and upstairs movement when they moved us to the first floor.. you can hear all movement done by the people above you.
Total: 3.3

Room Tip: look for another hotel. period
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Owner at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are very disappointed by this bad review and I’m happy to have the chance to refute this story.

First of all: why go back to a hotel that disgusts you? Nevertheless: these guests added another night to their reservation after their trip to Machu Picchu; perhaps they were not so desperate to go somewhere else after all?

What really happened is the following. These guests arrived very late at night and were noticeably tired and in a bad mood. We reserved one of our best rooms for them. Unfortunately, there was a hair on the bed sheets, which were otherwise perfectly clean. Obviously, it is our fault to not have noticed this detail, for which we apologised and upon which we offered new sheets. However, the guests made a huge deal out of it and insisted on having another room. From then on, the guests were looking for more conflict and every little detail was completely blown out of proportion. Our staff even got the blame for the “train noise”. In reality, the train rails are more than a kilometre away and only if you really pay attention you can hear the trains whistle.

We’re very sorry that these guests chose to go as low as writing this series of demonstrable falsehoods. As can be learned from most other reviews: our staff’s kindness is much appreciated and the cleanliness in our hostel is often mentioned explicitly. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis; we would never dare to offer dirty bed linen to our guests.

It is true that our street is currently being renovated so it’s closed for traffic. This is a nuisance, but hopefully we’ll have a wonderfully renovated street in a month time with spacious sidewalks and elegant streetlights. The new Avenida Arcopata will be a great improvement.

Probably these guests took some detour when walking to the Plaza de Armas. If you walk slowly but directly towards the Plaza, you get there in 10 minutes. In 8 minutes if you walk fast. We’ve measured this several times.

And oh yes: the guests paid $50 per night, not $60; why lie about this too?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#18 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cusi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cusi Wasi

Property: Hostal Cusi Wasi
Address: Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Cusi Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cusi Wasi! Our rooms have heating, a modern private bathroom, cable-TV, free Wi-Fi and warm water 24 hours a day. Our kitchen is at your disposal, as well as an Internet PC. We offer laundry services and free coffee and (coca leaf) tea. Prices include breakfast, transport from the airport or bus or train station and taxes. We offer first-quality excursions to Machu Picchu and also the Inka Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Cusi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing