We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff Nice Gathering area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Cusi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Ranked #33 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Staff Nice Gathering area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The good: The staff was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was typical for the hostel type places in Peru. The lobby area was very comfortable and a nice place to relax between outings. Our shower was good with plenty of hot water, but others in our group had problems with the showers and TVs. Wifi was good most of the time, but did go down and have to be reset frequently. Hot tea was available all the time; if it wasn't made, they would make it on request.
The bad: On a map this looked very close to the center of town. While it is only 3-5 blocks, it is at the top of a hill, so be prepared to climb a rather steep hill on your return. The rooms tended to be cold. We were given space heaters and that helped some.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    86
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
73
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there in December 2012. The staff was very helpful, very nice people all of them. The hotel can also arrange tours to Machu Pichu and other places in Cusco. I am satisfied with the service provided in the tours. Actually, my mother traveled to Cusco a few months after I did, and I recommended her to take the tours with them, as she did. The location of the hotel is about 15 minutes walking to the central plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaje1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very happy with our stay in Cusi Wasi last month. It is a great location to stay if you want to be a bit away from the center of town. The rooms were comfortable and most had hot water. The space was conducive to a larger group with multiple triples & cuadruple rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again, but am very hopeful that the Avenida Arcopata construction ends soon as getting close to the hostal with a bus was challenging!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice review. We are indeed a perfect place to base your activities in Cusco if you're a (student) group; we're happy to have you.

It is true that our street is currently being renovated so it’s closed for traffic. This is a nuisance, although it's possible to reach us at a side-door by taxi via another street. Hopefully we’ll have a wonderfully renovated street in a month time with spacious sidewalks and elegant streetlights. The new Avenida Arcopata will be a great improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Cusi wasi: don’t stay here, last resource if you are desperate. We were fouled by the pictures of the nice common area but the rooms are so bad...
Room: 3 - the smallest room I’ve ever seen (and we saw 2 on in first floor the other 2nd ) no ventilation, washroom was so small
Cleanliness: 2 – the worst thing: the bed sheets were so dirty, in the first room we got, the duvet had white spots all over it and looked so dirty overall I wanted to puke, then the sheets were dirty with hair and other spots.. no nice at all… we complaint and they told us to get another one because it was too late to change the bed clothes.. ok we got another one… it was worst, with a bed all the way to the wall and tiny space between the bed and the tiny washroom.. we inspected the bed, the duvet looked clean but the linens were so dirty, brown, yellow and other spots all over.. we wanted to leave but it was 11pm and this place is in the middle of nowhere with a road that is not very safe… so of course we complaint again and the guy in the from that I don’t remember his name but not polite at all gave us a clean linen, it seems it was new lol.. because it was very clean. We used it in half one for the bottom and one of the top and we used an extra layer of our clothes to not use their bed clothes.. disgusting…
Service: 4 everyone from the desk to the lady doing breakfast are no polite at all..
Location: 3 its 12-14 minutes walking from plaza de armas.. but you may be running so let say 8 minutes, because yoi have to walk in very dark streets with a lot of dark houses and locals .. no, no..
Breakfast: 5 was good, except from the lady that was serving it, that seems she was angry..
Noise: 3 – you can hear the train up to 2am!! Its crazy, it seems its so close.. and upstairs movement when they moved us to the first floor.. you can hear all movement done by the people above you.
Total: 3.3

Room Tip: look for another hotel. period
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Owner at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are very disappointed by this bad review and I’m happy to have the chance to refute this story.

First of all: why go back to a hotel that disgusts you? Nevertheless: these guests added another night to their reservation after their trip to Machu Picchu; perhaps they were not so desperate to go somewhere else after all?

What really happened is the following. These guests arrived very late at night and were noticeably tired and in a bad mood. We reserved one of our best rooms for them. Unfortunately, there was a hair on the bed sheets, which were otherwise perfectly clean. Obviously, it is our fault to not have noticed this detail, for which we apologised and upon which we offered new sheets. However, the guests made a huge deal out of it and insisted on having another room. From then on, the guests were looking for more conflict and every little detail was completely blown out of proportion. Our staff even got the blame for the “train noise”. In reality, the train rails are more than a kilometre away and only if you really pay attention you can hear the trains whistle.

We’re very sorry that these guests chose to go as low as writing this series of demonstrable falsehoods. As can be learned from most other reviews: our staff’s kindness is much appreciated and the cleanliness in our hostel is often mentioned explicitly. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis; we would never dare to offer dirty bed linen to our guests.

It is true that our street is currently being renovated so it’s closed for traffic. This is a nuisance, but hopefully we’ll have a wonderfully renovated street in a month time with spacious sidewalks and elegant streetlights. The new Avenida Arcopata will be a great improvement.

Probably these guests took some detour when walking to the Plaza de Armas. If you walk slowly but directly towards the Plaza, you get there in 10 minutes. In 8 minutes if you walk fast. We’ve measured this several times.

And oh yes: the guests paid $50 per night, not $60; why lie about this too?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made our reservation through the hotel website and it worked perfectly. The hotel staff were wonderful. They were friendly and helpful. Every time we came back, it felt like we were coming home. I would recommend the hotel for the staff alone.

The breakfast was great and the endless supply of hot water and tea was a great touch. The common area is welcome and inviting.

The room felt overpriced for what it was, but I think everything in Cusco is overpriced. We were there with our two kids and had a room with four twin beds. This was pretty common throughout our travels in Peru. Two of the beds were pretty comfortable and two were not. Our room had windows that looked out onto the street. They didn't close well and it was pretty cold. The heater provided didn't provide much heat. The water pressure and temperature fluctuated and was often not adequate for a shower.

The street on the north side of the hotel (Arcopata) was under construction while we were there. They didn't work early or late at night and since the street was closed, we found the hotel to be very quiet. This might change once the street construction is done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanneD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The perfect location to stay while waiting to go to Machu Pichu -- it is close to everything in Cuzco they will pick you up from the airport but you will have to find transportation back to the airport --
Internet was a bit slow -- but I guess, once the staff gets a better router, this issue should be resolved --
You can also book other daily excursions at competitive prices
It may be a little of a walk to the city center (if you dont like to walk) but the charming city makes up for the walk --
There is also a laundry facility that will charge you by the pound; but MAN not even my mother has ever been able to socks so white (SORRY mom)
There are two places to eat around there that were good; as you exit the hotel take a right and go to the end of the street and take a right - the pizza place is VERY small but it is really good, fresh batidos are good the other place is diagonal from the pizza place -- its only open for lunch but man is it good. There is also a mercado around there but unless your stomach is braver than you are are dont eat there. OTHER than that take your time exploring the city its is very charming and the pastries are really good...
at night you can head out by the post office and you will be able to find any music genre for 75 cents. Oh Cabinas to call internationally are behind the hotel

Room Tip: any room you get will be about the same -- clean, comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevenseasandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for five nights before we did the Inka Trail. We liked the room very much. Big and clean and very comfortable. We also used the kitchen a lot and it worked out very well. Great equipment and pretty clean. We booked it through Booking.com when it was discount, 50 percent off and it worked well. So we only paid $22,5 for the first four nights but the last night we had to pay full price which was $45.

Without the discount we think $45 is a lot for us backpackers. Breakfast was not always served so the service was not the best. Also worth saying is that when we paid half the price we were treated differently when we were having breakfast. They forced us to sit inside the kitchen and eat there instead of sitting in the "normal room" where everyone else got their breakfast. So then we stayed there for the last night after the Inka Trail and paid the full price we got to sit in the room with everyone else. Weird and confusing but a thing that we were annoyed by.

We would recommend this place if you can get a discount.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillihappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Owner at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
First of all I'd like to thank you very much for your generally positive review. I would like to comment on the your remarks:

It is not true that breakfast is not always served. Perhaps the guest left early for Machu Picchu or the Inka Trail before breakfast is served or perhaps they left late, after 10:00. When we have few guests, we ask the guests what breakfast they desire before preparing the tables. In any case, we probably missed the guest when they left their room or there was some other coordination error, but breakfast is always served. We're sorry if this may have gone wrong on a certain date.

It is not true that we treat guests differently according to the price they pay. Our staff serving breakfast have no knowledge of who paid 100% and who paid 50% and why would they? It is very unlikely that Antonia and Sonia treat guests differently: everyone is welcome to have the breakfast they desire with us regardless of the price they pay!

It is not true that we forced you to sit inside the kitchen. Perhaps there wasn't room in the patio and we asked you to sit in the kitchen. We often find that people prefer to sit in the kitchen because of the nice atmosphere there. Perhaps this was another misunderstanding with the staff serving breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#65 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#18 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#4 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
1.3 mi away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cusi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cusi Wasi

Property: Hostal Cusi Wasi
Address: Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Cusi Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cusi Wasi! Our rooms have heating, a modern private bathroom, cable-TV, free Wi-Fi and warm water 24 hours a day. Our kitchen is at your disposal, as well as an Internet PC. We offer laundry services and free coffee and (coca leaf) tea. Prices include breakfast, transport from the airport or bus or train station and taxes. We offer first-quality excursions to Machu Picchu and also the Inka Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Cusi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing