We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostal, Super staff, Excellent hotel tours.”
Review of Hostal Cusi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Ranked #31 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for 5 nights. Were met by Francisco at the airport, and had a great welcome from Lilia at the hotel. Rooms are small, but very comfortable, and bathroom is fine. We had a problem with the hot water for a couple of days, but it was sorted out by Francisco. Lovely courtyard in centre of hotel with tea, coco tea and coffee on tap, and breakfast is served here each morning. They organised our tours to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu very well. There are great little restaurants and a neat very small pizza place just around the corner. 10 mins walk into central Cuzco. Loved it, and we were sad to leave. Thanks everybody there for a great stay. Kerry R

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Kerry, thanks a lot for your review. We are very happy that you liked it in Cusi Wasi. It was great to have you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Cusi Wasi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at Cusi Wasi in January 2013, as our base to explore Cusco and where we returned to after completing the Inca Trail.
We arrived to Cusco by bus at 4.30am, much earlier than we´d anticipated. We called the hostel to ask if they could send us a taxi (we werent sure if the ones waiting outside the station were legit). They advised us of which taxis to take, and met us at the door of the hostal, and paid the 10soles expense of the ride for us. Even though their official check in time wasnt until 9am, Francisco let us go straight into our room at 5am to rest.
The double room wasnt huge, but its sufficient. The bed was comfortable, the shower had constant hot water, there were fresh towels and everything was in working order!
The patio and dining areas are very clean and really cosy, nice lighting, good sofas, and with really nice Peruvian decor. It has a really nice energy, a lot of plants, constant hto water to make yourself tea and incense sticks burning at night.
Good coffee.
All of the staff are always smiling who and there to help, we got to know Francisco the best, the poor guy who woke up early for us when we arrived, aswell as when we left for our trip to Machu Picchu. He shared storied with us about his life, and growing up in Peru. Really interesting man.
The hostel let us keep our belongings there over the 3 nights that we spent on the Inca Trail, and were very knowledgable on travel companies to get out of Cusco the day that we left.
We were sad to leave this hostel, it really was the perfect place to spend the night and wake up after spending time in Cusco and the mountains.
Thank You Cusi Wasi for your hospitality. We reccommend you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Natalia, thank you very much for your positive review: we are very glad you had such a good time in our hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My mother and I traveled to Peru over Thanksgiving 2012. I chose to coordinate all of our tours and trips through Hostel Cusi Wasi based on Trip Advisor reviews.

STAFF SUPPORT:
From the get-go, everyone at Cusi Wasi was incredibly helpful and responsive, I received prompt and comprehensive answers to all of my questions over email. My mother and I had not traveled to South America before, and have very little experience coordinating international travel, further we do not speak Spanish. The staff at Cusi Wasi - and our hostels in Puno and Aguas Calientes - made us feel well cared for, welcome, and prepared for all of our travels.

LOCATIONS:
Cusi Wasi is a short 10 min walk from the Plaza de Armas in Cusco, with at least one small climb.

Aguas Calientes hostel was centrally located - the town is so small that everything is basically central.

Totarani in Puno was also 10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas on very busy sidewalks and roads. And a 15 minute walk to the lake/marina

TOURS/RESERVATIONS
I booked tours to Manchu Picchu (2 day), Bus trip to Puno, and a home stay on Lake Titicaca through Hostal Cusi Wasi, and our accommodations in Cusco, Aguas Calientes, Puno, and on Isle Amantani in advance with a small deposit. When we arrived in Cusco, the staff had all of our ticket and reservations prepared for us from train tickets, to hostel reservations, to taxi fare. It was really incredible. Someone was waiting for us at every train station, bus stop, and airport with a sign with our names - even when our train was 2 hours late!

The tours themselves were great too. All of our guides were knowledgable, friendly, and patient. I particularly recommend the bus trip to Puno. Our Manchu Picchu trip was unforgettable.

ACCOMMODATIONS:
Rooms were modest and comfortable, all with hot water and Coca Tea readily available. Cusi Wasi has a cute indoor courtyard. All had highly functioning wi-fi!

Our home stay and boat trip on Lake Titicaca worked our perfectly as well, although I recommend traveling with wet wipes or toilet paper on the islands.

SUMMARY:
We were truly amazed at how seamlessly everything came together. I can't emphasize enough how easy the staff at Cusi Wasi made our travel experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaVana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here almost 2 weeks. It was our home base for exploring Cusco and the neighborhoods. Several trips with highlight of course Machu Picchu. All organized by the friendly people of Cusi Wasi. We did not speak a word Spanish but there is always someone who can speak English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmohrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the Cusi Wasi for 3 nights. We found a really helpful and friendly staff. The hostel is really cosy and clean. Every morning we had a continental breakfast with good & fresh eggs. The location is perfect....around 10 minutes walking for th Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maridau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in the Hostal Cusi Wasi for 3 nights. I was visiting Cusco & Machu picchu. The place is perfect to crash and have a good rest after a busy day visiting. They serve you a continental breakfast.
All my tours were organized by the hostal(Cusco city tour, sacred valley & Machu picchu) all was good and very well organized.
When I arrived they collected me from the airport and served me a coca tea .
Very nice place the people are very friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to cusco.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first time in Peru. When we arrived, we were welcomed by friendly staff, which were all really helpful, willing to go extra mile to provide us with a pleasurable stay, and the recommendations they gave us for food and tours were perfect. The hostel was quiet; the room clean and supplied with everything we needed (hot water, heater, comfortable bed). We booked all our trips to Cuzco, Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca through Cusi Wasi hostel.

Thanks Hostal Cusi Wasi for all your help. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 861GyN861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#20 of 379 in Cusco
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#9 of 379 in Cusco
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Don Bosco Hotel
Don Bosco Hotel
#37 of 379 in Cusco
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
1.1 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#40 of 379 in Cusco
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cusi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cusi Wasi

Address: Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Cusi Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cusi Wasi! Our rooms have heating, a modern private bathroom, cable-TV, free Wi-Fi and warm water 24 hours a day. Our kitchen is at your disposal, as well as an Internet PC. We offer laundry services and free coffee and (coca leaf) tea. Prices include breakfast, all taxes and transport from the airport if you book with us directly. We offer first-quality excursions to Machu Picchu and also the Inka Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Cusi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing