We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”
Review of Ukukus Hostel Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ukukus Hostel Peru
Ranked #35 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very nice new hostel in Cusco which deserves to be more famous among travelers. The staff is very friendly. Great location very close to Cusco's main market and supermarket, and about 500m from the Plaza de Armas.
Nice bathrooms with hot showers.
Good wifi.
And one of the best prices in Cusco.
I thought I'd spend a couple of days, I ended up spending a week!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Erisstoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Ukukus Hostel for several and enjoyed the stay here. Ronny, the owner, speaks English and knows everything about Cusco and trips in the area and gives excellent advise. You can also book trips with him. It's possible to leave the baggage in the Hostel for free.
The showers, bathrooms, the kitchen and the dorms get cleaned every day and are very clean. The Hostel is a little bit outside from the main center but its easy to walk to the Plaza de Armas in 10min.

For that price it was the most pleasent stay I had in Peru.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Fabio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great deal in a save area. We spend 5 nights in this pleasant and clean hostel with good beds and a big kitchen. The hot showers are really welcome in the sometimes cold Cuzco. The staff is really friendly and speaks English. Ronnie, the owner, knows a lot about Cuzco and surroundings and can be hired as a guide. But if you want to plan a trip of your own he is more then happy to help you out. We received a great deal of tips for our trip to Machu Picchu and Huayna Picchu from him.

The service is really amazing! In a hurry I forgot my lucky scarf in the hostel. Ronnie immediately send it to a befriended hostel in Puno where I can pick it up later in the trip. Thank you so much for this!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyMazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Ukukus is a nice and relatively new hostel near the famous San Pedro market. It's not far from Plaza de Armas, within walking distance. The rates are a steal compared to the more expensive hostels in the San Blas area. The rooms are spatious, basic and clean, and the beds are comfortable. The water is gas-heated so that means nice warm showers. There's a nice area upstairs with a kitchen. It could use a little more furniture but Ronnie the owner told us they're working on that.
Speaking about Ronnie, he is what makes this hostel great. He helped us out with planning our machu picchu trip and many other things. He is a honest and sympathetic guy that makes you feel welcome.

I definitely recommend this hostel!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, especially the owner cares a lot and is trustworthy. He organized our trip to Machu Picchu and everything worked out well.
The place is cheap, clean and everything (e.g. hot showers) is working. It is of course not very luxurous.
Beds are quite good, but the only furniture in the dorms.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed in the 6 bed dorm, 2nd floor, spacious, comfortable single beds, but short on power outlets (there are 3, but all on one wall (good for 2 beds only), best to move them to one on each wall between 2 beds) in need of towel hooks also 2 on each wall between 2 beds (over outlets). There is a kitchen with good area and pans, but only a 2 burner stove and no refrigerator at this time. 2 bathrooms on the second floor, 1 boys and the girls is down on the first floor, sorry but I will use whichever is closest.
There is no sign outside the door; the address is for the street that has A1, B2, and so on, they NEED A SIGN.
Bathrooms are nice and have hot water if no one else is using it.
No security lockers to lock you valuables up in.

Room Tip: Rooms are off the street so they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here for two nights - one on each end of a 4 day Machu Picchu trip, and the place was great. What really made it worthwhile was the staff - they were so nice, going out of their way to help rush me off to the airport and overall making me feel very welcome as a guest.

Atmosphere: This is a quiet, clean hostel with a common area for cooking. It's not a gathering place for partying. I'd recommend it for families or couples too although that's not how I stayed.

Location: It's about 10-15 minutes from the central square. Along the way there are many street vendors and the town's central market - a great place to get food or whatever. I felt safe in this location.

Extras: Toilet seats and toilet paper are hard to come by in Peru, but both are there. Great prices on rooms too!

Room Tip: Get a private room at not much more cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Intro Hostels Cusco
Intro Hostels Cusco
#13 of 515 in Cusco
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 515 in Cusco
703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#69 of 398 in Cusco
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kurumi Hostel
Kurumi Hostel
#34 of 515 in Cusco
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#64 of 515 in Cusco
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIP House Hostel
VIP House Hostel
#54 of 515 in Cusco
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ukukus Hostel Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukukus Hostel Peru

Address: Calle Hospital 842 | Interior 04, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $10 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ukukus Hostel embodies the spirit of the "fair and neccesary" Created under the concept of the three "B" Bueno-Bonito & Barato = Good-Nice & super friendly rates with a good quality service and insuperable prices in its category. We are excited to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ukukus Hostel Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing