We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Cusco”
Review of Ukukus Hostel Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ukukus Hostel Peru
Ranked #36 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Haven in Cusco”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here before and after our trek to Machu Pichu and really liked it.
Plusses: comfy beds; really good price; great location only a short walk from the main plaza, a supermarket and the main market; really helpful staff; kitchen facilities; AMAZING showers.
Slight cons: no hooks or tables in the bedrooms to put anything on; not enough furniture in the kitchen/sitting area, there's one tiny table so no room for more than four close friends to eat at any one time; no fridge although it's so cold up there at night we left our food in the kitchen and it was fine (however, beware the cat).
It's a great hostel that only needs a few tiny tweaks to be perfect. I would definitely stay here again but I'd bring a chair :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank weetruffle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    58
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
52
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice staff, they had clean beds and bathrooms, the price was good. The service was excellent and the staff was at our service 24 hours a day. for our trip to MachuPichu the kept our luggage safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there few nights. I liked it there cause i met very nice other travelers. The hostel itself is quite new and therefore miss some furnitures in common area where it is very cold and not pleasant to eat and socialise. Also the kitchen is not well equipped, there is no fridge for exemple... Plus we were never felt welcome by the german owner which seemed annoyed by the mess in the kitchen. She wasnt helpful at all neither regarding information about the area. However her boyfriend knew a lot.
To summarize it is a nice hostel but doesnt deserve at all to be ranked #1 on tripadvisor!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiedoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A really great hostel in all ways. You're only a few minutes away from the Plaza de Armas, and even closer to the big market to buy food. The staff are super friendly and helpful, too. They took a lot of time to help us figure out our trip to Macchu Pichu, a lifesaver since we hit a lot of roadblocks, and gave great advice for Cusco as well. The whole place has a really welcoming atmosphere, and a great sense of community especially in the upstairs kitchen area. I'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a wonderful hostel 2 minutes from the city centre. Ronni and Isabel proved to be fantastic hosts when our family stayed with them and our daughter got sick and needed medical attention.They were also great helping organise tours and organising transport.
Thanks heaps guys for all your help and all the best for the future!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenSouthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Such a warm place to stay at! Our room was PERFECT and everything is so clean! Thx to Rony cuz he helped us with our trip to Machu Picchu! I totally recommend this place! You meet awesome people and of course the manager Rocoto!<3 You would never find such a wonderful place with a nice price ;)
THANKS UKUKUS! :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshi_espinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ukukus is the best choice when you get to Cusco. The couple Isabel and Ronoel did a great job! The place has got a very good location, everything is clean and the colours give it a great atmosphere. Theyr'e both a lot of fun and up for everything. Furthermore they know everything about Cusco and you can do tours with them (thank you for organizing my inka trail!!). Oh - and one more important thing: Both of them can speak English and Isabel aditionally speaks German, it's her mother tongue.

When I get back to Cusco one day Ukukus definitely will be the place I'll stay. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cclaudiaaa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Kurumi Hostel
Kurumi Hostel
#35 of 445 in Cusco
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 445 in Cusco
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intro Hostels Cusco
Intro Hostels Cusco
#17 of 445 in Cusco
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hospedaje Pumacurco
Hospedaje Pumacurco
#231 of 351 in Cusco
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#61 of 351 in Cusco
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 445 in Cusco
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ukukus Hostel Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukukus Hostel Peru

Property: Ukukus Hostel Peru
Address: Calle Hospital 842 | Interior 04, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ukukus Hostel embodies the spirit of the "fair and neccesary" Created under the concept of the three "B" Bueno-Bonito & Barato = Good-Nice & super friendly rates with a good quality service and insuperable prices in its category. We are excited to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ukukus Hostel Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing