We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel! But it need some improvements!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Intro Hostels Cusco
Ranked #16 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hostel! But it need some improvements!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed for almost 20 days in Intro Hostel and we had a great time! The hostel is very clean, the location is good and it is quiet for those who want to have a good sleep!

THE GOOD

- Luis and the staff are very very friendly and they are ready to help you with whatever you need! We stayed for a long time and we had a really good deal regarding the price!
- The common area is nice with a pool table, a space for fire, some computers and a little bar
- The toilets and the room are really clean!
- There is coffee, tea and coca tea for free all day
- Wifi is good but it does not work well in all rooms
- The is a supermarket really close by

THE BAD (Need to improve as it is still new)

- The whole hostel is really cold! The common areas are all outside and you freeze during the night
- The rooms are also very cold! We were warm just when we were staying in a room with heater
- The kitchen is just really bad! It is outside and when it is raining it rains where you are cooking and also in the stove. There are not enough plates, bowls, knifes, boards, etc to cook!! They really need to provide better conditions for those who want to cook, if they offer a kitchen.
- There is just one fridge which you have to share with the bar. In the end there is just one shelf for all guests. It is a real mess and there is no space for everyone. This is another thing that should be improved!
- Showers are really good when they are hot! I had many problems with the water getting pretty cold when i was showering! They were really nice and were trying to find out the problem.

Even though, this is a good option to stay in Cusco!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    57
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
50
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This place is up a hill out of town. They were charging $32 for a tiny double room with a shared bathroom miles from the actual room. It can get really cold in Cusco and my girlfriend was ill so we asked for a heater but despite telling us they would have one for us they didn't have one.

We thought the 'fire pit' might be good but in fact it was a fire in the courtyard that stunk out all the rooms with smoke. Might be okay for dorms but seemed expensive for private rooms.

Staff had a terrible attitude, basically not giving a damn about if we were happy with it. Recommend going elsewhere- Hitchhikers, VIP or Marlons House are all nearer town and nicer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EdG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place. Nice comfortable bed in a dorm style room for only 8 dollars a night. Delicious breakfast included with a really cute shared space with a little firepit and a fun bar area with cheap drinks. They plan events each night as well. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had planned to stay at Intro Hostel for 5 nights and only stayed 1.

Pros:
-Great common areas
-Really nice bathrooms (1 for females, 1 for males, and 1 mixed). All with multiple stalls and showers. Very clean.
-Fun activities planned each night
-Standard breakfast with 1 fried egg, 2 pieces of bread and then tea and coffee.

Cons:
-All the rooms open onto the common areas which means if people are up - you'll be up. They told us the bar closes at 12p but it finally winded down around 1a. Not cool after a long day of travel. Ear plugs weren't enough.
-The house was nicely finished but an old house means creaky floors so if someone is walking around you'll hear them. Same goes with the walls in the private rooms: the walls are really thin and you'll hear everything next door.
-The bed is one of the most uncomfortable we have slept in. Cheap mattress and flat pillows.

All in all, if you don't go to bed before 1a and don't care for the comfort of your bed, you will love it here. They have put a lot of thought into making the common areas really cool and having fun, chill activities. Unfortunately for us, and maybe we are just getting old, we like our sleep and prefer it to be in a bed that isn't like sleeping on a cheap air mattress that is broken.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EricAndSarahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Intro Hostel was fantastic. We were supposed to be traveling in a group of six, but last-minute itinerary changes and flight cancellations meant that only 3 of us made it, and only ended up staying for one of the two nights we had booked. Intro Hostel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, happily storing our luggage for us for the night while we went to Machu Picchu, and helping us book taxis to and from the train and airport. The dorms were nice and clean, with comfortable beds, and the bathrooms were clean as well. The hostel is also beautiful, arranged around a courtyard with a fountain and firepit. The location was close to the main plazas and easy to walk around. I would definitely stay here again, and hope to do so one day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very clean, great staff, great value for money, definitely a place I'd go back to! The owner Marcial was very nice to us, very funny guy. Great location, close to the main square in a very cool area. Recommended for all travelers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a new hostel (they opened it two months ago) and i never ever found a hostel with coocking lessons, Luis is an awesome cheff. Now i know how to make the peruvian Aji de gallina and Lomo saltado, I almost forgot: Beds and showers were incredibles after 5 days hiking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 167 in Cusco
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 454 in Cusco
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intro Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intro Hostels Cusco

Property: Intro Hostels Cusco
Address: Cuesta Santa Ana 515, Cusco 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Intro Hostels Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 300 years old mansion has been recently renovated under eco-friendly standards to accomplish the perfect mix of design and comfort for our guests. We are located in the historic center of Cusco, just blocks from the main square and really close to everything this astonishing city has to offer. Intro Hostels Cusco wants to cater to the most demanding traveler. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Intro Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing