We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great experience very accommodating location also a great service and staff..breakfast was great..coca tea was very helpful for acclimating and it's self serve.. Very clean rooms..would highly recommend this place.. Would go back here again..

Room Tip: If you want wi-fi stay close to the lobby area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjsa8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    254
    68
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
323
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed longer than usually planned at this hotel due to the altitude sickness we were suffering from. The rooms are comfortable and huge and were clean every day again. Besides, we never felt unsecure about our belongings. The best part is the staff, they are amazing. We had a bunch if questions, like where to eat best around the hotel, where to eat a but further, best tour operator for inca trail, how to get to the bus that goes to xy etc. etc.
They always provided the best information, we ate at great but not touristy places and were recommended a tour operator that totally convinced us. They also offered to call a doctor for our health issues, stored our luggage while traveling etc.
It felt like home to us, which, if you are sick on holidays matters most. Besides, the hotel is located beautifully in San Blas, right in the buz of town, but it is very quiet in the rooms and backyards....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Liked our stay in Hostal Amaru. I had altitude sickness during most of my stay here and their staff was very helpful to us. They also gave me free coca tea to help alleviate my sickness.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The best part is their location in San Blas. Just a stone's throw away from all little art and craft shops, not far away from the main plaza in Cuzco.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiSMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Amaru Hostal I for 2 nights and were very happy with their service, rooms. Hostal is nestled a few blocks from Plaza de Aramas and few minutes away from San Blas Market. Has a nice decor, spacious & clean rooms. Front desk folks spoke good English and were very helpful. We were able to arrange taxi for a tour that we had planned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent several nights here in this hotel, the decor and furniture in the rooms is a bit tired but given that it is a packers hotel it is not bad, it is central so the market and restaurants are all close by, the breakfast is also not bad, all in all not a bad place to stay for $55 a night

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovenready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We found out about this hotel through tripadvsiro and walked into Amaru Hostal without a reservation.

We were given a room for $55 (we only wanted to stay 1 night) and were attended to very well. Their staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great. The room was very clean and comfortable. Their courtyard is darling.

The best part is their location in San Blas. Just a stone's throw away from all the best little art and craft shops. Not far away from the main plaza in Cuzco. I would say a 5 minute walk.

Definitely stay here if you can!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annavviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent stay for 3 nights. Room was clean and spacious. Good breakfast and very helpful staff. A quick walk to the plaza and restaurants. Free use of computer on second floor. Free pickup from airport and nice sitting areas in the hotel.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cxzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
17.5 mi away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#16 of 25 in Urubamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Property: Amaru Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing