We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large, Clean Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Luck Hill, Tortola
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large, Clean Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Due to scheduling problems, my husband and I ended up staying at three different hotels in Cusco, all in the San Blas neighborhood, and all in the same price range $55-60 per night. Of the three, the rooms in Amaru were definitely our favorite. Monastery-style furnishings provided plenty of places to stow our stuff, and the bed was definitely the most comfortable we had in Cusco, with extra pillows provided upon request. The bathroom was also the best by far, recently remodeled with new fixtures and a large shower, for which my 6'5" husband was extra-grateful.

The only downsides for us were the additional $3 per night for a space heater, an amenity that was included in most of our other accommodations throughout Peru, and the less-than-friendly service at the front desk. Service was still good and competent, but in a country where the friendliness of the people was the most memorable aspect, Amaru staff didn't quite live up to the rest.

Overall, a highly recommended accommodation in the heart of Cusco.

Room Tip: 2nd story room was quiet until housekeeping service began around 8:00am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lale0naen0jada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    255
    69
    23
    14
See reviews for
121
326
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights total (1 before Machu Picchu and 2 after), and were lucky to get the penthouse room for all 3 (I think room #24?). We were considering other hotels closer to the main square for about $100 a night but I'm glad we chose this place instead.

PROS
- Great location. Just a 5 minute walk from the main square. Others mentioned that it was an uphill walk but honestly it only starts turning uphill towards the very end 1/2 block - the rest is mostly flat or just a slight slope that isn't bad at all. The San Blas area is quite charming and has restaurants, shops, etc.
- Cheap. We paid $60/night.
- Nice staff. The staff was both helpful and very friendly to us.
- Clean. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean.
- Penthouse room was spacious and had great views. There were 2 beds - 1 single, 1 double/queen as well as a little chair/sitting area in the corner. Lots of windows offering great views both in the day and night. No idea how other rooms compare.
- Free breakfast was fruit with yoghurt and cereal grains on top (tasty) + your choice of eggs.
- We didn't have any issue with noise from other rooms but maybe the ground floor rooms are worse?
- Free coca tea. And you can buy bottled water from the front desk (small or big bottles) at a decent price which was convenient.

CONS
- For the penthouse room, be aware that there are some steep stairs to get up to the room after going through the front door. Gets a little tricky with luggage but the staff helped us with luggage most of the time and I'm sure they would help if you asked.
- Can get a little cold in the rooms if it's a chilly night. You need to pay $3 a night extra for a small space heater which only works OK. We only had 1 night where we really needed the heater and took the covers from the other bed as well. The other 2 nights were OK without a heater but the weather was only mild.

We did also use their laundry service which was an OK price and convenient.

All in all i would definitely stay here again but would of course request the penthouse room since I'm assuming it's one of the nicer ones.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereugoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a very nice stay here. Great location and staff, combined with no problems and warm beds make it an A+ in my book! The courtyards are very pleasant and plenty of coca tea make its nice to spend time outside. The breakfast is tasty as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtterWynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Here is my review, I staid 3 nights there in 2 different single rooms :
++ Convenient location very close to Plaza de armas, cathedral, restaurants, etc
++ Convenient to book the room in advance, possible to book through internet
+ Free pick up at the airport
+ Nice garden, breakfast included in the price
+ Clean room, comfortable bed, nice furniture
- Room noisy (rooms at the ground floor), difficult to have a full night even with hear plugs :(
- Quite expensive in the end
- Pick up free from the airport only, don't expect a free pick from the train station
-- People at the front desk helpful but not "very nice"..a smile from time to time would be welcome

Room Tip: 1st floor should be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night here. The hotel arranged someone to meet me at the airport which was comforting.

Our room was clean and orderly. There is no heat and hot water only in the shower (pressure could've been better). The room also had a small LCD tv for viewing.

The hotel is in a lovely garden setting. Wifi in our room was extremely weak so I often didn't bother. The hotel's computer shuts down at 10pm for some reason. There's a short walk up a steep staircase to get to the hotel. It's not very long but it felt so high up on the hill with my altitude sickness!! I am pretty fit and I was heavy breathing only after a few steps! Locations is only a few blocks away from the Plaza de Armas though so if you can get over altitude sickness, this place should be on for you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here before and after our trip on the Inca Trail. The place was exactly like it was pictured. My only two complaints were that the rooms were not heated. Apparently this is standard, but I was not aware of it. You can rent a heater, but in truth we didn't because we did not get too cold. We also had a problem with the hot water in our second room, but we were able to switch to another without any problem. For the money, I think it is reasonable. The location is good, expect for a slight hill that you have to climb. The climb up is not the problem, rather the downing down is. The sidewalk is incredibly slick and at some point everyone in our party almost hit the deck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

These people do not know what hospitality means. My family and I had just arrived to Cusco and just wanted to rest and adjust to the altitude in our room, and for a straight week they were doing construction right outside our room ALL day and even after sunset. They were still adding things to our room while we were in there. It was the loudest, noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. Not relaxing at all. I couldn't even ask them to boil hot water to make my own tea. All they care about is scrubbing the floors here. I asked them to reboot the internet for me and they wouldn't do that either. The worst of all, which is probably the most concerning to you.. they gave us back a fake s./100 in our deposit. We did not realize until the day later when we tried to use it, and when we returned to complain the woman at the desk accused us of threatening her. Please, what business does not check their bills? I would not support them ever again.

Room Tip: Just don't even go here. I recommend Andean South just down the street, near San Blas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
17.5 mi away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#16 of 25 in Urubamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Property: Amaru Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing