We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location for Cusco.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco
Ranked #45 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Why did I like this hotel ? Well, first of all, you are right at the bottom of Avenida del Sol which is chock full of market places, stores, and restaurants. You just walk up this avenue and you will be in the main square in about 20-25 minutes. It's a great walk to get some exercise and see Cusco. Well, gettin' back to the Jose Antonio. Our room was nice and cozy. Unlike the one in Lima, this one has heat. Cusco can be cold-( I ended up buying an alpaca sweater and scarf there). The main lobby has a fireplace and a table offering nice hot coca tea which is good for altitude adjustment. The decor in the lobby is an exotic Andean and Spanish colonial mix. There are statues of Catholic saints including the Patron Saint of South America, St. Rose of Lima. They even offer each guest 10 minutes of free oxygen should you need it. You sit in a chair and take a deep breath !!!!The breakfast buffet was super !!! It's the only one I have ever been to that has coca leaves as one of the entrees. The view in the back of our room was of the olive-brown colored mountains and one snow covered peak. The front rooms have a view of the mountains and the Christ statue of Cusco lit up with blue flood lights at night. You will love this hotel and really feel the exoticness of Cusco and the Ibero-Incan culture here !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joedigrazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 565 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We thought it would be noisy given its main street location, but it is well insulated and thus quiet. Breakfasts are predictable though the fruit is better than average. Liked the availability of coca tea and the front desk was busy and usually helpful. The distance to the plaza may be a drawback, but it is just across the street from a large craft market.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was traveling alone on this trip to Cusco and I have to say that the Jose Antonio in Cusco was perfect. They have the most comfortable beds and warm, warm alpaca blankets beneath crisply pressed duvet covers. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pathogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

t’s at least 15 minutes walk (uphill)– to the Plaza de Armes and the historical centre of Cusco, i.e. is on the fringe of the area. And while not a steep, it can be a bit of a struggle when dealing with the breathlessness of this altitude (and cold).

It is however located just across the road from the Waichan railway station (Puno/Cusco train) which is where the buses leave (very early) to Machu Picchu.

The hotel is clean and comfortable with great beds. Breakfast was average. And wi fi was a bit erratic.

On the first night our room had no hot water, which staff appeared not to think was a problem. At one stage we were told it was the same system throughout the hotel – even though we saw maintenance check the boiler/or thermostat in our room – and that no other guests had complained. This was only resolved the next day when we asked to speak to the manager and when he was not available, when we asked the hotel to contact our travel company. It transpired that the room system was faulty and that a replacement part was unavailable. Subsequently we were moved to another, bigger room with a sitting area. To the hotel’s credit, when we returned from a night in Aguas Calientes they gain put us in a larger room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoJo_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is located about 15 mins walk to the center of Cusco. It is a nice hotel, they offer you coco tea upon arrival and its available whenever in the lobby. Staff is professional. Breakfast was included and is a nice spread, large dining area. There is a complimentary drink ticket for the bar when you arrive (we didn't have time to use).

The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a room with king size bed, which was comfortable and the pillows nice and fluffy. There is a room safe.

The only complaint is that while we had an amazing view of the city and hills, it is located on a busy street and the honking and traffic starts early. Otherwise, was a comfortable stay (just 1 night).

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, you might ask for a room that doesn't face the main blvd.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel with good facilities and within a short walk of the main squares of Cusco. Unfortunately it is used by a lot of people on short visits either leaving early or getting back late. Due to the thin walls the banging and crashing of leaving visitors make sleep difficult. If doors had pads fitted to stop them banging I would recommend to others. I stayed four nights and the breakfast ranged from good to indifferent.

Facilities were good and included free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. Good breakfast. Easy access to tourist attractions off av. Del Sol. I would recommend staying here. Very close to Quorikancha. Friendly staff. Good beds and pillows, plenty of hot water. (Which has not been my experience in other parts of peru).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crysrae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.0 mi away
Eco Inn Cusco
Eco Inn Cusco
#33 of 170 in Cusco
1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 170 in Cusco
3,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#50 of 170 in Cusco
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#16 of 28 in Urubamba
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#62 of 170 in Cusco
247 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco

Address: Av. Pardo 1080, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $92 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Antonio Cusco
Jose Antonio Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing