We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- take ear plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Agustin International Hotel
Ranked #49 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel was organised for us through Llama travel. It has a great location, only a 5 min walk from the main plaza. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though could be very noisy due to suitcases in the hall and some inconsiderate guests (Room 268 was especially noisy as it has a balcony in the main loby)
Breakfast was an experience, open from 4.30-10, the later you get there the less there is (even down to cutlery) The morning of the inca trail, we had a few people come down with a gastro bug (including my partner) that seemed to be linked back to breakfast, so beware of the hot food, especially if you are arriving late.
Good laundry service nextdoor to the hotel, this is much cheaper than the hotel, esp. when returning from the jungle or the trek. Meal wise had some great dinners in the main plaza, try the alpaca and guinea pig at Mama Kila's

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMFWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

i really enjoyed to stay in this hotel, since it has its particular style, and it's really charming. Near to the good spots, and lovely, really good rooms, and cozy. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luizaqueroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is not the San Augustin Eldorado I believe some people have give good reviews for San Augustin Eldorado but it has been given to San Agustin International.
This hotel if you can call it that is just appalling there are know carpet runners and all you can hear is wheeled cases being taken to rooms day and night,We were here for 7 days and never was it quiet.Also the front door is left open and the pollution that is outside which is very bad with a constant stream of heavy traffic enters the lobby and restaurant plus upstairs and under the door we put bath towels down but we were quite ill with the pollution,
Breakfast is useless you will be lucky if you can get a knife and fork together, but you will not need it as there will not be enough food to eat ,not one member of staff spoke to us apart from the maid cleaning our room who was very nice.This Hotel must be a minus 5 star,the worst hotel we have stayed in and we have traveled all around the world.STAY here at your peril.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroledean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

A very nice hotel conveniently based for exploring Central Cusco. The hotel itself has a “pueblo” feel to it with whitewashed walls and tiled floors. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and leaving your luggage here if you’re going off to Macchu Pichu is not a worry. Unfortunately the safe in my room didn’t work but I didn’t want to move so managed with locking my valuables away in my suitcase which was fine.

The room was nice and light with large windows, overlooking the back of the hotel which meant it was away from the traffic noise. I was at the end of a corridor so found my whole stay very peaceful although other guests did complain about the noise of suitcases being dragged along corridors at all hours of the day and night because of it being a base for coming and going to Macchu Pichu. The room and bathroom were clean, bright and tidy with satellite TV, fridge and hairdryer. No tea or coffee making facilities. Great shower with plenty of hot water and toiletries provided. Decent towels and good sheets. Extra blankets needed as Cusco gets very cold at night.

The breakfast buffet was very good but if you’re not an early riser things started to run out around 8am, including cutlery and china. The fresh fruit was really good and the rice pudding is so creamy, it’s delicious, though I’m sure very fattening! Plenty of breads and pastries to choose from as well as hot food such as eggs, fish and meat. The coffee was awful, undrinkable. They provided instant decaff which was better than no coffee at all but I stuck to the Coca tea to try to combat the awful altitude sickness which plagued me most of my time in Cusco. I didn’t try the restaurant in the evening but did have lunch there – a ham and cheese sandwich with chips which was fine but probably 4 times the cost of anywhere else. Don’t buy bottled water in the hotel, they charged 5 Soles for half a litre. If you go to the little shop next door (turn left out of the hotel) you can by a 2 litre bottle for 2 ½ Soles. The hotel laundry facility is also expensive. If you’ve been to the jungle or Macchu Pichu you’ll need to get some washing done(!), take it to the shop next door. They charge by the kilo and I bartered it down to 5 Soles a kilo which is about £1.25! It was all done and back the next day.

There are 2 PCs with free internet access in the reception area.

Turning left out of the hotel if you cross the road and take the first alley way on the right hand side after the bank this takes you straight to the main square which is delightful, especially when lit up at night. Cusco has a lovely, Mediterranean feel to it due to the terracotta tiled roofs and the whitewashed walls but this is mixed with the original Inca stone foundations on some buildings and the cobblestone alleyways, which give this place its totally unique atmosphere. The ornately carved original Spanish balconies of the restaurants overlooking the main square make dining there in the evening a must. We tried the Alpaca at Mama Killa’s – delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pumpernickelYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

tTavelled with a tour company after visiting Lima. Arrived at the 'San Agustin' and was made to feel very welcome by the check-in staff. 'Coco tea' on tap (much needed for the altitude) in the spacious dining area.
Lovely, quirky inside areas. Spacious rooms, unfortunately we had to move as ours was positioned over the laundry and very noisy at night. The new room overlooked a visitors area complete with Llama&Alpacca - fab! Windows very draughty - chilly in autumn/winter, rooms do have mini heaters insitu and beds have plenty of blankets.
Buffet breakfast has lots of choice complete with 'local' dishes. The 'light' chicken soup is great in the evenings for when you loose your appetite!
Free internet - 2 pc's insitu.
Well located for both of the town squares and many historical sights. Don Thomas restuarant is a great place to eat, great staff with a free 'pisco sour'. Bar/nightclub over the road if you have the energy!
If you stay here - enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Well-situated and with incredibly friendly and helpful staff, we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfasts were excellent and the lobby area is lovely. Because there are constant toings and goings as trekkers and day-trippers arrive and depart from about 4.00am onwards, sleep can be disturbed as cases are wheeled along the tiled corridors.
Cocoa leaf tea is always available [free] - get it down in the mornings as it did seem to help with the altitude, but leave it alone in the evenings or you'll never get to sleep. Breakfasts are available from about 4.00, to cater for the early departures.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel-Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel was wonderful, comfortable and very accomodating. It's not the lap of luxury, but you don't really need that. For me, I just wanted a nice, clean, comfortable and relaxing place to stay and I found that here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#59 of 173 in Cusco
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#46 of 173 in Cusco
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.4 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#36 of 173 in Cusco
431 reviews
17 mi away
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin International Hotel

Address: Maruri 390, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Agustin International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Agustin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin International Cusco
Hotel San Agustin International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing