We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to get a good sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Ranked #12 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Quite noisy, to be honest: doors are thin and even leave gaps once closed, and thay all direct to a common area, wich means u hear everything thats going on out there at the hostel. Toilets and showers are mixed for both genders, so u have to get your clothes off and on, in the shower... Quite uncomfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ekaterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Ekaterina ,

Thank you for your comment about the Dragonfly Hostels.
After our internal investigation (we keep records your reservations) and it appears you stayed in a room on the 2nd floor with view on the patio like all our room but we always close the bar at 10.30pm and turn off the light at 11pm in order to limit the noise.

I ‘ve also seen you stayed in an other hostel and this one is more a party hostels. Say to us it’s noisy seems to be hypocrite; Also as you can see on our tripadvisor page approx 80 people don’t really agree with you but I understand that everybody have different opinion and we respect it.

About the showers, we understand it can be uncomfortable to have a mixt one, after you stay in our hostel we decided to changed it and we have now male and female showers, same for the toilets.

Your boyfriend Christian mention also the following point :

-"poor breakfast" : It’s a free Breackfast, not included on your rooms if you want more as you want you can take it in other place and paid it for and we can show you the best place for that.
-"Noise about the games in the patio" : You review is a little bit weird because at 11pm all the game are closed and nobody can, play until 9am.

After seeing the review of Christian concerning our direct competitors, I have serious doubts about your honesty

Best regards, Julian Manager of Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 429 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dragonfly Cusco, is a great place to go if you are looking for a clean,reassonably priced, and relaxed hostel.
Nice and clean facilities, a welcoming staff.
Coming from "the Wild Rover" with naked people running around screaming untill 4 AM, Dragonfly
fulfills everything you need from a hostel :)

Room Tip: book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Camilla,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor and thank you for your visit; we were happy to receive you at the Dragonfly hostels,

It is always so nice to get different opinions from all over the world. It’s nice to read you review and I appreciate you enjoyed our hostels and our staff.

Hope to see you again in Cusco

My very best regards to both of you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Such a good stay in Dragonfly Cusco.
All the staff is really helpfull and friendly.
My room was clean. Toilets and showers also.
It offers lot of services: breakfast, laundry, wi-fi, tours...The hostel is well situated, at only 3 mins of the main square by walking!
An event each day in the patio: Barbecue, handrafted beer degustation (great beer and great burgers). Good atmosphere and it's not noisy. It's easy to meet and share with other backpackers.
I recommend this hostel. Great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Dan,

We are so pleased to know that your Dragonfly experience was a pleasure; Thanks for your visit and thank you for your nice comments about us. Our goal is to please people by providing clean and spacious rooms and public area with pleasurable services; your comment proves to us that we have succeeded.

We hope that one day you pass by Cusco and we will have again a pleasure to host you again.

Kindly regards and have a nice travel around the world Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Pros: My bro and I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights. We came in late because of flight delays and after asking about tours we were immediately whisked off to a city tour. The tour was more than we expected, we visited 5 sites and at the end a little exhausted. In the end it all worked out, the receptionist Yenny and Grace made our stay enjoyable providing us with space heater. There's continental breakfast which is bread, butter, jam and cocoa tea all free and you make your own. Internet all over the hostel so we were online checking out restaurants etc. for breakfast I recommend Jacks Cafe it's one block north of Plaza Mayor - amazing American breakfast with a Peruvian touch.

Cons: Mattresses were too hard and the soft one had a sink hole.

Overall a great place to stay near Plaza Mayor, restaurants, ATM's and bars/nightlife

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirlrgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Ruth and Mernel,

It’s a pleasure to read your comments about the Dragonfly Hostels Cusco. Thank you and thank you for you visit in our backpackers

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the city tour with us. Our job is to please our guest and make you stay enjoyable as possible.

Take care and have a nice travel in south of America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at Dragonfly in Cusco as we had stayed at their hostel in Lima. They were both good, clean hostels with friendly staff in a good location. We especially enjoyed the Choripan (chorizo sandwich) which they did a few nights a week for 5 sol.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquihawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Jacquie,

Thanks for you comments; As you say in your review we offer are our traveller a space where he can have a great moment in Peru with welcoming atmosphere with our staff all time here to help you to find the best trick of our country.

It’s a pleasure to hear you loved our Choripan, we hope you will come back to try our new Burger.

Have a safety travel, take care team of Dragonfly Hostels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

checking in and out several times for in total 22 nights within 5 week, i consider dragonfly my home in cuzco¡
warm showers, a sometimes chilly courtyard, dragonfly beer, good company and travellers, nice rooms, clean, simple breakfast, great location AND wonderful staff creating a nice atmosphere, i would recommend it to everyone.
it's a good homebase and place to discover cuzco and it's lovely surroundings.

i just wonder whether they already had a peruvian raclette?
thanks dragonfly,
r

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ra_elle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hey Rachelle,

We are a real enjoyment to see your review, and also to had you like a guest in our backpackers.

Your completly catch the atmosphere of the Dragonfly hostels (good atmosphere between the traveler with the good balance of chill out and fun) with our favorite beer « Dragon Beer ».

We improved everyday our hostels to have good facilities for our guest like you said (good and hot shower 24h/24h-clean and spacious room)

And sorry to disapointing you Rachelle but the raclette coming at the begin of May but all the staff of the Dragonfly hope to see you again to try it together.

Have a safety travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Anyplace with a zen manager like Julian is destined to rock.
The tone is right..great crew.
A polite party.
Polite but firm.
Safe. Well run.
Kitchen,movie room,inner courtyard,private bathrooms available.
Close to Plaza de Armas

Room Tip: Solo rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zak g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Mister Zack,

Thanks a lot for your message all the staff remember your kindness and the good vibes you bring at the Dragonfly hostels. As you said in your review we try to make the balance between chill out and party, to make everyone happy.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 512 in Cusco
1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 512 in Cusco
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 512 in Cusco
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 512 in Cusco
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#3 of 512 in Cusco
1,707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 512 in Cusco
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Address: Calle Siete Cuartones 245, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Hostels offer unique ambiance in the historical district of Cusco and is located only 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Enjoy your stay in an authentic colonial house with great facilities at affordable prices. Enjoy our barbecue nights around the bar. Discover our microbrewery and try our brew of the month. Welcoming staff 24h/7, Free WiFi and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Dragonfly Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing