We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fabulous!”
Review of El Mercado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mercado
Ranked #19 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Probably one of the finest boutique hotels we've had the pleasure of using. Located in a quiet street, but just a few minutes walk from the main Squares of central Cusco. Rooms were very spacious, thoughtfully decorated and fitted out to a very high quality. Probably the best shower of all our time in Peru! We particularly liked the central courtyard area, where we kicked back on a couple of occasions enjoying a drink and reading in the late afternoon - really atmospheric...we thought it had something of a Moroccan feel to it. Staff were unfailingly helpful and polite. I couldn't fault the buffet breakfast, but a lot of what was on offer wasn't quite to our taste. However, the freshly made smoothie station was a really nice touch and the omelettes were scrummy! We had a bit of a problem with the arrangements for our airport transfer at the end of the trip (no fault of the hotel's, I should add), but the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful in getting on the phone and sorting it all out for us. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 545 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

In our first trip to Peru, we went to Cusco and stayed in the El Mercado hotel! SO close to the main square and when we walked in the courtyard, it was so relaxing, sunny sky with puffy white clouds! Very comfy. Then when we went to our rooms - OMG! Outstanding! Loved the art in the halls and in the rooms. Lots of room, separate space for sink, shower and toilet (GREAT for more than one person!). And the staff were so kind and helpful! I LOVED this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo-Cincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband decided on the spur of the moment to travel to Cusco from June 21 - 23 and although we were looking at a ´fancier´ 5 star hotel, I came across this little gem. Lucky for us! This small, boutique hotel has the type of ambience that relaxes guests before and after tours, walking, etc. As soon as you walk through the doors, you feel transported to a cozy environment with first rate decor and service. You won´t feel closed in because of the lovely patio with the open air ceiling that allows you to enjoy the stars while sitting around the center fire pit at night, or you can sit under the sun umbrellas in the sun before heading out for the day. The restaurant is small and has a limited menu (no soups?) but the food is very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is in another room ´the happy room´ and the decor by itself really invites you in. Breakfast is buffet style and you can also ask for eggs (many varieties) and crepes with many toppings. There is a fresh juice lady ¨Nadia´ who can mix up any combination you like. On the early morning when we went to Macchu Pichu, the hotel arranged a ´breakfast in a bag´ for us to take along. Our room was the basic, superior but with a king bed which was HUGE and the linen was divine. The walls have radiant heat and we never felt cold even though it got down to 1 C at night. There were chocolated by our bed at night and my pijamas were even folded and left on my side of the bed! Indeed, this was one of the most comfortable rooms we have stayed in in many hotels. If you are given a room off the main patio, it is very quiet. Oh, the shower! No shortage of hot water, rain shower head and organic shampoo and soap amenities. Thank you also for providing 2 bottle of free water each day; something the ´bigger and better´ hotels charge for. If we return to Cusco, we won´t even think of staying any other place than here! Why bother? Many thanks to the wonderful, serviceable staff. Loved it! the photos posted on the hotel website are very accurate! One more thing, if you are going to the Sacred Valley, visit the animal refuge center (not promoted, run by volunteers) that rescues condors and other animals and then releases them back into their environment. You can enter a ´cage´ with the condors and watch them fly over your head. Beautiful birds!

Room Tip: rooms off the main patio are probably quieter. There is an elevator for the upper floors. I would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We arrived at this hotel late having completed the Inca trail. The welcome was warm and the waiting staff stayed late in the restaurant to allow us to finish our meal. There was a little issue with the wine we ordered twice being corked, but without our invitation for them to do so the waiting staff offered us free desert to make up for it, which was a nice gesture. The room was very comfortable and the bed huge. Breakfast was good, though like the previous reviewer it wasn't immediately obvious to us where to find things like juice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank llyurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here only 1 night but totally loved our experience here. So glad we decided to not go with a big chain hotel and take the chance with a independent one. the manager Alex is great, and easily answered our 300 questions with patience. These are the top things about the hotel that stood out for me :

a. Attention to detail : Great linen/bed, organic cosmetics, built in wall heating, modern room and appliances
b. Great food. We had the best breakfast and lunch here
c. 5-8 walking from the main square
d. the staff is really attentive and we got great suggestions of places to eat and visit

Room Tip: if you can afford get the suite, it is fantastic with its own little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights after visiting the Sacred Valley and Macchu Picchu and we definitely chose a great hotel. We found the hotel very clean, the staff excellent, it is in a quite p location so it was perfect. It is a five minute walk to the main square where there is a variety of restaurants. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh juices and a great selection of food on the buffet and from the kitchen. There is a lovely outdoor recreation area which is a real treat. We left very early to catch a plane to Lima and found two beautiful 'take away' boxes with our breakfast waiting with the concierge. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel recommended the Inca Spa for a massage after our trip to Macchu Picchu. It was the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

So a little about us, we are thirty something professionals living in London.

We had a very enjoyable stay here. The location is excellent - being just a 5 min walk to the main square.

This hotel is Very very nicely finished - decor was superb! Very funky and great place to come back to after a days sightseeing.

The breakfast is a little confused for a English traveller. We struggled to find things we could eat. But they have a great juice
bar and do a great scrabbled eggs. The staff can be a bit hit and miss - some amazing, really thoughtful and others not so much. The staff at breakfast arent necessarily that friendly or seem that happy to be there.

On the last day (after we returned to the hotel after the inka trail) my husband had a severe stomach bug. I asked the restaurant for a piece of toast as that's literally all he could stomach. The reply was I'm sorry the kitchen is closed. It's being cleaned. I think they could sense my frustration at this. I then had to walk to the supermarket to buy some bread for him to eat like that. If a guest is ill then I would have expected a hotel of this type to be more helpful than to say I'm sorry the kitchen is closed. I was offered a complimentary drink afterwards but it was a little bit too late at that point and I would have just preferred some toast and some care towards a guest who was unwell.

If we hadn't had this bad experience at the end then I would be raving about this place. As long as you don't get ill you will have a great stay!!!

I should also say we were on honeymoon in Peru and used Audley Travel to organise the trip. We could not recommend this travel comp enough. 5 star service!

I hope this helps!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceML P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Let me express our appreciation for choosing El Mercado, as a destination during your stay in our city. Please accept my gratitude for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments through the Trip Advisor website.

We do regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us and wish to deeply apologize for that. Your useful comments have been duly reported to the appropriate Managers for immediate corrective actions.

We really hope you kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience; definitely it is not the concept and level of service we wish our guests take with them

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Best regards,

El Mercado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 173 in Cusco
1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 173 in Cusco
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mercado

Address: Calle 7 Cuartones 306, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $143 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Mercado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and welcoming El Mercado is located three and a half blocks from the main square of Cusco. Formerly part of the old farmer’s market, El Mercado has been designed to incorporate some of the element of the market, both in its original decor, friendly casual atmosphere and innovative cuisine. With only 32 rooms, El Mercado provides the best of colonial and contemporary architecture, all the latest comforts and truly exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Mercado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing