We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They make you feel like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman
Ranked #77 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They make you feel like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Excelent price/value. High quality rooms and related stuff.
We spent our family vacation at Wyndham, 5 nights in very comfortable beds.
Anything you need, you ask for it and they will get it for you.
Very gentle sraff, and very concerned about your needs.
World first class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diegoslozada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
44
60
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent eight nights at the Wyndham (2 adults and two young children) in July this year. We booked via a consolidator on the internet and got a very good rate for the hotel. We did not check it out prior and just took our chances.

The hotel is 5 to 10 minutes by taxi from the historic centre of Cusco. It is perched on the side of a hill in amongst many little somewhat ramshackle houses so typical of many Peruvian (South American) towns. It has tremendous views over the city. The taxi fare to the centre is 5 to 7 soles. ($2-$3). It is impeccably clean with nice rooms and a perfectly acceptable restaurant. The breakfast buffet provided us with everything we needed. We loved the selection of hot teas freely available on tap 24 hours a day in the lobby.

We read the tripadvisor reviews once we arrived at the hotel and generally they are all good. Some people thought that the hotel was too out of the way and one review found the neighbourhood it is in somewhat disconcerting. I under these concerns but from our perspective and bearing in mind what we paid for the hotel neither was at all an issue for us.

We walked to the centre on a couple of occasions (20minutes) and talked to a few of the locals on the way who were drying various seeds and pulses outside their houses. All very friendly and felt totally safe. On two occasions taxi drivers were not sure where the hotel was located but with the hotel card in your pocket with a location map printed on the back this was not an issue. There is a small square in the neighbourhood a few blocks lower down the hill from the hotel (4minutes walk) called Plaza Espana. There is a artisans jewellers workshop there called AMA in unit E3. Does not look much from the outside but go in and watch the guys making jewellery and then shop at reasonable prices in their impressive showrooms not visible from the road.

As for the hotel staff, we cannot speak more highly of the general manager Sandeep Gaonkar. He was so incredibly friendly and helpful in booking taxis, arranging and advising on day trips and providing us we very sound advice and any other assistance that we needed. (His wife is from Cusco and he has great local and regional knowledge). He is particularly keen to ensure that his guests do not get fleeced by unscrupulous taxi drivers or tour operators). His team were very polite,friendly and attentive to any needs that you might have.

There are undoubtedly numerous other hotels in Cusco nearer the centre which are equally as good but which will be more expensive. We have no hesitation in recommending a stay at this Wyndham Hotel... Hopefully Sandeep will be there to look after you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the town. The view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is exceptionally clean and comfortable. All the staff are very welcoming. We thought Caio was one of the best waiters we have ever encountered on our travels. Amazing views from the dining room, especially at night. Food was great as well. Even though it is not in the city center, they make the commute very easy because they have hotel taxi readily available at very affordable rates. We also used the taxi service for airport transportation and local tours around Cuzco for much cheaper prices than the airport taxis and tour prices.

Room Tip: Call the hotel before you arrive if you need airport transfers or any other help with your travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine-AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed with my daughter at the Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman for a couple of days last week as part of a trip to Machu Picchu. The hotel was recommended by my Amex Platinum Travel Advisor. I had no knowledge of the area so I had no objection to the recommendation. All in all, it was a nice, comfortable and accomodating hotel.

The views from this mountainside property were stunning. The location is also quite close to the Saqsayhuaman site/ruins...which was interesting. Otherwise, it is kind of out of the way. There is really nothing to do at the hotel but to enjoy the view or eat in the restaurant. There are two small convenience stores across the tiny street, the rest of the area is residential. We took many cab rides up and down the mountainside to visit Cusco.

The restaurant had great views, as well but was just an ok restaurant. There is a spa, but we did not use it. The room was big enough and adequately appointed but I would not call it super nice in its appointments or design. The temperature in the area swings as much as 50 degrees in the course of a day. There is a radiant heater mounted to the wall in the room. While it does do the trick, it is a strange unit.

The staff at this property is its best feature. The frontdesk staff was fantastic....friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The price was very good!


  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevefinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R, Director of Business Development at Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the wonderful comments you made about our facility and staff.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fantastic views over the City. Close to airport. Amenities were frist rate. Staff could not be more helpful. Would recommend this hotel. Represents good value for money. Rooms were clean and on the large size. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The Wyndam Cusco Hotel was gorgeous! Our bedroom window overlooked the charming slate roofs of Cusco. High on a hilltop, we were separated from the noise and hustle of the city but only a few minutes away from the plaza by taxi when we wanted to explore. The hotel employees were so attentive and gracious to our needs or available just to chat. The hotel is clean, modern and spacious! We would definitely book a stay again. Thanks to Nate especially--he treated us as family. We could ask any "Gringo" questions and be treated respectfully!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent hotel and very friendly staff. Spacious clean and modern rooms. The staff is very friendly and accommodating to any request. the hotel is a bit far from the city center, however the views are fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#23 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman

Property: Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman
Address: Calle San Martin C-7 Ucchullo Alto, Cusco 00, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the road to the famed Saqsayhuaman ruins, boasting 180-degree views of the Incan Capital city, the Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman, Peru provides that rare opportunity to experience a different view of Cusco - one that hearkens back to Ancient Inca, breathtaking sunsets, and that feeling that adventures are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Cusco Saqsayhuaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing