We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best peruvian food in Cusco!”
Review of Seledonia's Mesa

Seledonia's Mesa
Ranked #29 of 770 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Seledonia's Mesa is the place to be in Cusco if you want a familiar athmosphere and truly excellent local food! Lunch at Selia's (as friends call her) is a sunny and joyful experience in her warm, covered patio. And dining is like being home at a Cusco family, enjoying some of Cusco's finest dishes in a cozy athmosphere. Cooking classes are part of the experience, too: so you can take Seledonia's wonderful cuisine back home!
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Seledonia´s is a must! The food is amazing, and very unique to traditional cuisine in Peru (there are two dishes I haven´t seen anywhere else in Cusco: picante de alpaca and picante de queso). The restaurant is a family run place, where you can some nights meet the whole family.The presentation is at par with other gourmet places in Plaza de Armes, but the prices can not be found anywhere else for the excellent food. All dishes are made to order, and the drinks are cheap and strong. I will be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 535 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Food great. Wait staff pleasant. Fast service. Cute tiny place. Yummy pisco sours! The alpaca meal listed first on the menu was great and the chicken soup was delicious as well. Must visit. Use a map.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucyTX00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place was recommended to us by our tour guide and we were very excited about the real Peruvian food we were promised. I think the review below was the same night we ate there, but our experience was so bad that I wanted to reiterate it. Possibly they were suffering a staffing shortage (they had a help needed sign in the window), but to have very small children waiting tables is unacceptable, and the food took 1.5 hours to arrive at which point it was stone cold. The flavours of the food could have been good, I just hope they get some help to provide the food at a reasonable temperature and with decent service soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gw-b81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went here at last minute with a group of people which can be hard to accomodate. We had talked to them and let them know we were coming and they had tables for us. (ie plan ahead if possible but they dont take reservations)

The food is amazing no matter the price. I've eaten a lot of peruvian food in many locations over several trips and this was by far the best.

A few hints, to try Cuy, you'll need to order it a day in advance.
There are literally three burners on her stove. Do not expect a five star dining experience. That isn't Peru--- your dishes will come out at different times and they will take awhile. Go expecting to spend some time ... have a few drinks and enjoy time with your friends.

Seldonia is amazing and yes her family is there. If you have a problem with that type of thing, Peru probably isn't the place for you to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jcktvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This may be authentic Peruvian food and it may be a whole family concern but it does leave you with issues. 5 tables, 3 occupied when we where their and the food took over an hour to arrive - stone cold. How do you complain about that when the person serving you is about 6 years old? There is a baby in a pram being looked after by the other children and it is quite late in the evening. The food possibly left us feeling unwell? We have eaten all over South American over the last two months and the food here is poor. Tripadvisor you have a problem if you are telling people this is the best restaurant in Cusco. it is not by a long way. We went here because of Trip Advisor reviews. It cannot have been given excellent by everybody!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pau995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joost_vanPN, Public Relations Manager at Seledonia's Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Pau995,

I am writing you in name of Seledonia; we are friends that help her with her marketing and speak English.
We are very sorry to learn that you did not have such a nice experience at Seledonia’s as you expected. However, we would like to make a few comments about your review.

First of all, Seledonia nor TripAdvisor is saying that this is the best restaurant in Cusco. This is the restaurant in Cusco that receives the most positive comments; and that is something different. If you read all the other comments, you can see why people love being at Seledonia’s. The low prices for great quality food, the authentic homey family experience: that is where Seledonia’s offers the best experience in. Not in exquisite dining, or fast service. Everything is cooked fresh by a single person in a small kitchen and that’s why it takes a while.

Nevertheless, Seledonia is taking measures to improve her service and live up to expectations of her guests. First of all, she’s looking for a slightly bigger place to receive her guests, without losing the familiar atmosphere. A bigger kitchen would help a lot. Until then, she will offer less variety of food in order to offer a quicker service, too. We are sure that you and her other guests will understand.

We sure hope that these measures will ensure that this situation will not happen again. Selia has a lot of experience and talent, but mistakes do occur, like in any place. We are confident that these situations are lessons, that will improve our service for the future.

Thank you very much,

Selia & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seledonia's Mesa also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Seledonia's Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing