We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”

Machu Picchu Viajes Peru
Ranked #2 of 834 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours to Machu Picchu, the best tour options to visit Cusco and Machu Picchu with the best local tour operator "Machu Picchu Travel Peru"
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It's amazing place, no doubts! But crowd is making it difficult to enjoy it for 100%.
But the feeling that you finally see it worth it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marginadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    107
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornish, ME
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Even though you've seen countless photos of it nothing prepares you for seeing it with your own eyes. Spectacular! (Do bring rain ponchos though, bright sun can turn to torrential rain within 5 minutes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SMRCORNISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Machu Picchu”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

One cannot decide whether the Inca builders or nature are more impressive. Incredible view but avoid the Lodge. Way overpriced, with terrible food. Go down to the village and eat there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank idus1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome but not the only highlight of Peru”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I'm really glad I went in January. Everything was green, very few people there and not enough rain to bother me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go early or go late”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

As everyone else has said…Machu Picchu is amazing and well worth the planes, trains, buses, and hikes it takes to get there. Only disappointment was the mid-day crowds (even during "off-season"). So as not to repeat all the other comments about this magical place, here are some random thoughts/suggestions….1) Get to the ruins before 10am, or after 2:00pm - a comprehensive tour takes about 2.5-3 hours; 2) put sunscreen on during the train ride up to Aguas Callenties so you don't forget. We spent a total of 3 hours at the citadel on a VERY cloudy day in January and both of us got burned, even with sunscreen on. The sun is intense at this elevation; 3) We stayed in Urubamba (Rio Sagrado Hotel - highly recommend) and did a day trip to MP - we left the hotel at 8:00am and got back around 8:00pm - we felt we had plenty of time (to include a leisurely lunch in AC), but it made for a very long day. The hotels in AC are not nearly as nice as Urubamba, but they would allow you to go early/late to the citadel, so it may be worth it - although we didn't stay there, so it may be unfair to comment, but the Sanctuary Lodge did not appear to be worth the high price; 4) seats on the left side of the train heading to AC offer the best view; 5) get train, MP entrance tickets, and guide services in advance - this will save you a LOT of time - even during off season, it was crazy busy; 6) spend at least two nights in the Sacred Valley and take a Sacred Valley tour - beautiful, eclectic, peaceful - we wish we had spent more time here, especially at the Rio Sagrado hotel; 7) Cusco is also a very unique town, lots to do/see, and unlike the Sacred Valley, Cusco is very busy - very compact city with narrow streets, crazy drivers and dogs roaming freely - never felt unsafe, but just not as peaceful as the Sacred Valley; 8) We flew LAN airlines to Cusco and had no problems - a couple different people told us LAN has more modern aircraft and although a little more expensive, they are able to take off & land in weather the other local airlines cannot; 9) we went during the height of the rainy season (Jan), but did not see a drop of rain the entire week we were there - don't let the season scare you away - we were told even when it rains, it typically doesn't rain all day; 10) we exchanged a $100 US dollars for Soles, and this was plenty for the week - most places, even the local markets take US dollars as long as they are in good condition.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
19 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machu Picchu Viajes Peru also viewed

 

Been to Machu Picchu Viajes Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing