We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best restaurant in Cusco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Senzo

Senzo
Ranked #110 of 691 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A destination bistro, Senzo Restaurant offers exceptional cuisine in a vibrant yet refined atmosphere. The à la carte and individual table buffet breakfasts feature a nutritious, balanced and creative selection. The dining menu showcases contemporary Andean cuisine and can be tailored to suit the diners’ personal preferences. Specialty dishes feature indigenous herbs and are decorated with edible flowers, grown throughout the hotel.
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in Cusco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great choice for your first dinner in Cusco. If you like fancy places, great service, and a meal where you can really explore new sensations, SENZO is the natural choice. Virgilio Martínez certainly is one of the best Chefs in the country and his skills are beautiful shown here. Try the sample menu, we had jelly camu-camu pisco, Andean cedrón cockies, delicious light main courses and a delightful selection of assorted breads. A must if you are in Cusco!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaguarwirz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    27
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't go for the drinks!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

So, it was our las night in Cusco.......So disappointing! Don't get me wrong, the setting is beautiful, but I ordered a manhattan, THEY ACTUALLY MADE IT WITH JACK DANIELS! Seriously, a manhattan at a 5 star establishment made with with jack Daniels? In hindsight i guess i shouldve inquired which liquor would be used, but i really didnt think it was necessary in light of where we where. There were three of us...Two manhattans and a glass of gentlemens jack neat...total.......over $60 U.S. We were stunned! We really don't mind paying top dollar for a top shelf cocktail, this was the whole reason we went to this bar to end our evening, But to be charged over $20 for a cocktail consisting of regular jack Daniels and martini and Rossi vermouth is absurd. Halfway thru her gentlemens jack our friend inquired what she had been served because she had a feeling she didn't receive what she ordered. The waiter actually admitted that he didn't have gentlemens jack and had served her some off brand of whiskey without telling her.....again, an ounce of this over $20? What a joke! Then, once my husband inquired as to the prices on our check, we discovered we had been overcharged by $20, apparently the waiter charged us for liquor that we didn't even drink, so miraculously our bill was reduced to $44. Dishonesty, or stupidity? We're not sure, but either way what a disappointment to be treated in this manner by a property that is charging $500 - $900 a night for a single room.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihavewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best breakfast and service I ever experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can say this is the best breakfast i ever had. I'm talking about a table based buffet (it comes to you) filled with juicy, fresh and natural fruit, a bunch (like 8) of assorted breads straight out of the oven, three exotic and very tasty marmalades (sauco, tomato and eucaliptus), aguaymantos just pulled from trees, cold meat cuts, local cheese, all kind of juices and your choice between 5 hot dishes. I went for the quinoa and kiwicha pancakes... Simply delicious.

This sounds like a lot of food, and it is, but the portion sizes are perfect and of course you can always ask for some more.

Of course, the pleasure of eating starts with the looks and i could tell the put a lot of thought on every detail to make the food arrangements beautiful and appetizing.

Now, from the first moment you step in you are greeted with smiles and treated better than royalty (with a warm and friendly touch and with the most respect), in my case i felt a very nice waitress was actually focusing on me only. Maybe just a feeling, but i guess that's what counts at the end.

So, al this for 61soles, like 25 us dollars. Expensive? Sure. Worth it? Every cent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On restaurant & service level: God.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stayed here because i only was on the city for the day. But i decided to try breakfast.

I can say this is the best i ever had. I'm talking about a table based buffet (it comes to you) filled with juicy, fresh and natural fruit, a bunch (like 8) of assorted breads straight out of the oven, three exotic and very tasty marmalades (sauco, tomato and eucaliptus), aguaymantos just pulled from trees, cold meat cuts, local cheese, all kind of juices and your choice between 5 hot dishes. I went for the quinoa and kiwicha pancakes... Simply delicious.

This sounds like a lot of food, and it is, but the portion sizes are perfect and of course you can always ask for some more.

Of course, the pleasure of eating starts with the looks and i could tell the put a lot of thought on every detail to make the food arrangements beautiful and appetizing.

Now, from the first moment you step in you are greeted with smiles and treated better than royalty (with a warm and friendly touch and with the most respect), in my case i felt a very nice waitress was actually focusing on me only. Maybe just a feeling, but i guess that's what counts at the end.

So, al this for 61soles, like 25 us dollars. Expensive? Sure. Worth it? Every cent.

After this experience I'll start saving for a room next time i have an overnight visit to Cuzco. I bet rooms are amazing so im giving it a 5.

Also, just realized. I was no guest, they knew it, and i still got superb service. That's commendable.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Oasis by the Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Palacio Nazarenas and ate here for breakfast and once for lunch. The prices are high like most of the high end Cuzco restaurants, but the food is imaginative and fresh. The atmosphere is quiet and light-filled, a glass enclosed patio with indoor or outdoor dining adjacent to the hotel pool which was empty in July.

A great place for an appetizer and a glass of wine if you're looking for a quiet rest off the street or a lunch place with good salads and soups and specialty entrees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senzo also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Senzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing