We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours

Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours
Ranked #117 of 773 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pachamama Explorers is a professional tour operator located in Cusco, Peru. We are an official Inca Trail operator as well as offering a variety of other tours and treks around Peru. We are specialists in creating customised itineraries throughout Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked our 2D/1N Inka trail with Pachamama based on the reviews here and had no complaints. We originally wanted to be in a small group but there were no others on our chosen day and actually thought this was better as we did not need to worry about holding people up. We met our guide Wilian Elvis the day before and he gave us our tickets and explained everything for us. So, we had taxi pick up early to go to Ollyantambo where we caught the train to 104km where Willian met us. We were blessed with good weather our whole trip and this made the trek much more enjoyable. Wilian gave us so much interesting information that we probably couldn't have got elsewhere. He was conscious of when we needed rest breaks and always offered to be cameraman. We had evening dinner with Willian to discuss the next day, the start time being entirely up to us. We were found a place in the bus queue next day and given an excellent over two hour tour of Machu Picchu which really brought the site to life.
I would recommend that everyone visits Machu Picchu this way as it was the highlight of my holiday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    9
    4
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Machu Picchu with a great guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A few weeks ago my husband and I used this company to tour Machu Picchu. We were a bit concerned that the connections (driver pick up at our B'nB taking us to train and meeting up with our guide and then the return trip) would work. Everything went like clockwork. The one day hike was really difficult for me, a cancer survivor. Our guide, Herbert was so excellent and encouraging. I couldn't have made it without his support. He is a wonderful person and also very, very knowledgeable about the trail, Inca history and, of course MP. Though the fee for this is a bit steep I would definitely recommend this company and especially, especially Herbert as a guide!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best experience of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

A friend of mine organized the 5 day salkantay trek through pachamama for a group of us and everything ran smoothly from start to finish. They were great value for money and our guide Odon was amazing he had very good English and was very knowledgeable. All of our cooks and horsemen on the trek were very friendly and hard working they even managed to make me a birthday cake on the trek using just and open fire! Our tents and accommodation was all organized perfectly and Odon gave us all the good tips for the best photo opportunities, I will definitely use pachamama again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RustySkyz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just got home from our incredible journey in Peru. Hernan from Panchamama Explorers organized our customized itinerary and we had an amazing time in Peru. He organized all our tours (private or group ones) depending on our requests. The most amazing time we had in Puno where we visited 3 islands and had an overnight home stay at Amantani Island. Here are just a few memorable experiences on our home stay on the island : delicious local food, learning about unique customs, milky way so close that you can almost touch with your hand, participating in folk dances with our host in intricately embodied local outfits. The private tour on laguna Umayo was also very interesting and off beaten path. We observed vicunas in their natural habitat, visited local elementary school and met wonderful kids, learned a lot about wonders of Sillustani ruins. Considering all our arrangements for two weeks we felt that Panchamama Explores took a very great care of us providing good services.The only minor disappointment was a Sacred Valley tour where our guide David was a bit distracted. We felt that information he provided was not enough for the private tour and he brought us in a very overpriced tourist trap restaurant without mentioning this fact to us. However, it is not Panchamama Explorers fault, they just organize tours with freelance tour guide. I would highly recommend this company to everyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Prato70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 day train expedition Machu Picchu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Can't fault Pachamama Explorers Sales Team.....excellent, speedy replies with good advise and tips. It is a shame that this tour was totally contracted out to others and that's where they lose control of what was happening to their clients.
First of all we were picked up by a driver, they described this person as their driver but it was simply a private taxi. He was running late and so drove like a maniac for 1.5 hours crossing double lines and speeding to get us to the train on time. He was fairly young, couldn't speak any English and we really feared for our lifes.
The trip on the train was great, but again this is Peru Rail so we travelled alone where we were meet by hotel staff and escorted to our hotel.
Pachamama so called guide called to the hotel that night to discuss the arrangements for the next day. I say so called because he is just a private contracted guide and is not hand picked by Pachamama and doesn't work for them directly. He seemed distracted, always looking out the window like he wanted to go. He told us he would like to re-arrange the schedule for the next day and leave really early in the morning so he could guide us for 2 hours first and we do the walk on our own after his guided tour. I pointed out this wasn't in our Itinerary we were supposed to do the walk first and then the guided tour. He assured us this was better, despite having to get up at 5.00am in the morning and miss our breakfast. Ok next day we were waiting for our guide and he was late.....only 15mins but because of this the que for the bus up to Machu Picchu was extremely long which meant we arrived up the mountain with less time than allocated. Guess what.... he didn't stay longer and give us our 2 hour guided tour, no he cut it short and gave us 1.5 hours because he had another person to guide and had to go. At this point we realised he was double booked hence his suggestion to change our itinery. His guiding was less than acceptable, he was faigue, yawning all the time and skipping information.We realised this because when he desserted us we felt short changed so followed behind other tour guides listening in for snippets of information to help us complete the Machu Picchu story.
So we finished our day at Machu Picchu catching the train back on our own to be met by another private taxi. This guy seemed more mature and was nice but couldn't speak much English. After he picked us up he drove for 10mins and then picked up a woman and told us she would be traveling with us to Cuso. This wasn't too big an issue, I thought it may be his girlfriend or something but we were paying for this private taxi so it was a bit of a cheek. Anyway he drove very slowly because the whole way he was texting on his cell phone so the 1.5 hr drive took over 2 hours, we were very tired after a huge day hiking in Machu Picchu and were seriously concerned about him driving and texting in the dark. When we got to Cusco traffic was bad and we had ages in traffic jams while he drove to the place the woman passenger wanted to go. He dropped her off and she paid him so it was not his girlfriend but a paying passenger. Then he took us to our old hotel which was very close to where he dropped off this woman. We had luggage storred there and wanted to pick it up and transfer to another hotel. He started screaming at us at this point saying he was not a taxi driver and we would have to pay him extra for this. We agreed because we were so tired we just wanted the night to be over. He then couldn't find the hotel Pachamama had told him to take us too and he had to stop and ask people, including the police. When we finally got there he screamed at us for more money.
To sum up Machu Picchu is amazing, Pachamama Exploreres is not really a guding company but simply a booking agent. If you go with this in mind you will be happy, but it you pay a lot of money thinking you are getting a guided tour......be warned you are not.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank artBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing