We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of my life!”

Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours
Ranked #116 of 858 Tours in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pachamama Explorers is a professional tour operator located in Cusco, Peru. We are an official Inca Trail operator as well as offering a variety of other tours and treks around Peru. We are specialists in creating customised itineraries throughout Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best experience of my life!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A friend of mine organized the 5 day salkantay trek through pachamama for a group of us and everything ran smoothly from start to finish. They were great value for money and our guide Odon was amazing he had very good English and was very knowledgeable. All of our cooks and horsemen on the trek were very friendly and hard working they even managed to make me a birthday cake on the trek using just and open fire! Our tents and accommodation was all organized perfectly and Odon gave us all the good tips for the best photo opportunities, I will definitely use pachamama again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RustySkyz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    9
    4
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Adventure”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just got home from our incredible journey in Peru. Hernan from Panchamama Explorers organized our customized itinerary and we had an amazing time in Peru. He organized all our tours (private or group ones) depending on our requests. The most amazing time we had in Puno where we visited 3 islands and had an overnight home stay at Amantani Island. Here are just a few memorable experiences on our home stay on the island : delicious local food, learning about unique customs, milky way so close that you can almost touch with your hand, participating in folk dances with our host in intricately embodied local outfits. The private tour on laguna Umayo was also very interesting and off beaten path. We observed vicunas in their natural habitat, visited local elementary school and met wonderful kids, learned a lot about wonders of Sillustani ruins. Considering all our arrangements for two weeks we felt that Panchamama Explores took a very great care of us providing good services.The only minor disappointment was a Sacred Valley tour where our guide David was a bit distracted. We felt that information he provided was not enough for the private tour and he brought us in a very overpriced tourist trap restaurant without mentioning this fact to us. However, it is not Panchamama Explorers fault, they just organize tours with freelance tour guide. I would highly recommend this company to everyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Prato70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 day train expedition Machu Picchu”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Can't fault Pachamama Explorers Sales Team.....excellent, speedy replies with good advise and tips. It is a shame that this tour was totally contracted out to others and that's where they lose control of what was happening to their clients.
First of all we were picked up by a driver, they described this person as their driver but it was simply a private taxi. He was running late and so drove like a maniac for 1.5 hours crossing double lines and speeding to get us to the train on time. He was fairly young, couldn't speak any English and we really feared for our lifes.
The trip on the train was great, but again this is Peru Rail so we travelled alone where we were meet by hotel staff and escorted to our hotel.
Pachamama so called guide called to the hotel that night to discuss the arrangements for the next day. I say so called because he is just a private contracted guide and is not hand picked by Pachamama and doesn't work for them directly. He seemed distracted, always looking out the window like he wanted to go. He told us he would like to re-arrange the schedule for the next day and leave really early in the morning so he could guide us for 2 hours first and we do the walk on our own after his guided tour. I pointed out this wasn't in our Itinerary we were supposed to do the walk first and then the guided tour. He assured us this was better, despite having to get up at 5.00am in the morning and miss our breakfast. Ok next day we were waiting for our guide and he was late.....only 15mins but because of this the que for the bus up to Machu Picchu was extremely long which meant we arrived up the mountain with less time than allocated. Guess what.... he didn't stay longer and give us our 2 hour guided tour, no he cut it short and gave us 1.5 hours because he had another person to guide and had to go. At this point we realised he was double booked hence his suggestion to change our itinery. His guiding was less than acceptable, he was faigue, yawning all the time and skipping information.We realised this because when he desserted us we felt short changed so followed behind other tour guides listening in for snippets of information to help us complete the Machu Picchu story.
So we finished our day at Machu Picchu catching the train back on our own to be met by another private taxi. This guy seemed more mature and was nice but couldn't speak much English. After he picked us up he drove for 10mins and then picked up a woman and told us she would be traveling with us to Cuso. This wasn't too big an issue, I thought it may be his girlfriend or something but we were paying for this private taxi so it was a bit of a cheek. Anyway he drove very slowly because the whole way he was texting on his cell phone so the 1.5 hr drive took over 2 hours, we were very tired after a huge day hiking in Machu Picchu and were seriously concerned about him driving and texting in the dark. When we got to Cusco traffic was bad and we had ages in traffic jams while he drove to the place the woman passenger wanted to go. He dropped her off and she paid him so it was not his girlfriend but a paying passenger. Then he took us to our old hotel which was very close to where he dropped off this woman. We had luggage storred there and wanted to pick it up and transfer to another hotel. He started screaming at us at this point saying he was not a taxi driver and we would have to pay him extra for this. We agreed because we were so tired we just wanted the night to be over. He then couldn't find the hotel Pachamama had told him to take us too and he had to stop and ask people, including the police. When we finally got there he screamed at us for more money.
To sum up Machu Picchu is amazing, Pachamama Exploreres is not really a guding company but simply a booking agent. If you go with this in mind you will be happy, but it you pay a lot of money thinking you are getting a guided tour......be warned you are not.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank artBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Some good, some bad”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pachamama Explorers helped us to plan a trip that met our tight schedule and adhered to our budget. Nicole was very responsive and helpful over email, and answered all of our questions in a timely and helpful manner. Once we arrived in Peru, some aspects of the trip were disappointing, which was surprising given our positive experience with Nicole beforehand. Several of our airport transfers were late or didn't show up, there were a few mix-ups with the guided tour logistics, and we were extremely disappointed with one of the hotels that Nicole booked for us. Pachamama has to do a lot of outsourcing to other employees or travel companies (e.g., airport transfers), which leaves a lot of the logistics out of their control. I think your best bet is to have Pachamama plan the tours, travel tickets, and those kinds of things (which they are very good at), but book the hotels and transfers yourself. That way, you can do the research and choose a good hotel that has transfers available, instead of leaving the outsourcing to Pachamama and having no one to complain to except for them when things go wrong. When things went wrong for us (see above) and we complained to Pachamama, we were disappointed by their response - we were provided with a laundry list of justifications for why things went wrong, instead of apologies and offers to correct the problems.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lares Trek and Machu Picchu Day Tour”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I just returned from an amazing trip to Peru, one that far exceeded our expectations! We spent a week in Cusco during which we did a 4 day, 3 night trek through Pachamama Explorers that ended with a walking tour of Machu Picchu. We were impressed by everything about this company. Our guide was extremely professional, yet still funny and entertaining. We are college students so he seemed to be really conscious of what information we would find most interesting. The cook and porter that joined us on our trek were also outstanding! We couldn't believe how often they fed us and how great the food was! Our campsite was always set up when we arrived and we were well taken care of. The trek itself was absolutely beautiful! Because of how late we booked the trip we weren't able to do the Inca Trail, but I feel like this was a blessing in disguise. The Lares Trek was so remote, we were the only hikers out there! And it was gorgeous! Our campsites were set near mountain villages so we were able to see how the Andean people lived and even learned some Quechua! Our guide gave us our tour at Machu Picchu and I felt really lucky that it was just the two of us with him. Some of the group tours there were huge - 30+ people! Unlike those groups, we were able to ask all the questions we wanted and spend as much time in each part of the city as we desired. This was such an awesome experience, I would do it all over again with Pachamama Explorers in a heartbeat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chaas121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Pachamama Explorers - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing