We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and rooms.”
Review of Hostal El Labrador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Labrador
Ranked #25 of 479 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here either side of our Machu Picchu trek and we were more than happy with everything this place had to offer. Hot showers, free breakfast (bread, jam, butter, coffee, tea, juice PLUS breakfast is served from 5:30am, so you can still eat something before leaving for an early tour), plenty of blankets on the beds, rooms cleaned daily, great staff who are always willing to assist with any queries and a very fast laundry service (perfect for those dirty clothes after Machu Picchu).
What was amazing was returning from our Machu Picchu trek at 2am and being greeted by the friendly staff who let us into the same room we had before the trek with our backpacks waiting for us!
Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hostal El Labrador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 194 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed six nights at Hostal El Labrador before heading off on a jungle trek to Machu Picchu for three nights and then returned to stay an extra two nights.

From the very moment we arrived, we felt welcome. We were greeted with a coca tea after an 18 hour bus ride which was a nice touch. Each staff member that works at this hostal is very friendly and always willing to help with any questions you may have.

We stayed in a matrimonial with private bathroom and the room was comfortable and cleaned daily with fresh towels. The showers were always running with hot water. The only negatives with our room (room six) was that the pillows were quite soft and the curtains are quite transparent so the light comes in as soon as the sun is up. Isn't such a bad thing if you're an early riser, plus breakfast commences at 5:30am. They provide a table service for breakfast with juice, coffee/tea, bread, jam & butter.

They offer a great same day laundry service as well, which we used twice.

When it came time to head off to Machu Picchu, they allowed us to leave our big backpacks in the room that we stayed in and assured us that we would have the same room on the night of our return. At the time, we were doubtful... because really, where else offers this kind of service? We were pleasantly surprised to return at 1:30am and be let into the same room with our bags where we left them. Amazing!

The location is reasonably close to Plaza de Armas but is off the main road, down two little side streets so there is no outside noise from the city.

On the day that we checked out, we had a late night bus (10pm) and the staff were kind enough to let us still have access to the room that we had been staying in... a service that we have not once come across in nearly a year of travelling. We are truly grateful for everything they did for us during our stay with them.

Would definitely stay here again if we were ever to find ourselves back in Cusco!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tehmani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Our group of three stayed in a triple room at Hostal El Labrador either side of our Inca Trail/Machu Picchu experience. We loved this hostel primarily because the owner (Estella) and her staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but also because it's super clean, there is always hot water and the location is very central but off a main road so there is no traffic noise. The wifi is good if you're upstairs in the common area/kitchen. The only slight down sides are that noise carries a lot in the hostel and the breakfast is just bread and jam. However those two things are true of most hostels we've stayed in without the lovely staff and clean rooms! We wanted to explore some ruins quite far outside of Cusco and Estella arranged for her taxi driver friend to take us around all the sites in a day for a very reasonable price, taking away all the hassle of getting several local buses. This really is a great hostel for your stay in Cusco!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyBoo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay for 7 nights in a triple room with two friends. What made it for us was the great location- in the city centre and so close to everything - and the friendly helpful staff. Estela (the owner) is excellent, speaks good English and is really helpful. She arranged for me to be picked up from the airport in Cusco on arrival and also helped us to organise a taxi for a day trip around the sacred valley, which was a brilliant day. My luggage hadnt arrived on my flight to lima and Rosemary and Estela were really kind and helpful when I was stressed! Luckily i got it back the next day.
We were also able to leave our luggage at the hostel safely for a couple of days while we went to see Machu picchu.

The room we had was quite dark at times (no outside windows) but was really spacious, had four beds and ensuite bathroom with good level of cleanliness and comfy beds. Shower was good with hot water, big towels! Breakfast was basic- bread rolls, jam and tea/coffee but good that it was included.
Also wifi free and good connection most of the time.
Sometimes it was quite noisy early in the morning due to other people leaving for the inca trail but it is located in a quiet street so no noise from outside.

Altogether I thought the hostel was really good value for money and would highly recommend for a stay in cusco!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSophie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Twin Room w/private bathroom -75 soles.

Service and staff were excellent here, they try their best to help as much as they can.

Breakfast was simple but good enough. Taking the effort to warm up bread and offering a choice of fruit juice.

Inconsistent Hot Showers:
There were hot showers in the afternoon when we arrived. At night, it was inconsistent and was between
10 - 30 seconds of warm to cold and warm. The next morning, it was ice cold.

Wifi connection:
Worked brilliantly on the day we arrived, at night there was full signal but does not connect till the next morning.

Reservations:
Sent an email to reservas@hostalellabradorcusco.com that never got a reply.

Cusco town area has a few other hostels offering similar deals as here, might be worth walking around a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iriseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place just opened July 2012. The owner tries to make you feel like home by offering a solution to any wish you might have. All rooms are different, but all come with a bath, and very comfy blankets. The breakfast is on a nice terrace over viewing Cuzco. The staff is helpful, but sometimes a bit slow. Out of 5 budget hotels I have stayed, this is for sure the best one.

The upside of this place can also be a downside. It is a 5 minute walk from the city center (Plaza de Armas), the last 250 Meters are in a long dark alley, which makes it a really quiet place. However the long dark alley, although safe, is better walked with 2 or more people.

My next stay in Cuzco will be again with El Labrador.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really liked our stay at El Labrador, and what was planned to be a 3 night stay turned into an 8 night stay. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating, the location very nice (close to everything, but a bit outside the main square area in a nice little dead end street) and everything was kept clean. When we went to Machu Picchu they did not only store our bags for us, they even let us keep our things in the room without charging for that night! If there's a downside, then it's that the walls are a bit thin and noise travels a bit too much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizen428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Viajero
La Posada del Viajero
#7 of 379 in Cusco
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#6 of 479 in Cusco
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pisko & Soul
Pisko & Soul
#17 of 479 in Cusco
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#13 of 479 in Cusco
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 479 in Cusco
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal El Triunfo
Hostal El Triunfo
#12 of 379 in Cusco
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Labrador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Labrador

Address: Pampa de La Alianza 456, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 479 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $27 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal El Labrador 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal El Labrador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing