We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT Countryside Experience!!!”
Review of Cusi Travel

Cusi Travel
Ranked #18 of 699 Outdoor Activities in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cusi Travel is a tour operator located in Cusco which offers high quality tours, hikes, and packages to Machu Picchu and the surrounding area. We are an environmentally sustainable tour operator and we also give back to the local Andean community where our porters come from by providing English education in the school. We offer fully customizable tours so please contact us today so we can help you plan your trip of a lifetime to Peru!
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were the first tourists who did the Mantanay Hike!

The day before our hike, we did the optional community visit. Jose really cares about his community! We visited a small alpaca wool factory, interacted with local children, and had dinner prepared by our host family.

Our hike was filled with beautiful memories. The scenery was breathtaking and serene! Imagine passing by turquoise lakes and snow-capped mountains, occasionally meeting local Andean people along the way, and sleeping to the sound of a gentle river. The chef filled our tummies with world-class full course meals.

Jose is incredibly knowledgeable, professional and a countryside hero! He goes the extra mile to explain Quechua culture and Peruvian history. It was our first time hiking and we experienced minor symptoms of altitude sickness, but Jose was always there to make sure that we are enjoying ourselves. He eagerly interacted with the Andean people along the way and explained their lifestyles and traditions to us. He also took plenty of great photos for us!

Definitely choose Cusi Travel!

Date of experience: June 2014
2  Thank Wit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"jose cusi"
in 17 reviews
"local community"
in 11 reviews
"day hike"
in 16 reviews
"animal refuge"
in 4 reviews
"inca trail"
in 52 reviews
"student guide"
in 2 reviews
"meeting locals"
in 2 reviews
"sacred valley"
in 26 reviews
"spoke quechua"
in 3 reviews
"machu picchu"
in 49 reviews
"real chef"
in 2 reviews
"planning phase"
in 3 reviews
"the peru rail train"
in 2 reviews
"frequent breaks"
in 2 reviews
"answered all of our questions"
in 6 reviews
"international travel"
in 2 reviews
"his team"
in 10 reviews
Filter

135 - 139 of 182 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Jose and his company Cusi Travel were definitely impressing and set the bar very high for us. We did the Lares Hike and it was definitely a trek, especially for us Floridians at sea level, however, it was an AMAZING hike and very informative. Jose and his crew were extremely professional, patient and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Cusi Travel to anyone! He offers all kinds of levels of hikes and part of his proceeds go back to the community :o)
The LARES hike was a breathtaking adventure, full of amazing views and full of culture. We wouldn't of had that experience without Cusi Travel.

Date of experience: June 2014
2  Thank C_almanzar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is not a cookie-cutter tour. Jose goes out of his way to make sure that everyone is enjoying the trip every step of the way. Every request we made leading up to the trip, and during the trip, Jose found a way to accommodate. After we had two days of rain, we couldn't have been in better spirits, and that was all because of Jose and his crew. If you get the opportunity to do the community visit, you should definitely do it, as it will an extra dimension and level of depth to your trip. Jose is nothing but professional in all of his interactions as you would expect in an owner, and welcoming and friendly in every way you would want from your guide. My wife liked doing Salkantay so much with him last year, that both us came back with six friends to do the Inca Trail this year with him. I suspect we will have another hike or two in the future.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank Deckardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I am a verbal person but I will try and keep it concise and brief. Cusi Travel and it's owner/manager, Jose Cusi, are one of the best things I discovered in Cusco, apart from the amazing wonderous magical streets and walls of the Inca capital. We did the Inka Trail through this company. Throughout the planning process, Jose was extremely professional and patient with myself and our group. He was a great leader with excellent and timely communication, to the point and direct in instruction, intuitive and sensitive with guidance. Jose gives back to the community also, by providing English teachers to the village that most of the Quechua porters are from.
Next was our guide, Jose Condor. Jose is an amazing cultural ambassador of the Quechua people, giving little insights into the wonderful culture and language of these beautiful people. He is very knowledgeable, patient, welcoming. We had a wonderful time with him and will never forget any of the Joses, including one of the Quechua, Jose-Luis!
Our cook was phenomenal, especially considering that we had vegetarians in the group, including myself. The food was beautiful and prepared with great skill and talent. Thanks to Donato!
Finally the amazing Quechua, the people who have the strength of true mountain people, carrying our gear and flying up the trail. What a beautiful experience, so inspirational, to see the coexistence of peace and strenuous conditions, and from it emerge simply something wonderful to experience. I admire from the bottom of my toes to the tips of my hair the gorgeous Quechua mountain people, who have the hearts and bodies of kings.
Basically, Cusi Travel rocks, I totally recommend this company to anyone!

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank Safana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were a family of 5 (adults) traveling to Peru to hike the Inca Trail and see Machu Picchu. I chose Cusi travel because it was a local company with great reviews. What we experienced went beyond our expectations.
We had the company owner, Jose, as our guide and he was very informative and easy-going. He took care to give history lessons relevant to the Quechuas 500 yrs ago who built and lived in the ruins we passed, but also modern-day perspectives on current mountain/country living. He included some lovely comforts such as high-quality, totally waterproof North Face tents, comfortable Thermarests, our own portable toilet so we wouldn't need to use the public ones, REAL brewed coffee, and excellent meals based on typical local fares. Our chef Luis was especially creative with desserts, including banana flambe and strawberry meringue. We certainly never went hungry!
Jose made a point to take care of the Quechuas he employed to carry our gear. For those unaware, the Quechuas hired as porters have been very poorly treated until recently regulations were set in place, and it was still evident to us on the trails that not all companies treated their Quechuas equally. Jose has made a relationship with a single community (Mahuaypampa) that he hires from, provides them with quality packs to carry, good clothes, and their own sleeping gear, and works to foster an environment of teamwork and mutual success with them. As a way to further give back to Mahuaypampa, Jose through his company donates supplies and hires an English teacher for the local school to improve opportunities for the children.
At the end of our trip, Jose met with us for lunch in Aguas Calientes and took the men out to get Chicha from a local chicharia. He met us the day after as well not only to provide us with a CD of pictures he took on the journey but walked us to a local textile market that sold authentic alpaca wool clothing and goods. We had an amazing time on this trip, and we were continuously impressed with the care Jose showed us to ensure we had the best time possible. Whether you want to do the Inca trail or any other tour or hike around Cusco, Cusi Travel is the company you should choose!

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank JulesTheDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cusi Travel also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Cusi Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing