We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pisco sours”
Review of Museo del Pisco

Museo del Pisco
Ranked #28 of 715 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Great Pisco sours”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is very cozy with friendly staff, the pisco sours are so great, i can understand why Peruvians feel proud of this national drink, found this spot when we walked toour hotel, what a nice stop to taste this traditional drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    409
    54
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“GOOD PISCO”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Cusco does not sleep much and to have a pisco sour is part of the journey in Peru. With a nice drink, that night was also nice music from Colombia. Before midnight it was all over, which was good to be ready for the excursions of the following day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expensive but high-class”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

What better place to have a traditional Peruvian Pisco Sour but in a bar called Pisco Museum? The place is stylish but comfortable, every evening they have a live band playing, the cocktail creations are seemingly unlimited and the open kitchen allows guests to watch the chefs prepare fresh maki rolls. The price of one drink exceeds many main dishes in other restaurants in town, but one will not be disappointed of the quality of drinks, food & service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nalujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Try the pisco tasting”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

If there’s one thing you must try, it’s a pisco tasting at the Museo del Pisco. The name is a bit of a misnomer, the place isn’t really that much of a museum and more of just a bar. If you’ve never had pisco, this is a good place to become educated in the national beverage. The menu boasts an overwhelming amount of pisco – much like a wine or whiskey list. I decided since I knew absolutely nothing about pisco, I went with the tasting (40 soles for one, 60 soles for two).

Now in the US, tastings usually come with 4 or 5 glasses and you sample a bunch of different types of beer, liquor, whatever. When I ordered the tasting, little did I know it would come with a personal pisco sommelier. My sommelier’s name was Sergui, a clean cut, well groomed/dressed Russian guy who gave me the complete rundown of pisco. He was amazingly thorough, especially after my response to his question “What experience do you have with pisco?” was “I’ve had some pisco sours in college…” He was extremely passionate about the liquor and clearly loved his work and answering questions, which made the experience that much more enjoyable.

Even if you don’t want to try it (because that s**t is strong), the Museo del Pisco has a variety of other beverages, a fun vibe, with good live music (to my delight they played Pearl Jam’s Even Flow during my tasting) and a friendly staff. This is a highly recommended visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_s_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam W, Owner at Museo del Pisco, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Andrew-
Happy to fall into one of the few places you highly recommend, but even happier to have shared our favorite spirit with you! So glad you enjoyed it and recommend it to others - stay well!
admw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

So - this place is an upmarket bar that also does food more then a museo. Great atmosphere! Delicious cocktails. Its expensive. So make it your splurge night in Cusco. If you are a vego go elsewhere for dinner - this place does not understand veggie food. Their veggie burger was literally a bun, thick patty, red cabbage & red onion - that was it. Incredibly boring fancy looking food. For meat lovers they do a fantastic 6 kind of sausages plate that my boyfriend loved. But whether you eat here or not come by for a drink. They are worth it. Great vibe & great flavours.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Pisco also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Museo del Pisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing