We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Ranked #11 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place, awesome location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I visited Cuzco for 4 weeks in October 2012 with my wife and stayed at the Milhouse Hostel. We initially stayed in another hostel just around the corner but didn't really like it and switched to Milhouse. We loved the amazing colonial building, and everything was brand-spanking new (beds, lockers, bedsheets, towels). And everything was so clean as well.

The location is just fantastic, as it's in the middle of historic area. It takes only 3 minutes walk to reach Plaza de Armas and Avenida El Sol where there are pharmacies, shops, ATMs and restaurants. I think the location is one of the best things about the hostel. The breakfast, although simple, is also very good. Plenty of fruit, bread and jam and lots of tea and coffee.

Maybe the only thing I would say is that the music from the bar is a bit loud. But the staff at the reception was very helpful and organized our room that was on the other side of the hostel (far from the bar) which helped a lot. Overall, it was an amazing experience and we can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottfried R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    267
    85
    35
    20
See reviews for
22
147
157
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Travelling alone through Peru, Ecuador and Bolivia for almost 4 months I definitely saw every type of hostel there is. Milhouse Backpackers is, with no exaggeration, the most awesome accomodation I've ever seen. The staff is refreshingly friendly, the rooms are German-clean, the atmosphere offers home-feelings. I really recommend this hostel for everyone out there. Keep at it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at Milhouse Hostel in January 2013 and it was really great. It must be completely new because all the beds, pillows and lockers were brand new. Everything is very clean and the atmosphere was just amazing. It's a great place to meet people especially at the bar, where they have delicious food and great music. The bar can be a bit loud but you can't really hear it in the rooms.

What's amazing is the location. It's only about 2 blocks from the main square and there is also a supermarket just down the road. So you can get almost everywhere walking just 3 - 5 minutes. The building was a bit cold, especially at night but they provide amazing (new) blankets that kept me very warm. The breakfast was fantastic as they provided unlimited fruit, bread, jam and coca tea. Definitely one of the best hostels I've been to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangelina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stay at the Milhouse hostel for a few days before the Inca Trial. Our room was clean, with warm and comfortable beds. The shower was a bit feeble, but hot and did the job.
The hostel is well located, close to Plaza del Armas and by lots of laundry shops - handy for getting our smelly trekking clothes washed!
The hostel is large, with it's own tv/cinema room, good restaurant (although service can be quite slow and the meals are not always exactly as you ordered) and travel service.
The bar music is played quite loudly until 2am most nights and could be heard in our room, but a decent pair of earplugs sorted this!

Overall, a good hostel and worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigglesnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been to milhouse hipo in BA and the one in cusco. Cusco is more civilised because the age group is more diversified. You just don't have the wanna be cool and get drunk type of people but have backpackers and travellers from more diversified walk of life.

My single room was clean but the towels were WET when I got in. Still Hanging in The bathroom. Obviously it was not changed. As for the noise it was bearable at night but it might not be the case if you were closer to the bar at the back. ppl start moving in and out in the morning at 8am and the cheaply installed walls did not provide enough noise protection.

I would look elsewhere if partying was not on the agenda.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

As I lay in the tranquility of the swinging hammock situated in the serene milhouse courtyard I think about my experience of being in this hostel and it will be one of the most memorable experiences of my life. The incense is burning and the sound of the huge water fountains make me feel more relaxed and content with life then I ever have. On arrival to the milhouse we were met with friendly staff and an easy straightforward check in to our room. We booked a 3 bed Dorm for myself and myfriend but you can book dorms to share with others. Our rooms were spacious and above anything I expected for a hostel. The beds were extremely comfortable and the huge duvets meant you slept like a baby. The hostel itself is huge with an amazing courtyard filled with hammocks and huge stone pillars and very tranquil. The breakfast is what you would expect cereal, fruit and bread and unlimted herbal teas which you can have anytime of the day. The bar has an adequate range on the menu and I would definitely recommend the sandwich and fries which you can buy at any time of the day . they truly are the best sandwiches I've ever tasted and only 13 soles which works out at about 3 English pound. The bar staff are on hand when you need them . Myself and a friend booked a 5 day trek to macchu picchu months before we arrived through Sta travel who then book through bamba tours who are located in the hotel which is a blessing in disguise as your pick up points and any info needed are on hand by friendly staff. You can book through the hotel to do many tours and treks at a fraction of the price of Sta but you are not guaranteed a place as the tours do book up easily. The great thing about milhouse is that you can chill in the surroundings or spend time in the bar which is a little more lively especially at night . I do recommended ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as the music can keep you awake but I have no complaints about this as the hostel itself caters for all ages and a pair of earplugs are a god send for sleeping as well as on aeroplanes and if you decide to do any camping . The wifi is only available in the bar and reception area but the reception is another courtyard surrounded by hammocks and huge beanbags and very quiet if you would rather chill then be in the bar. Plug sockets are located everywhere as well as in the rooms so you never have to worry about being able to charge iPads , cameras etc. I would recommend this hostel for anyone wether you be someone looking for a place to reflect on life or somewhere for a good piss up and a way to meet new people the fact milhouse can cater for the two extremes is a success in itself. I would come back here again and again without hesitation and would like to thank the milhouse hostel for making my stay in cusco a memory that will last with me for a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanuk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First the good, we arrived and even thou our room was not ready they invited us to have breakfast at the bar, which it was pretty cool, the hostel is very close to the main square and really easy to walk to and from all the main things to do there, like restaurants, money exchange, markets etc
The hostel is very simple but cheap I could not ask for more we went on a trail and they keep our suitcases for 4 days and a taxi from this place to the airport is really cheap like 5 dollars more less.
the bad many of the ppl staying here are doing different trails like Inca trail, Jungle trail, Salcantay etc and they have to wake up really early in the morning and the band was playing until really late and we couldn´t sleep, it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: as far to the Bar as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#124 of 169 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#38 of 169 in Cusco
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 169 in Cusco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 463 in Cusco
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 463 in Cusco
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Cusco

Property: Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Address: Calle Quera 270, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, newly renovated en-suite rooms, great bar, free internet and wi-fi, free breakfast, super friendly staff, pool table, ping pong, fuss-ball, TV Room, roof top with a great view of the City, amazing tours to make the most out of your stay in Cusco!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing