We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is really well located, simple but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Ranked #10 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Is really well located, simple but clean”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First the good, we arrived and even thou our room was not ready they invited us to have breakfast at the bar, which it was pretty cool, the hostel is very close to the main square and really easy to walk to and from all the main things to do there, like restaurants, money exchange, markets etc
The hostel is very simple but cheap I could not ask for more we went on a trail and they keep our suitcases for 4 days and a taxi from this place to the airport is really cheap like 5 dollars more less.
the bad many of the ppl staying here are doing different trails like Inca trail, Jungle trail, Salcantay etc and they have to wake up really early in the morning and the band was playing until really late and we couldn´t sleep, it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: as far to the Bar as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    255
    78
    33
    20
See reviews for
20
142
152
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Overall a great hostel. No kitchen for self use though, #1. There is a bar and restaurant area on the top floor with a small patio with fairly decent views of the rooftops and hills in the distance. The bar is lively with nightly specials and games. A pool table, foosball table, and pingpong table downstairs in the main lobby. Our rooms were clean, and overall no huge problems. There is a luggage storage area where they have a security guard staged at all times. You check in your luggage and check it out as well.
We did have one night booked through Bamba Experience (shares on office located inside the hostel) where the booking was not made in error of Bamba. Seemed a little sketchy for about 15 mins while they figured out where to put us, since the hostel was "full". We ended up in a 4 person mixed dorm which was fine.
Overall a decent hostel with a good location near to town. As we were leaving, the main sign out front of the hostel had fallen down, so this could make it a bit hard to locate. Other that than, pretty neat little place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

For starters, this place is huge! About 150 guests a night I'm told.
But this is not a bad thing. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm with ensuite, which was very spacious, very clean and I was particularly impressed by each bed having its own reading lamp as well as plug socket built into the wall next to the bed.
Communal areas are also amazing; two large courtyards with lots of seating, beanbags, hammocks as well as a ping pong table.

The bar is on the top floor. It is nice and big, reasonably priced drinks and we had food there a couple of nights which was also nice.

Locations is ideal, just 2 blocks from main square in cusco and closer still to where the minibuses run from to get to ollataytambo.

Staff were very friendly, but I guess the presence of an in house travel agent gives incentives to not be too helpful. For example we asked about Machu Picchu trains and coaches etc on reception and got told "I'm not too sure, ask the guys over there"
We didnt make use of them but their tours looked reasonably priced.

Wifi is good and quick, but only available in the bar and reception which could be improved.

Would highly recommend overall.

Travelled may 2013 as a couple.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this hostel before we left for Machu Picchu, which was a mistake because we got no sleep. Unfortunately, our room was below the bar and they blared out music til 3.30am even though the bar was nearly empty! I wouldn't have minded if the bar was full but when I went to see what was going on after getting no sleep, I walked into a empty bar... what's the point of having the music on or loud if no ones there?! However, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and the breakfast is basic but good. Also, it is central (5 mins walk to main square) and the Bamba office is located within the hostel making it easy to sort out your trip plans. I would stay there again but only after a grueling 4 day trek. It is good value for money and I would recommend people to stay there AFTER trekking to celebrate their accomplishment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren-coll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

To mention it first: this is a huge hostel! So don't expect the nights to be completely calm. This is definitely not true. This said, the place offers giant double rooms with private bathroom. Cleanliness is ok and there is hot water 24 hours a day (with good water pressure). The food and drinks in the bar are decent and fair priced. Since WiFi only works at the bar, you will spend quite some time there anywhere. And this is also the downside: it is always extremely noisy since music plays all day on high volume and bartenders won't lower it even if you ask for it. The staff at the bar in general is not of the friendliest kind (complete opposite to the reception where people were very helpful).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Verry central back parkeres hostal in Cusco, Peru.
Good service, nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Mainly young guests from Europe, Australia and North America. A relaxed atmosphere in the two court yards and a nice bar at the roof of the complex.

Room Tip: Double room with great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor-Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is really a hostel for sociable travellers, and my friend and I met so many interesting and fun people at Milhouse. The staff are all incredibly friendly, and the bar area is large with lots of music bringing everyone in the hostel, and from outside, together. We met a lot of people who had switched their accommodation to Milhouse after staying in another hostel in Cusco and realising that this really is the best one!
We stayed in 3 different rooms, due to the left we left the hostel several times to go into the Amazon and Machu Picchu of course, and the quality of the rooms did vary. The 4 bed was reasonably spacious, though one of the 6 bed dorms we stayed in was incredibly cramped. Although if you're happy to spend more of your time in the bar or in Cusco centre in the evenings, the size of the room shouldn't matter too much. It didn't to us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#113 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#29 of 431 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Cusco

Property: Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Address: Calle Quera 270, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, newly renovated en-suite rooms, great bar, free internet and wi-fi, free breakfast, super friendly staff, pool table, ping pong, fuss-ball, TV Room, roof top with a great view of the City, amazing tours to make the most out of your stay in Cusco!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing