We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Ranked #12 of 533 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay, its really good value, the staff are friendly and really helpful and it has a brilliant atmosphere around the place. There is also a travel agents inside the hostel so its handy to book different things whilst your there. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 774 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed in milhouse for 2 weeks (excluding 4 days when I went on the inka trail) and I don't have a bad word to say about it. I stayed in a private room with my friend which was really nice. The bar area is great and its really easy to meet people. The location is perfect and there's even a movie room with a projector. When I went on the inka trail the hostel looked after my bag for free. Milhouse made my stay so easy and I had a great time in cusco. I'd Recommend booking white water rafting through the hostel it's quite cheap (120 soles fir a whole day lunch and everything included) and an amazing day out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kchase05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friends and I spent one week in Milhouse Hostel and we got satisfied. Excellent accommodations and location. The room is wide and clean. But the best thing is the staff, from the reception until the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patysmachado85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great staff, very helpful and easy going. Comfortable and silent rooms. Very easy to reach from Plaza de Armas, so you can walk or pay little fees for taxi. I would stay there again, although it was being built when I stood there. Guests from everywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaacBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

On first impressions this hostel has a lot going for it - central location just off the main plaza, old colonial building, inexpensive, nice common areas and busy bar/restaurant. However, the bedrooms leave a lot to be desired. The double bedroom we stayed in was cold, dark, damp and unwelcoming, and made our 3 night stay quite uncomfortable. The worst part was the bathroom, which was very old fashioned (midnight blue throughout, slightly rusty and very very dark), it had no air circulation so it stayed wet all day and there was an unlockable window from the bathroom that opened onto a dark chute/chimney/abyss. Very odd and quite creepy.

Additionally, the hostel advertises its rates in USD, but adds on a 4% fee and punitive exchange rate if you wish to pay in Dollars using a credit card. This added an extra $16 to the final price we paid, just to use a Visa card.

There are many different hostels and hotels in Cusco, and although I cannot make any direct comparisons, it is unlikely I would stay at the Milhouse Backpackers again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently travelled through Peru and Bolivia and always came back to Milhouse.

The staff are friendly, the prices reasonable and the beds comfy.

The bar area is a great place to chill and catch up with current events via the free wifi while drinking the free cocoa tea.

My only complains would be once I wasn't convinced the sheets had been changed and for some reason on one visit they charged me s/.1 for towels even though the other 4 nights I wasn't.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H00pyFr00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in this hostel and the people that worked there were very friendly, in particular Luiyo helped us with a lot of things. He is the best, wish all people in hostels are as friendly as he is!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 533 in Cusco
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#3 of 533 in Cusco
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#57 of 533 in Cusco
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#2 of 533 in Cusco
2,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 533 in Cusco
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Cusco

Address: Calle Quera 270, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 533 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $12 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, newly renovated en-suite rooms, great bar, free internet and wi-fi, free breakfast, super friendly staff, pool table, ping pong, fuss-ball, TV Room, roof top with a great view of the City, amazing tours to make the most out of your stay in Cusco!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing