We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but cold rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Ranked #11 of 480 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights,the location is very central,there is plenty of hot water in the showers,but the rooms are cold and dont have heating.Its freezing when you go out from the bathroom in a cold room.There is no place where to hang your things,just the beds.The hostelñ has good travel agency Bamba Experience.The tours are bit pricy if you compare with the other agencies in the city.One day Macchu Pichu costed us 230$.
The breakfast is better than the other hostels,because you can eat as much as you like.They have options for breakfast and dinner as well,and happy hour for meals and drinks.

Room Tip: Choose some room near the entry,the upper rooms are more noisy from the bar!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Milhouse Hostel Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 757 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here in Janurary 2013. My friend and I stayed here for 5 or so days on our Cuazo trip. The rooms were fine but the toilets weren't so much. Theres hot water in the showers and blankets on the beds which is great cos Cuzco is COOLLLLLDDD!! Not all the beds have bed lights and shelves, so if you want to read have a flashlight handy. Breakfast is average but if you want to pay for it, you can purchase from the kitchen but its expensive and the service is very poor.

The staff arent very helpful and organisation is poor at this hostel. Laundry service isnt available but there are heaps of places around the hostel which provide it and do a great job!

There is wifi here but its ONLY in the bar upstairs or in reception. If you want to Skype or anything like that, don't go to the bar because they blast the music.

Overall i enjoyed my stay, but if a few things were a little better and more organised, it would've been excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

In my experience, it is the best Hostel in South America. I'm very pleased to tell you why:

- Hospitality from the staff. They are very well organized. A lot of people working for your stay to be comfortable
- Breakfast is spectacular. Bread, Jams, Juices, Coffee, Tea, Fruit, Cereal and everything with great quality.
- Cleanliness. Everything is sparkling white.
- Clean sheets when you arrive and a warm Blanket and cover. The beds are great. Matresses are very comfortable.
- Shower is awesome. The first day I showered like 3 times. Excellent pressure and temperature.
- Common areas are great. 2 Patios with hammacs, puffs and chairs. Ping Pong, fussball and pool table.
- The Bar is great, you can eat and drink very well. Salads, sandwiches and some hot dishes that are very tasty. The atmosphere is excellent.
- The little details: every bed has a place where you have an individual light and place for your books and energy socket where you charge your cell phone. Nice details for the traveler.
- Security 24 hours and storage for your Luggage

In the mixer, the best choice if you come to Cusco
Don't think it twice, Milhouse is a guarantee in Cusco and in Buenos Aires.

Diego

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuch011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overall we were really pleased with this hostel. We stayed in 2 different rooms. The first was disappointing. We thought we had reserved a double room, but instead we were given a 4 bed dorm room to ourselves. The wall on the left hand side had been damaged and repainted over, although the paint had never dried and was really sticky so we couldn't put anything near there. The beds were unfinished with plyboards covering each bed.
We moved 4 days later to an actual double room and it was wonderful. Very comfortable bed and lots of space.
The hostel itself is really cool and has a lot of character. A big open space in the middle to hang out and play ping pong. However it echoed so you could hear everyone coming in at night. Even though they were talking normally it sounded like shouting.
Breakfast was pretty good. The usual bread, cereal and fruit. However they also have a kitchen so you could order eggs and bacon if you wanted. Only problem with the kitchen is that it was NEVER open when we were hungry. We tried 4-5 times for lunch and dinner and only found it open once, the schedule was never the same.
Staff were helpful although the tour agency situated there was not. We tried to ask questions but no one spoke any English so we ended up seeking elsewhere for advice.
They try to do lots of activities like quiz night and ping pong tournaments which is great but a lot of the time they didn't end up happening. We would show up for something and no staff would come or it would get delayed a bit and then just never happen.
But good place overall! Right down the street from the main plaza too which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My group of 3 booked and stayed at this hostel twice in early January so we could trek the Inca trail. This place was great, it was clean, the staff extremely nice and helpful, there are plenty of activities to do if you are bored- table tennis, pool and even play video game machines. There is wifi, but only in the bar and courtyard/reception, the rooms are great- there is privacy in your own bunk bed with plenty of blankets, personal lights and although others say otherwise the beds are comfortable and again private. We had room 209 first and that had the best shower we had experienced in a long time traveling.
I would definitely stay here again and intend to.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here only a night (more like half a night) since we were embarking on the Salkantay Trek the next morning and had to be up at 4:30am. The breakfast was decent; milk, orange juice, granola, and Granadilla fruit on a quaint, rooftop terrace. The rooms were also decent, nothing spectacular but comfortable nonetheless. The only drawback was that the night we were there, a loud party was raging in one of the rooms. Great for partying, but not if you have a trek the next morning! The staff was friendly and let us keep our bags safe during our trek. The building was definitely unique as well, with rooms looking down on courtyards with hammocks and a ping pong table.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JustinYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A fanststic hostel! After experiencing Milhouse Buenous Aires we had to try Milhouse Cuzco and we were not disappointed! Rooms were spacious with comfortable bed and large lockers. Each room had their own bathroom that was clean with a good showers. Food, when available from the kitchen was good. Sadly the bar lacked a little excitement and was quiet most nights but there were always people to meet and other venues to try. Breakfast was good for South American standards, with a range of fruit, cereal and bread.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 170 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#67 of 170 in Cusco
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 480 in Cusco
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 480 in Cusco
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 480 in Cusco
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#68 of 480 in Cusco
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Cusco

Address: Calle Quera 270, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 480 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $11 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, newly renovated en-suite rooms, great bar, free internet and wi-fi, free breakfast, super friendly staff, pool table, ping pong, fuss-ball, TV Room, roof top with a great view of the City, amazing tours to make the most out of your stay in Cusco!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing