We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other more expensive hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Ranked #10 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than other more expensive hostels”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Cannot recommend enough. We stayed here for 10 days - before and after the Inca trail - and paid for 8 nights out of 10 (if you stay 4 nights you get the 5th night free). Breakfast is more than just bread and jam as you get fruit and cereals too. Helpful staff, although the guy from the tour agency within the hostel (Bamboo) doesn't really know much. They do a free city tour which is good to find your bearings. Film room and table tennis as well as fusball and pool so if the weathers not great you can entertain yourself. Cheap bar and an indoor and outdoor chill out space.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabbyfq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    262
    82
    33
    20
See reviews for
20
144
154
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hostel with lovely private rooms, showers hot and powerful. Have US dollars as you need to pay on arrival. Only wi-fi in the bar which is one negative! Friendly staff, good activities in the bar at night and ping pong table. Lots to keep you entertained!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This year I traveled for 6 months in South America, from Venezuela down to Patagonia. There were some good hostels along the way but Milhouse, Cuzco was by far the best. It just opened so everything is brand spanking new. The beds and mattresses are all new so they are super comfortable and clean. I think what I liked best was that it's only one block away from the main street. You could walk everywhere in less than 5 minutes in less than 5 minutes including the main square, all the major tourist sites and the super market to buy groceries.

The bar is awesome to have a few drinks, party and meet people. And unlike other hostels in Cuzco, their bar is perfectly placed at the back of the hostel so you can't hear any of the noise in the rooms. The bar also has a terrace with stunning views of Cusco. The breakfast although simple, was extremely delicious. But I think the best part was their staff. They are really friendly are always helpful. I actually had a problem with my trains to Machu Picchu and the staff went out of their way and went with me to the train company to fix the problem. It was really 5* hotel service in a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrInternational02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I arrived here after having spent a month travelling through Bolivia, and was extremely pleased to find a good hot shower and a big comfortable bed. I stayed in a dorm room, which was a really good size, with on suite bathroom and a really handy space in the wall with a light and plug to charge my ipod safely at night. The building is really pretty and really close to the main square, the food is also good and I have had some really fun nights at the bar. I am travelling alone and have found it a really good hostel to meet people. I have now been here almost a month and am still really enjoying my time at Milhouse.

Would highly recommend it to anyone planning a stay in Cusco

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed here for a few nights before my trek. great shared space, rooms kinda simple but hot water 24/7, clean sheets and extra pillows if u ask for it. treking company office was on site which made things super easy! also the location is pretty great. i would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazca, Peru
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and my girlfriend States here for three nights and were planning to stay 10 nights in total. We booked a double room, which wasn't available do we had to stay in a dorm. Beds were nice, but there was no water pressure in the bathrooms sink and shower. Furthermore the water temperature of the shower constantly changed from warm to ice cold. Dormroom was big and well equipped, so for backpackers a good choice.

After three nights paying the full price of 90 alles for a dormbed instead of a double room, we decided to look at other hostels and what they offered us. We found the flying dog
hostel, which was in a quiet street and not in the busy street milhouse is situated in. We started to compare. Flying dog: same pricv, ébigger breakfast with ham, cheese, muesli, eggs and fruitjuices. Nicer neighbourhood, just as far from the plaza de armas, smaller and cosier. Milhouse: bigger, english speaking guests of the type 'look at me, i'm a cool hippie', just a plain breakfast and not guaranteed hot water just like flying dog does. They had a Nicer bar in milhouse. But there are plenty of Nice bars and discos just around the corner and when you look for a partyhostel there are better options in town. Both milhouse and flying dog offer tv with dvd player and ps3, only in flying dog you sit on a comfy couch in a living room and you have more different games and movies to choose from to look on the big screen hdtv.

Because we planned after those 3 nights to stay for a whole week before walking the inca trail, to write the flying dog if they could give us some discount when we stay for a week. In the meantime we tried the same at milhouse. Milhouse directly said no, even though they had an offer running of paying 4 nights and stay 5 in a dormroom.
e asked if ut was possible if they could keep out room in option till the next morning so we could wait the answer of flying dog, but that wasn't possible either.

Next morning we hot a very neat and nice email from flying dog, saying we get 10% discount per night if we stayed the whole week. With this email we went to the hotelmanager of milhouse, telling him out complaints and so to try to convince him to give us a better discount do that we didn't need to move. He said he needed to check if that was possible by the owners, apoligized for our complaints and that milhouse, as being a new hostel in town only wants satisfied guest to keep their good reputation high. After a couple of hours we got an e-mail from him that says, i quote: ' so if you pay us 9 nights in advance you get the 10th for free. Let me know if that works for you and we can arrange the payment tomorrow'. Wow! No nice opening, showing that they are desperate tokeep us happy after the complaints. All we read is pay pay pay. Furthermore it shows that he didn't even listen to the fact that we are only staying for a week, not 10 days. To me and my girlfriend, who both studied hotelmanagement, this unprofessional and guest unfriendly email was the last drop so we decided to go to the flying dog.

We are very glad we decided to go to flying dog! It offers so much more for less money, and we really feel welcome here. I can recommend flying dog to everyone, far above milhouse.

Room Tip: Go to flying dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsarfati, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Cusco, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Jeffrey,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. Although I believe your comment is more in the interest of Flying Dog Hostel rather than ours, I would like thank you for giving us the chance to explain.

We did offer you the requested discount, even when we already provide very good value for money in terms of quality and rates, with the only condition that you paid in advance. We believe this is just a logical and common practice when special discounts are given as otherwise you can cancel your booking without prior notice. I understand also that although the room you stayed in at first didn't have a double bed, it did have a private bathroom and we did close the room for you, as requested, i.e., you didn´t share it with any other guests as you do in dorms. So it is not true that you were paying the rate of a private room and staying in a dorm.

For us the most important thing is to have happy clients, that enjoy their stay with us and want to keep coming back. I´m very sorry we didn´t meet your expectations and demands, and we hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to show an amazing time and stay in our hostel. We send you our best regards and wish you good luck with the rest of your trip in South America.

Milhouse Backpackers & Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I arrive to the this hostel and suprise from the rooms.
the maximum bed to room is 6 and you have bathroom to each room.every bed have a lemp and electrical socket.and evey bed have wooden board to block the lemp room light.so you can turn the light when evreyone in the room sleep.
the people that i meet there was the most nice people in cusco, and the bartender in the bar very friendly.
i very recommend to sleep there, the price is worth to what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 165 in Cusco
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 165 in Cusco
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 445 in Cusco
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 445 in Cusco
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 445 in Cusco
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 445 in Cusco
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Cusco

Property: Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Address: Calle Quera 270, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, newly renovated en-suite rooms, great bar, free internet and wi-fi, free breakfast, super friendly staff, pool table, ping pong, fuss-ball, TV Room, roof top with a great view of the City, amazing tours to make the most out of your stay in Cusco!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing