We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding owners and place to stay”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #10 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here with 7 other friends and was pleasantly surprised by how excellent the place was and how much it matched the reviews posted previously.The view is gorgeous from the balcony and it is conveniently located only a few minutes from the Plaza de Armas. By far, the greatest asset of the hostel are the owners themselves, Miguel and Viviana. They are a very easy going, fun couple who are very helpful and focused on ensuring their guests have the best time.

Miguel even took us to a house party he was going to one night. This was an awesome experience. Also, once when it was raining very heavily, he gave some of us a quick lift down to the Plaza de Armas. Furthermore, when one of my friends fell sick, Miguel and Viviana called a doctor for him and constantly inquired about his state of health. The human concern and friendliness they showed us was a welcome break from the constant money squeezing of tourists that characterizes a lot of Peru.

The only downside I could mention is that for a few days during our stay, water was cut off from the hostel from 8pm to 4am. This however was quickly fixed and was a minor issue.

All round, a great place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 407 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Reservation by email - excellent communication. Very responsive hosts.
Location - about 7 min walk to the Plaza de Armas down the steps, going back up is a little more challenging but in all seriousness quite a nice walk. Should not deter anyone from staying here.
Views are superb - you can see most of Cuzco from the main area including the Plaza, and I could see the Plaza from my room. Very pretty at night.
They have breakfast made to order, as well as basic dinner. Breakfast excellent, dinner - did not try. Many different teas available throughout the day.
Owners have a small dog - very friendly and cute, as well as a baby. No noise issues although soundproofing of the room I was not the best. Still, I had no problems sleeping.
Shower was fine. Bed - very comfortable.
Wifi - I could not get a signal in the room, but in the main area it worked well.
Asked the host to help out with the laundry, he called a local place and a woman came in the morning picked up the stuff and delivered it back, clean and folded at 6 pm for the equivalence of a little more than $3.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4,865,853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights beforehand after going to Machu Picchu. The family were so nice and their baby so cute. I was sick and they gave me food and tea. While the room for 3 was small it was very clean. The last night a musical group came in and sang for us. The location was wonderful, close to the plaza with a nice walk up the stairs on the hill to get home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheribree2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very nice place to stay, romantic place , and great view to see.
My friend and I have booked wrong date to stay, we arrived 1 day late.
Thanks God , there is one room available ( which is impossible without advance booking)
The owner let us stay there without any extra charge!!!!!!
Such a great hospitality.
All we paid include welcome tea, breakfast also.
We stayed there only one night in order to go to Agua Galiente.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Miguel and Vivianna offer a beautiful bed and breakfast atmosphere. The views of town and proximity to Saksaywaman, Incan ruins make this a very special place and the price is very reasonable. Beds are tremendously comfortable and the hot breakfast begins with a Passion-fruit or Mango liquado, coffee and Coca tea and offers eggs and warm rolls with butter, caramel spread or strawberry jam. Peruvian dinner is available evenings for less than $7.

One thing you must be aware of is the stairs that climb a long three block up from central Cusco. This was perfect for us as we were beginning a trek that required acclimatization and fitness. We found it a nice workout and did the stairs a few times before breakfast each of our two days prior to our trek.

Room Tip: Love our double room with a beautiful view of Cusco! Be sure to get a double room with a window as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennwoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

stayed with a friend, July 2013. seems as though this place gets quite popular because we couldn't initially book the double room, we had to have the room that sleeps three on our first of 3 nights, and when we wanted to come back again a weeks latter it was booked out. BOOK IN ADVANCE.
the price was excellent - for around $25 we had the most decent of all our hostel breakfast in south America, heated rooms and clean bathrooms. it was more of a 'bnb' feel. on arrival we were greeted with endless tea and simply sat on the terrace, which, in the midday sun, was my favourite part. the hosts offered to cook us lunch for an additional charge which they don't usually do - it was AMAZING. great way to try local food, even catering for my vegetarian friend. be warned - to get to town, the winding stair alleyways are awful, but, good practice if you are about to embark on a tour.
the hosts have decent English, and a sweet dog and baby they never seems to cry. on our last two nights we stayed in a room adjacent to the lounge, I would recommend requesting to get something not off the lounge due to the noise.
on our last night, due to the many people staying here they organised some live music. this was both the greatest and only downfall of this place: the music was sensational, very indigenous and went on for more than an hr - maybe closer to 2, even our host got in on the dancing. I did feel uncomfortable though, at being invited to come to the 'free live music' but then having the musicians twice ask for tips (after we did give them one the first time) and harass us into buying a CD and were a little rude when two backpackers politely declined the extra luggage!

however, I would definitely stay here again - we did a trek in peru too, and the hostel gladly held most of our luggage for free whilst we did this

Room Tip: request to NOT be in a room adjacent to the lounge due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twentysomethingFAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hosts, Miquel and Viviana made us feel at home from the moment they opened their front door. We were given good advice regarding the layout of Cusco and the places to visit.
The rooms were of a good standard with good showers, always with hot water.
Luciano, their little son and Tito, their dog were to delight to play with.
All in all, a first class experience

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank frankhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 171 in Cusco
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#65 of 171 in Cusco
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 398 in Cusco
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $40 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing