We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Like staying with your really cool cousins in their beautiful home overlooking Cusco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Wara Wara to your Saves list
Hostal Wara Wara
Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 312 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like staying with your really cool cousins in their beautiful home overlooking Cusco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The owners Miguel and Viviana were wonderful. When the taxi driver charged us 10 soles too much, they were concerned, talked to the company, and gave us 10 soles back. When one of us came back sick from our trek, they called a doctor. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms comfy and clean. What a view of the city!! They are a wonderful couple, and it feels more like visiting (really cool) family at Wara Wara. Their son and little dog charmed all of us. We couldn't stop talking about how much we liked it here. We highly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amovida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    70
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
168
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hostal is very well located and have one of the best views of Cusco, owners are really friendly and all staff is very helpful, if you didn't pick anyone, go for it!!

Rooms are quite big and you can go for every place quickly just walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renatodores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was so pleased I stayed here and wished it could have been for longer! I found it on Trio advisor as it is so new it is not in any guide books yet. I was given a very warm welcome by Vivienne and her husband, the lovely young couple who run Wara Wara along with their gorgeous son and friendly little dog! I arrived very early after an early flight, and I was given a coffee and biscuits while they finished getting my room ready. Both Vivienne and her husband speak very good English. One reason I chose Wara Wara was because it was slightly up a hill from the centre, about ten minutes' walk because a steep flight of steps is involved but think of the good it will do you, so it was nice and quiet, not on a busy road, and also half way up to Sacsayhuaman. It was a very good price and had the most beautiful view of the whole city including the Plaza. The couple said they sometimes have live bands playing there in their little communal room! Breakfast was freshly whisked juice, fresh bread with butter and jam, and an omelette. They even had English breakfast tea. For this alone I would totally recommend Wara Wara :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are a young couple from New York and traveled to Cusco in December 2012. We stayed at Wara Wara and it proved to be a lovely choice. It's only 10 minutes walking from the Plaza de Armas and yes in Cusco, that means there are some stairs, but you will not regret it. The view from where Wara Wara is perched is priceless at night and I think all the rooms have this view.

The owners are a young, friendly couple, Viviana and Miguel, who will make your stay truly special. Because it's a more intimate hostal with a few rooms, there's a unique friendly atmosphere and you will get genuine attention and advice from the hosts, Viviana and Miguel. They will help you with planning your trips and sharing advice and stories, they bring in a brand and have live music nights at the hostal when there are more guests. Price wise, I don't think you can beat their rooms, compared to the pricier 3-star lodges listed in Lonely Planet. Great experience, I will always remember the couple and next time in Cusco, we will definitely plan our nights there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in January 2013 and are so glad that we did. Viviana and Miguel are amazing hosts. From the first moments we walked in, it felt like we were staying with old friends who were excited to be hosting us. Here are a few reasons why you should book your stay in Cusco at Hostal Wara Wara:

1- Viviana and Miguel: Honestly two of the friendliest and 'coolest' (yes, I said coolest) people we have ever met. They will bend over backwards to help with anything you need, including help with planning your day, booking rides, giving advice, recommendations, etc. But we also thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them during the 4 days we were there.

2- Location: Great location, just a few blocks from the main town square. Amazing view as well. Close to many great restaurants.

3- Clean: My wife and I are very picky when it comes to cleanliness and this place was very clean.

4- Miguel is an amazing cook. We always really enjoyed breakfast and one night he cooked us some great quinoa. We recommend staying in for dinner one night to try it!

5- Cost. Currently Wara Wara is the #3 ranked B&B. You could stay at Wara Wara for 3-4 nights for the price of 1 night at 'Second Home' or Quinua Villa. I haven't stayed at the those 2 places so I can't speak to the value for those prices, but I can say that you won't get better service, and unless they are 5-star luxury suites, you won't get 3-4 times the quality either.

Lastly, by way of comparison: we stayed at Hostal Pension Alamena (ranked #4) for one night before we stayed at Wara Wara. Pension Alamena costs roughly double, yet we would stay at Hostal Wara Wara any day over Pension Alamena.

Thanks Miguel and Viviana for making our trip to Cusco so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BValderas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Viviana and Miguel are great hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable in Cusco. Viviana was very helpful and gave us great recommendations for places to visit. Miguel is a great cook and made really good vegetarian dinner just for my wife and me. The rooms are also very nice and comfortable, with great views of Cusco from the common balcony area. My wife and I had a great time here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adarsh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hostal Wara Wara in November and really loved our time there. The rooms (we stayed in two different ones) were clean, comfortable and had all the things we needed. Viviana and Miguel were the most fantastic hosts - warm, friendly and very happy people who were more than happy to go above and beyond to help us out. We had two very early starts and they left food out for us for breakfast and a hot thermos for tea. The view of the Plaza is fantastic and it's only a 3 minute walk down the hill to get there. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#29 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Andenes al Cielo
Andenes al Cielo
#3 of 312 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 335 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Property: Hostal Wara Wara
Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing