We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home away from home”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #5 of 357 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic home away from home”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hostal Wara Wara in November and really loved our time there. The rooms (we stayed in two different ones) were clean, comfortable and had all the things we needed. Viviana and Miguel were the most fantastic hosts - warm, friendly and very happy people who were more than happy to go above and beyond to help us out. We had two very early starts and they left food out for us for breakfast and a hot thermos for tea. The view of the Plaza is fantastic and it's only a 3 minute walk down the hill to get there. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    90
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
195
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very nice place with the best view of town. The owners, Viviane and Miguel make a very honest and pleased effort to make your stay the best. The food is great, the rooms are clean and pleasant, and the dining room makes you feel at home. If we get back to Cusco we would not doubt to book again with Wara Wara as our first choice. Greetings and thanks, Bart, Virginia anna (6 years), Carlos, Maria Cecilia and Helena (9years) from Colombia.

Room Tip: The hotel has a great view over the old town and is just some blocks away from the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The overwhelming thing I would like to convey here is how unbelievably big hearted, generous and kind Miguel and Vivianna are. It's by far and away the best place we've stayed in our 6 month odyssey in this respect. From the first moment of meeting (which was at the unpleasant time of just before 6AM when Miguel got up especially for us) the level of care, friendliness and service was incredible.

As far as the hostel goes, you couldn't ask for a better view! It overlooks the main square and has a lovely view of the night-time cityscape. It is up a pretty mean hill, but it's worth it for the vistas. And service in general. The hostel (I think B&B or hotel is more appropriate) is clean and well appointed. The showers are hot, which you cannot always count on in South America, and there are plenty of blankets should the generally low night temperatures of Cusco get the better of you. The cup of tea and hot shower after a soaking horse ride was most welcome.

The beds are comfy, and the communal area - where breakfast is served - is a really nice place to sit and get to know the other guests as well as the hosts. The breakfast itself was great; cooked fresh and different every day. It was all egg based, which to my mind is perfect as it sets you up for the day. The bread and chocolate / arequipe (can't remember the Peruvian word only the Colombian sorry!) are seemingly infinite as well should you have a large appetite.

The rooms are also very well proportioned. We staggered a 5 night stay and tried two rooms, both of which were lovely.

The hosts however are really what make this place stand out. We walked away with two new friends. My girlfriend was very ill towards the end of our stay with a nasty stomach bug, but Miguel and Vivianna were always on hand offering something and making sure we were ok. Previously they also were incredibly helpful offering info on trips we could do (and organising one for the Sacred Valley) and giving us restaurant tips (it's a 5 minute walk to central Cusco and some great eateries). They also organised a live band one night and offered home cooked food which was lovely and a really entertaining evening.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Thank you to both Miguel and Vivianna for everything.

Room Tip: The double room, I think number 6 has a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the most amazing hostal I have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean and perfect with their own bathroom. The breakfast cooked by Miguel and Vivianna was delicious and they made extra effort to assure our time in Cusco was unforgettable. They had a live band come for NYE and it was one of the highlights of our trip. They made us feel at home. I will recommend this hostal to any friends visiting Cusco and I will stay here any time I travel to Cusco. absolutely perfect.

Vivianna and Miguel (Luciano too) - you guys were amazing. truly wonderful. keep up the amazing work and I hope to see you guys again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the best places we stayed in Peru. The hostel is perfectly located - short walk to the central Plaza and at the same time quiet street. Very good restaurant next door - the best food we ate in Cusco! Laundry services just around the corner - we left our laundry with Miguel and when we got back from our Inka trail it was waiting nice and fresh in our room. The owners are very energetic and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms with clean bathroom, hot water shower and comfy beds. Delicious breakfast and romantic view from the balcony.
If we ever go again - that will be the place we would stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from 15th-17th and then the 20th of December 2012. It's probably the best place we've stayed on our travels of South America. The rooms were great, both of ours (stayed in a different room on returning from the Inca trail), were huge and had spectacular views of the city. As many others have stated, Miguel and Viviana are just wonderful. They offered us coffee and tea during the day and were a real pleasure to chat to. They gave us great advice, and were so helpful. I needed to visit the dentist and they sorted it all for me. The breakfast was good, Miguel likes to cook and the eggs were splendid. He's part Italian so the coffee is good too. They offer food and again Miguel exceeds, he also loves making the food! Viviana makes a mean Pisco Sour too!

It felt like being at home. Very relaxed, warm and friendly. I'd go back there in a heartbeat! I enjoyed staying here as much as visiting the attractions of Cusco and the Sacred Valley! If you're coming to Cusco, come here. The climb from the plaza is worth it.

They're new to the venture and are still trying things out, but everything is working brilliantly so far and I'm sure they'll be a success in the future too.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for one with a view, if they're still available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyndwr1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have spent almost 10 days in Wara Wara and I loved staying here. Miguel and Vivian are so friendly and nice, they really work hard at making you feel like at home. The rooms are very clean, recently opened Hotel Wara wara offers good comfort, very good breakfast and good wifi. The view is amazing, you can have room with a view but specify it when you book. The hosts want to create a nice atmosphere with the guests and I met very nice travelers here, enjoyed sharing moments in the lounge drinking tea and talking about travels. And last but not least the value is really good for Cusco!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilleengrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 167 in Cusco
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#2 of 357 in Cusco
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Property: Hostal Wara Wara
Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing