We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful BnB in the Heart of Cusco”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #4 of 344 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful BnB in the Heart of Cusco”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently spent three nights at Wara Wara. Miguel and Viviana, the couple that run Wara Wara are extremely friendly and helpful. Having both spent some time in the States, they speak fluent English, which was fantastic as my Spanish isn't the best. I ended up spending a few hours chatting with them one evening. They've got plenty of recommendations for things to do and places to eat around town.

The property itself is located upon a hill overlooking the main square, Plaza de Armas, which you can see from the balcony. Getting up to the hotel is a bit of a climb, but it was pretty quiet at night. Of course, getting down is much easier and the plaza is only a few minute walk from the hotel. Additionally, the Incan site of Saqsaywaman is only a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    84
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
190
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

我在十月在這旅館住了三晚,屋主是一對十分友善的年輕夫婦。房間很整潔舒適,旅館客廳還有一個露台可看到main square,景色十分漂亮!有一天早上因為參加了一個當地旅行團要很早起床,屋主也為我們準備了早餐,讚! 位置也很近 main square, 只是回旅館路上要走上一段樓梯,可能有點吃力,不過也可當作鍛鍊身體。整體來說,這是一間不錯的旅館。

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in October 2012. The hosts are a very friendly young couple . Room is very clean and comfortable and there is a patio in the living room of the hostel where you can have an excellent view of the main square! Indeed, one morning since we had to get up very early for joining the local tour, the host even prepared breakfast for us! Location is good too, except you have to walk up some steps on the way back to the hostel which you may treat as a good exercise. But overall, I think this is a pretty good and cozy hostel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holahola111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Miguel and Viviana are great young host who try so hard to make one feel at home. From the minute we arrived they made it a point to make us feel like part of the family. The location is perfect...just 5 minute walk down some beautiful ancient steps to the main plaza. The view is amazing from there open air patio. Will return.... Definitely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chivay, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the Wara Wara. The owners were our tour advisors, interpreters and were like family during our stay in Cusco. Wara Wara is conveniently located within walking distance to one of the main town squares and near Sacsayhuaman and several other Inca ruins. We would recommend Wara Wara to travelers looking for clean and value priced lodging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarisse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The hosts at wara wara are very nice and helpful, and the view from the balcony is beautiful. The hosts served a very nice breakfast with a delicious omelette. Only a few of the rooms have a window facing outside, the rest face the interior of the hostal It's a bit pricy at 110 soles, airport pickup is 15USD -- but you can get a taxi for 6 or 7 soles. Also it is located at the top of a very large hill and most restaurants and activities are at the bottom of the hill so you will get lots of exercise with all the stairs! Good training for machu pichhu!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KingstonTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Owner at Hostal Wara Wara, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Kingston Traveler!! Thank you very much for staying with us at The Wara Wara and for your feedback which ultimately helps us become better.
However, we wanted to make some notes about some of the things that you stated in your comment.
Indeed, there "only few rooms with a window facing outside". This is because we are a small hostel and we just have 6 rooms from which 4 of them have windows facing outside and 2 facing inside. All of our double rooms have windows facing outside.
Regarding the airport pickup, you stated something that is also true. You can actually get a taxi outside the airport for 6 to 7 soles that could take you to our hotel. However, nobody can guarantee you that these taxis are safe. We do work with a guarantee and safe company that we actually do trust in taking our guests anywhere in Cuzco. Anyway we do think that $15 could be a little pricy...so we have lowered it to $10. Again, your feedback only helps us serve our guests better.
About the location, it is also true that we are "up on a hill"; and that is exactly why you can have such a beautiful look of the whole city from our balcony and from most of our rooms. However, we are ONLY 3 blocks away from the main square. You could walk the 3 blocks up the hill through a very pictoresque and typical street named "resbalosa" that leads to our hotel, which indeed is a good training for Machu Picchu. Or, if you don't feel like walking, you could take a taxi from the main square to us that will cost you less than 2 dollars and will take 4 minutes.
We just wanted to clarify some of your statements for our future guests.
Thank you very much again for helping us serve our guests better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed in Cuzco for 1 week to take Spanish classes in a school located close to the Wara Wara hostel and had an amazing experience. My single room was big, compfy and nicely decorated. My private bathroom was very clean and supplied with everything I needed. The breakfast was delicious and homemade every morning. The staff is amazing, very helpful and do care a lot about their guests. Great ambiance at night as well, especially due to the beautiful view over the city. Free Wifi is accessible everywhere in the hostel and airport transfers can be arranged by the hosts. Plus you can reach the city center (Plaza des Armas) in 5 min walking.
I have stayed in many hostels in Latin America, but Wara Wara was definately the best one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gallen, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

this place is great. the rooms are clean and attractive and they all have private bathrooms, fresh towels, soap, shampoo, mints and chocolate are always provided, the owners are simply awesome, and the view is unreal. the owners always helped us out in any way possible, be it through offering a sweater when i was cold and we were doing laundry, or cooking dinner for us when my husband was sick and we couldn't go out. the breakfasts are amazing, healthy, and filling. you'll never need a second breakfast if your staying at hostal wara wara. returning to the view - big plate glass windows provide a panoramic vista of cuzco's downtown and the surrounding neighborhoods that crawl up the hillsides. it's ten minutes from the airport, a five-minute walk (or cab ride) from downtown, and i'm not kidding when i say your every need will be attended to. okay, i'll stop gushing. in conclusion: THANKS HOSTAL WARA WARA! keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelElizabeth628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.3 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#5 of 344 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Property: Hostal Wara Wara
Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing