We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Kokopelli Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokopelli Hostel
Ranked #7 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lille, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great hostel
Good location
We stayed in one of the private rooms located in the garden. The room was very clean, modern, and nice, with hot water.
A bit noisy at night or in the morning because people stay and hang out in the garden so take your ear plugs!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    181
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
12
116
155
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The place is really nice and confortable, big dorms, a big open area but the staff is so bad, their favorite word is "No sé" or "I don't know" even for common informations like "At what time are the bus leaving from the city terminal?". I used to work in hotels before and the least you can do is always having available a schedule for bus and transportation around your spot... We also used the laundry service, gave our clothes at 8pm and got them back at midnight the day after, 28 hours is not what i call an efficient laundry service! I have backpacked for a long time and I know that hostels are not five stars service place, but the staff at Kokopelli could definitely do a little more...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great atmosphere, stayed here in february and meet a lot of nice people.
Loves the art on the walls, and the comforters are warm and of good quality (not something you're used to and well needed during cold nights).
Great staff and during my travels in Peru I stayed here everytime I got back to Cusco.

The breakfast is basic and not so fancy but high standard compared to other hostels in Peru.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our initial experience upon showing up at the Hostel was not great. There were some miscommunications between the hostel/hostel.com and our three person room did not have a private washroom as we had originally booked. The staff were more than accommodating in trying to rectify this for us.

We stayed for a total of 6 nights. Including days for tours around Sacred Valley and Cusco. As well as night before the trail/night after we got back. I thought personally that 4 days was sufficient for the area. You can plan it out as: 1.5 day Cusco city, 1/2 day Sacsaywaman &Chriso Blancho, 1 day Sacred Valley (organized bus tour), 1/2 Maras Moray and Salinas. Add a day or two in there to adapt to the altitude if you are coming from a lower altitude area (trust me, you will need this).

- Complimentary breakfast included. Make sure you show up early as when they run out of eggs you are stuck eating bread and butter.
- Towel and soap included in private rooms. Not included in shared rooms
- Bar within the hostel is quite loud at night. Was a bit of an issue the night before we left for Inca trail as we had to get up at 4am. But usually it dies down around midnight or so.
- Free storage of your bags when you are on the trail

Room Tip: If you are booking a private room. Ask for the ones at the back of the hostel if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chengbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

love this place ! comfy beds, hot powerful showers, eggs for breakfast and free tea of all sorts all day :) the best part was the bar though. a real hub for meeting people and getting a taste for some of the great bar food on offer, super tasty. I enjoyed my first two weeks here so much that after a month I came back and volunteered in the bar for a month, best fun iv had! been a year traveling - it was the hardest place to leave. the staff are fantastic and so friendly. free shots, cheap booze and great music, they get a lot of DJ's in too which is cool, you never have to leave Koko if your looking for fun. great thing about it too is when you want to rest its cool too because the bar is far enough away that it wont disturb your sleep. I could not say enough good things about this place. great craic :)

Room Tip: -the double rooms for couples are fantastic here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breenamch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed in the private room in the back of the hostel for 4 nights with boyfriend. I had friends stay in the dorms so I saw them as well and they seemed to be nice and clean. I didn't really have any problems. The view was great, and the trippy art all over the hostel is super cool! The food they serve at the bar was all fantastic. They serve you bread/jam/butter with coffee and tea in the mornings. I was always still hungry so I would order something else to go with it. Prices are cheap. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in Kokopelli for two nights while travelling around Peru. The place is well situated a few blocks from the main plaza, reasonable rates and a nice enough atmosphere. The bar is pretty good and we enjoyed the BBQ that was held one night.
However, it just feels like the whole place needs spruced up a bit. The bedding was old and worn out, the courtyard at the back was a bit rundown and most importantly, the bathrooms were not cleaned enough. The toilets were disgusting most days and the showers were not much better (and cold). I think Cusco has better to offer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Owner at Kokopelli Hostel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your review about us and glad to hear that you enjoyed our bar and BBQ. We offer different daily events as BBQs, Djs, Live bands, Games, special dinners and others.
In regards to your point to improve, i could see you stayed with us in November. Before new years we started to do some maintenance and remodeling of rooms, bathrooms and public areas. Sorry about your perception of cleanliness, we have improved our cleaning in bathrooms and showers, hiring more staff for this area. About our showers, we are known for having great hot showers with great pressure but it could have happened that maybe the gas finished at that moment and it was just a matter of asking our reception staff why there wasn’t any hot water for us to fix it immediately.
Safe travels!
Kokopelli team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 445 in Cusco
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 445 in Cusco
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 445 in Cusco
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 445 in Cusco
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.5 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 445 in Cusco
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Hostel

Property: Kokopelli Hostel
Address: Calle San Andres 260 | Centro de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Hostel has finally arrived in Cusco and with the best location of all! Just a 2 minute walk to Cusco's Plaza de Armas, our unique 200 year old house will offer you to experience the Magic of Cusco fusioned with Kokopelli's Energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kokopelli Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing