We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
United Mice - Day Tour
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Inca Trail - 4 day

It was spectacular. Hiking high in the Peruvian Andes is an experience not to be missed. You need... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jim y
4D Salkantay

We just completed the 4 day Salkantay Trek with United Mice and our very high expectations were... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
531robf
via mobile
Read all 162 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cusco
from $767.00
More Info
from $387.50
More Info
from $351.00
More Info
from $47.50
More Info
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
141
14
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
141
14
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guide alex inca trail tasty soup train tour aguas calientes machu picchu lunch box pre departure small group lunch and dinner private tour first night tents and sleeping bags phenomenal experience sun gate sacred valley tour company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 162 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I had chosen United Mice to do the Inca Trail and we were not disappointed.
The United Mice team is great (the porters, the cook, the guide, the driver and the administrative staff) and we did have an amazing time. The food was great, our group was always the first one to leave the campsite in the morning, so we did not meet any other group during the day. We were the first ones to arrive at the sun gate on the last day, having thus an incredible view of the Machu Picchu before the other tourists arrived.
A special thanks to our guide, Milton, who is very friendly, speaks perfect English and gives thorough explanations on the Inca culture and history and on the landscapes we encountered.
We highly recommend United Mice, a company which is known to treat its porters well.
Bénédicte

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Boune78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReservationsUM, Director General at United Mice - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Bénédicte,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this review.

We are very pleased to hear you had a great Inca Trail experience.


On behave of the United Mice team, I want to thank you for the recommendation and let you know that we already consider you part of the United Mice family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Salkantay Trek is incredibly strenuous! But Victor and the United Mice crew were great. They have emergency horses and emergency oxygen (which I needed!) the first few days. Victor was very knowledgable and the food was quite good (especially if you consider where you are). We had particularly bad weather (hail and rain) the first day and the tents let in more rain than I would have liked. But overall, it was a great experience.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank fltmazzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReservationsUM, General Manager at United Mice - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

The United Mice crew is glad to hear you had a great experience, even with the bad weather.

It is good to know the guide and cook are doing an excellent job.


Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We did not know what we were getting ourselves into with this trek, which is no fault of United Mice. Three American girls, wanting to do a more authentic trek to Machu Picchu than the regular Inka trail, we chose this trip based on recommendations. UM was informative, thorough, and let us know what the journey would be every Inka step of the way. We count ourselves lucky that we had the superstar trio of Victor, Cerilo, and German with us - they not only did their jobs very well but always with a smile (particularly Cerilo -
even when it snowed!). Victor is the best guide I have ever known, because he not only loves what he does, but his passion for history and recounting the life of the people of the highlands, as well as the Inkas, is evident in his amazing storytelling. He was thoughtful, patient, and it was a pleasure to have him lead our trek. The food was incredible, way beyond what I expected, and every meal was an experience in a new and unique setting - with a delicious take on traditional Peruvian highland cuisine. Even through 2 days of rain, Victor kept a positive attitude, made jokes when we needed them the most, and always advised us on the plan (as well as cop-out options, like buses and trains). We three may have looked like a lost box of crayons in our assorted colored ponchos - which were purchased at one of the camping grounds, but weather aside, we managed to slip n slide our way to Machu Picchu because of Victor and the incredible staff of United Mice. I never thought I could have so much fun soaking wet and on the most treacherous climb of my life. This is the only company to go with to get to Machu Picchu, they have it down pat. However, I would advise to pack for the unpredictable weather - and definitely pack a poncho.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Ajr484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReservationsUM, General Manager at United Mice - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Shelby, Alexandra & Emily,

Thank yo for the review.

We have shown it to the superstar trio and they are happy to know their work is more than great.

It is important for us being recommended by you, we are working to reach a higher level of quality.


Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We did the 4 day Salkantay trek with United Mice and - although we're still a bit suffering - it was amazing! Especially we would like to thank Elvis, our guide, Lidio, the chef and our horseman. They were always motivated and helpfull. Elvis' wide knowledge was impressive, going from old Inka stories and new hypotheses to Peru's nowadays culture. He was familiar with the surrounding nature and had a lot of friends among the local people. We were very lucky to have a guide like Elvis, everything was arranged perfectly and we had a lot of fun while walking and drinking beers in the evening.
We don't believe there is a better chef in the mountains than Lidio, fresh, delicious and plenty of food made it possible to reach our final destination of MP.
The trail was very diverse, going from the cold Salkantay peaks to beautiful vallees, heading further into the rainforest, running into coffee beans, banana- avocado- and passion fruit trees and meeting lovely native people.
Thank you for the organization United Mice and a special thanks to Elvis - good luck with everything - and Lidio - miss your food already.
Kirsten and Jonas

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank KirstenJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReservationsUM, General Manager at United Mice - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Kirsten & Jonas,

It is quite gratifying to hear you had an amazing Salkantay trek with us. We are sharing this review with both Elvis and Lidio.

It is good to know you enjoyed Elvis' knowledge and Lidio's food.


Thank you for sharing what you have lived with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I did the 4 day/3 night classic Inka Trail Trek about a week ago, and we had an absolute blast. Our group was always one of the first people to start the hike each morning, which was nice, because the trail was less congested. We were among the first 3 groups to arrive in Machu Picchu. United Mice even arranged it so that we were able to see Machu Picchu both on the afternoon of the 3rd day and morning of 4th day. Our guide, Milton, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. He, along with our group of porters, made the trip very fun and enjoyable for us. Make sure you tip your guide and porters well for all their hard work! The tents and gear were in excellent condition. We also loved the food we were served each day. How the chef does it is beyond me! United Mice planned out every detail of the trip to a tee, and made it an unforgettable experience for us. I highly recommend United Mice to anyone interested in doing the Inka Trail hike to Machu Picchu. Prior to the trip, the office staff were also very responsive and helpful. A+!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank jessnonetheless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReservationsUM, Director General at United Mice - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Reading such a great review make us do even a better job.

We are so happy to see you enjoyed the trekkking experience along the Inca Trail.

We do guarantee you that we work as hard as we can with all our groups, all our staff, including the guides, cooks, and office staff, push ourselves up in order to reach quality.

Thank you for the recommendation.


We consider you part of the United Mice family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews