We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place we stayed at in Peru!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
Ranked #62 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“The best place we stayed at in Peru!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We traveled for almost four weeks throughout Peru, and Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi was by far the best place we stayed. The rooms were clean and offered wonderful views of Cusco, but most of all was the helpful, loving nature of its owners, Fernando and Yanet. They took the time to get us what we needed and give us recommendations to help make our stay in Cusco much better than if we hadn't stayed there. We were only planning on a two night stay, but extended it for two additional nights. Thank you Fernando and Yanet! If we ever make it back to Peru you can guarantee we'll be staying with you again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

this quiet spot was a nice respite from the crowds of tourists in cuzco and is more of an inn than a hostel. it is in the older center but on a quiet side street. the actual building is also super charming (it is all wood with a greenhouse type center balcony area). the owners were very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this spot if you prefer to be away from the typical backpacker crowds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed for four weeks in an apartment at Kuntur Wasi - the accommodation was extremely pleasant and comfortable and brilliantly located in the most fascinating historical area of Cusco - San Blas.
All amenities were very clean and stylish, from the double rooms overlooking the beautiful city of Cusco to the computer faciilities and breakfast room. The family who runs Kuntur Wasi could not have been more helpful and charming - great ambassadors for the hospitality of Peru.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_anne255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Kuntur Wasi was my base in Cusco. It is a nice little hotel a few blocks back from the central square and is close to San Blas. It is also close to the Inca ruin Saqsaywoman located just above Cusco. The only weakness with the location is that it's on one of Cusco's many narrow streets so any taxis may well have to reverse madly to drop you at your door. This does mean the hostel is quiet though.

I stayed in a triple room which was very comfy and had lots of room and storage space. The main weakness was the bathroom which they didn't always keep stocked with toilet paper and we had a few minor issues with the shower. I'm also not convinced of the sound insulation; though the hostel was always quiet at night.

The hostel also includes computers for Internet access and they do laundry and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I definitely got on well with them. Breakfast was not included. The manager speaks excellent English but the other staff only speak a little.

I was travelling with friends so I didn't spend much time socializing with other guests but the other people I did talk with at the hostel were nice too.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#15 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
#39 of 431 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wasichay
Hostal Wasichay
#87 of 431 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi

Property: Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
Address: Tandapata 352 A San Blas, Cusco Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuntur Wasi is a family lodge is located in the historic center of Cusco in the neighborhood of San Blas. It offers its services with love and personalized hospitality to all nationals and foreigners to make your stay happy tourists. Kuntur Wasi, is in a quiet area of ​​the city of Cusco. They are offered the transfer shuttle from the airport to Kuntur Wasi. They are provided with a comprehensive city information and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing