We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Frankenstein

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Frankenstein
Ranked #19 of 399 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

What a great place to stay in Cusco. Very close to the Plaza de Armas (2 minutes walk) in a safe area. The owner is the most helpful I have encountered in my year travelling. If you arrive late he stays up until you have arrived safely and when we left for a trek at 4am he was up to make sure we had everything we needed. In fact when we left he even flagged down a taxi for us and stayed waving goodbye till we had left. Such personal service is almost impossible to come by these days.

There is a great kitchen you can use and a welcome fire is lit every evening. The rooms are great value with the option for shared or private bathroom.

My only complaint is that the owner is not good at laundry, our clothes came back not much cleaner than when we handed them in. But he really is such a great guy that it didn't spoil our stay even the slightest bit.

The 10am check out is a little early but it is made perfectly clear that you are welcome in the hostal (just not the bedroom) as long as you want and can still use the kitchen, free wifi and showers etc.

If only everywhere was like this!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    43
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
70
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We spent a number of nights in a lovely quiet top floor double room with private bathroom at Royal Frankenstein. During our stay in Cuzco we visited Manu (for three nights) and Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu) in between our stay at the hostal. The owner was always very helpful and provided us with all sorts of information. He seemed to have encylopedic knowledge of Cusco and was always available to advise how to get from A to B. The very secure luggage storage at Royal Frankenstein was a godsend as travelling with so much valuable electronic equipment always necessitated 'secure' storage. The secure lockboxes in the room also gave us piece of mind.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostal to anyone looking for a peaceful double room with a great central location. One of the nicest and quirkiest hostals I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MogFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

The hostel has a fun Frankenstein theme, and in keeping with that theme, it smells a little old and rooms are dim. But my boyfriend enjoyed our stay here. It's a very convenient location, and the owner and his staff are friendly and helpful. Not to mention it's a great value. I would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aliandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

This hostel is lovely and not what you expect of a hostel. Of course the hostel has most of the usual backpacker attractions (cable TV, book exchange, kitchen and cheap laundry) but is a really enjoyable experience thanks to Ludwig's sense of humour (the whole place looks like it's part of a dress-up contest) and variety of animals. We loved the Iguana but were really amazed by his three baby piranha's upstairs. We loved his expansive knowledge on Cusco and the surrounding area (gleamed from living there for over 10 years) and how he was always happy to help. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Location
Fantastic. Walking distance from everything but quiet enough. It's next door to Llama Path which was a surprising coincidence since this was the company that we used for our Inca Trail Trek.

Price
My cousin and I got a private room with a bathroom for $20 a night. Can't beat that! We stayed here for a total of 4 nights so it was a really great value.

Safety
The reception desk is located right in front of the door and is always manned. The doorway to the hostal is not labeled and might be a little bit confusing but just look for the awning with various ceramic dolls above you.

Bathroom
Wanting. It wasn't the cleanest/ newest/ nicest that I've seen but I'm not picky. The hot water was quirky and we certainly had our run-ins with freezing cold water. It took us a few tries to really understand how to get the hot water to flow continuously. You might not get it the first time! This is common in Peruvian hotels no matter how expensive the hotel!

Heating
It got super cold at night. The blankets provided were ample for most nights. On New Year's Eve when we had spent the evening in the pouring rain and freezing cold, we should have opted to rent a heater for a few dollars which is advised if you can't hack it.

Service
The German owner is bizarre to say the least but he's harmless. I guess he has an ongoing battle with his neighbors which he freely divulged the details of to us. It would be nice if he wasn't on the only computer so often but we were able to get on it as well. There is an outstanding and inexpensive laundromat next door that left our clothes smelling lovely. For less money, the hostal will wash your clothes also but they do not have a dryer so it takes 24 hours to get them back (and they don't smell as nice). They stored our luggage no problem while on the Inca Trail.

Overall
There is a distinct odor in the family room area that isn't exactly pleasant but it's not terribly offensive either. I liked this place and would stay there again if back in Peru. Many people like the free roaming Iguana. There are a lot of tricky/ small stairs (one is spiral) so be leary if you have a disability.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Funny smell in the family room- not everywhere though
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jenise581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

I spent 2 nights here before heading on a trek. I picked this hostal because of its location, which is really convenient to the centre of Cuzco, and in my experience was safe to walk back to at night. The hostel is currently being run by a local couple, who are really, really friendly and helpful - tips on not being ripped off by taxi drivers amongst other things. The single room I had was really good value - 25 soles, and was very comfortable. The only downside was that the shower was not very warm on either of the 2 mornings. There is also an iguana living in the hostal which comes out at night when the fire in the common area is lit - might not be to everyone´s taste but fits with the slightly eccentric decor of the place. Makes a pleasant change from the more generic backpacker hostels, but probably would suit Europeans more.

  • Liked — the friendly couple running it
  • Disliked — the cold showers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIttsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

This place is cheap well-located hostal that serves as a haunt for European backpackers on long trips. We stayed here over several days and in several different rooms.

The rooms are clean and the water is hot. There is a community kitchen and tv room that you walk through to get to your room so you will have a chance to meet and talk to the other people staying there. We loved the working fireplace in the tv area, which really warmed us up on those cold evenings. Overall, the rooms on the upper floors were nicer, but all were very servicable for the price. The place is three blocks from the Plaza D'Armas and, because it is set on an inside courtyard of several other buildings, is fairly quiet from street noise.

The owner lives on site and is up at all hours to help you out. He gave us wake up knocks and did some laundry for us for a reasonable price. His little daughter is amazingly cute and hangs out with you in the tv area. They have an adorable lab that mans the front door.

You can't beat it for the price.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dark interiors of rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelArtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#93 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#49 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Los Andes De America
0.0 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 399 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Frankenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Frankenstein

Property: Royal Frankenstein
Address: San Juan de Dios 260, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 399 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Frankenstein Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing